1986 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1986 Honda Prelude EX 1.8 12V Custom Dual Carb from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 12V Custom Dual Carb Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 kilometres
Most recent distance330000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Very good value for your money

Faults:

Rear cylinder seized.

E-Brake cables seized.

Spark plug hole re-threaded.

Sunroof leakage.

Front axle damage, CV joints and boots.

Clutch too stiff, seized.

Flex pipe (in the muffler) totally damaged.

General Comments:

It might seem that there are a lot of problems with this car, yet as many as these problems were, fixing them and the price of the car combined ($700 + repairs) came up to a net sum of $1300 Canadian.

I had a 1989 VW Golf, buying the car and repairing it hit me hard, with a total of $4500 Canadian.

This Prelude, although being 3 years older, didn't give me half the expenses or the hassle, that the Golf gave me.

My car is 12V custom dual carbed, it runs a lot smoother than my Golf ever did, and it's a lot faster. I raced a V-6 Ford Taurus, with 5 people sitting in my car and one person in the Ford, yet I was able to beat it flat out, let alone the newer Civics, and a long list of cars of the same class. When it comes to being put on the spot, this car performs outstandingly.

An amazing car, suits me wonderfully being 18 and going to college; a reliable, fun to drive, fast car to own.

The only problem with this car is the seating space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2004

1986 Honda Prelude GSi 2.0 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 injection Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance91500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Unbelievably Fast

Faults:

I bought this "flying block of cheese" at the end of January for £120.

It's probably the best £120 I've ever spent.

Bodywork a bit scabby, especially around the back window.

Sunroof leaks in,so I taped it up. End of problem till I get a chance to sort it out. Engine runs like a dream.

Interior extremely comfortable.

Subaru owners beware. This thing will give you a run for your money. The difference is that my car cost a lot less than yours, Ha Ha.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2003

1986 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 EFI DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 EFI DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres
Previous carMazda Familia Diesel

Summary:

"Was" a great car!

Faults:

Rear brake was jammed on.

Heating hose had hole - cheap repair.

Rear seat belt latches fell apart (yes two of them)

Semi bad rust around the back window sill.

Really bad tyre wear for about a year now. Even after alignment.

Drivers seat came apart from where its attached to the floor.

Oh yeah how did I almost forget the steering rack (bushes??) are and have been making a terrible squeaking noise now for a long time.

General Comments:

Well due to the steering rack noise its home to be is the wreckers, I just can't be bothered with it any more.

All though I must admit it pulled faster than a school boy! I had many a race in it and bet many things from Turbo Familia to Turbo Subaru's (damn spelling)

When I did get it I must admit it handled REALLY well and was a great bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2003

1986 Honda Prelude 2.0SI 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired221000 miles
Most recent distance227000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

I paid $800 for a dream car

Faults:

Snapped Belt.

Oil Filter Burst.

Stripped Oil Bolt.

Semi-minor Rust.

General Comments:

1st off I'd like to say that this is a very nice, fast car. So far I've only topped of at 85 due to lack of road, but mods are in the works to cure that. For this car to be a 1986 it feels and drives like a brand new car off the lot. The engine roars like a caged beast trying to get out. Front seats have plenty of room if you are the driver. The passenger and back seats are so-so if you are a tall person like myself. You'll instantly fall in the love when you get inside. The stock sound system is fantastic. It even has a orange dancing light and equilizer (stock). The sound comes in crystal clear, if you like alotta bass, lol let me tell you this has it. As far as speed goes, offline it can waste most imports, but can't touch a V6. I've raced a few and was left hurting. If you ever wanted a car that was low to the ground, give this a try. Seriously I kid you not I lowered mine just 2 inches already and I can and have fit under a semi-truck, no kidding. The sun roof for this car feels like a sky roof. It's big on the inside, gives you a convertible or targa top feel. If you ever wanted a cheap, sporty, luxury, show off car, this is it. Great for the 1st time buyer. Korin_TypeR@yahoo.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

27th Apr 2004, 08:05

Mine is a 5 speed and I beat a V8 camero and Trans Am off the line The Mustang V8 beat me.

9th Jun 2004, 20:33

I have a '84 and smoked a V-6 Camaro off the line. Uphill!

21st Aug 2004, 17:43

Last night I raced a dual overhaed cam v-6 v-tech integra and a built up civic with an engine swap. Off the line I had them by at least a car length. Then came second gear where they blew past me. It just goes to prove the line theory.

1986 Honda Prelude GSi 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

Very quick, very low, very sleek, very expensive!!

Faults:

Well due to age really:

Rust patches and some leaks.

Hydraulic heater just failed!

Rear O/S brake caliper seized.

Failed hose at base of tank leaking when full.

ABS sensors refuse to work even when changed!

Minor rattles etc, but nothing to throw toys out of the pram over!

General Comments:

Fantastic car full stop. A car that age driving as well as new cars! The engine still ran superbly, bucket loads of power (about 160bhp) on tap. Sounded gorgeous on full chat.

Very quick car, made quicker by some tuning - 140mph+ was achieved, although speedo stopped at 140mph, the rev counter carried on to 7300rpm! Red-lined at 7600tpm I think.

Very comfortable, decent motorway cruiser, good equipment levels (except no c/locking!! can't figure out why!)

If I had any gripes perhaps the lack of space was a problem. The suspension was a bit soft at the back, causing it to pitch and dive etc. The running costs were on the high side-parts and petrol costing a bomb (about 20mpg) but the car was a limited edition. Insurance quite good tho.

Something a bit different and thoroughly worth buying. It looked a bit odd, but the pop-up headlights amused me! I became quite fond of it.

It's a shame like they don't make them anymore!

I regret selling it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2002

1986 Honda Prelude 2.0 Si 2.0 twin cam fuel injected from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 twin cam fuel injected Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance146000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

A cheap, fast and reliable car that is also very comfortable

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. Although there are little things like maybe an interior light not working or something minor like that.

General Comments:

This car is really great. It handles extremely well, absolutely no body roll what so ever. I have fitted sports springs, but they really didn't improve the handling, they just allowed the car to sit lower. This car is very quick! It has been to 220 km/h before.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews