1991 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1991 Honda Prelude 4ws Si 2.1L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.1L Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance201365 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

It turns very well on corners!

Faults:

Brakes replaced every 50,000 to 60,000 miles as well as the tires.

Timing belt got replaced at 93,000 and at 174,000.

Alternator caught on fire at approximately 102,000.

Engine pulley makes a lot of "squeaking" noise and finally came off.

Mis-aligned driver's side door at 110,000 due to wear and tear.

General Comments:

This car's engine do not have that much torque until 3500 plus RPM. Ride is excellent and it corners well on curves.

However the rear seat is very small to fit a grown up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2001

1991 Honda Prelude Si 2.1 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.1 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired166000 miles
Most recent distance166000 miles

Summary:

Very nice car with low running costs

Faults:

Nothing really I just got it.

Trunk does not open with key.

Driver side door will not lock from inside when open.

General Comments:

Great car.

Unbelievably new looking finish.

166000 miles and it runs and rides like a new car.

I would recommend this car to anyone especially first timers. It is very quick and sporty which makes it good for young drivers yet will save much in gas averaging around 21 mpg city. I am in love with this car and it sounds like it will last another 166000 miles.

However, it did not come with a manual from previous owner. I need to find a manual or find out what some of the functions are on the car. What is the keyhole right by the shifter for? Also, how does the memory seating work? PLEASE if anyone knows the answers to these questions or knows how to get a manual email me at tspoon84@juno.com I would be so thankful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2001

15th Jul 2001, 10:37

Driver's side door locks from the inside only when you pull the inside door handle open, then press the lock.

9th Aug 2002, 07:09

You can also pull the outside handle into the open position and lock the drivers door while it's open. Bear in mind that the original intent was to prevent lockouts by requiring the key to lock the driver's door.

23rd Jan 2004, 11:14

I had the same problem with the trunk key. To fix it, I removed the locking mechanism and soaked it in penetrating oil for about a day. I haven't had any problems since.

12th Jan 2005, 00:45

The key slot beside your shifter is the "Shift lock release". Once I was driving my buddy's accord, and went way past the redline in gear 2, and then accidentally shifted into reverse. The car shut off, and the shifter locked, in reverse, but somehow it rolled off the road as if in neutral. It then wouldn't start again, because it wasn't in park. I had it towed it home, only to realize that the key slot would unlock the shifter, and the car then started. Still though, it didn't shift right, and the mechanic charged $80 to fix it properly. I am a 22 year old moron, and this story is the reason that I no longer drink and drive. Redlining an automatic accord during heavy traffic on the highway?? Stupid. I now own a '92 civic hatch with a B18C1 and the rest of the usual stuff, and it is a lot of fun.

1991 Honda Prelude Si 4WS 2.0 (Japanese Spec B20A) from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 (Japanese Spec B20A) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Overall this car is a bargain with its looks, handling, and decent power

Faults:

Alternator.

Engine blew a rod.

Radiator.

General Comments:

This car's performance is about a 7, but because of the 4WS I gave it an overall rating of 9. The handling on this model is outstanding.

The car's torque is absent until at least 3500 RPM's though. The performance can be raised to a 10+ with the addition of a turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000

11th Dec 2000, 11:01

Just an update by the owner. New JDM motor still running perfect without any oil loss. This car is a dream! I want to raise the reliability from 6 to 7 out of 10. Just have to remember that these engines will burn oil.

9th Feb 2001, 17:47

My 1991 Prelude Si is a fun to drive car. There is marginal difference in handling between the Si and 4WS option.

I purchased it with 99K and it's now showing 155K (mainly highway miles), this car has had no major problems. Only one minor service - brake pads.

My only dissatisfaction is the 2.1L thirst for fuel - 19/24. Moreover, the air compressor is broken so there's no A/C.

Performance wise, the engine noise is moderate, ride - firm, and acceleration - brisk (only with the 5-speed).

Several amenities people tend to overlook on the 91 Prelude Si are the illuminated driverside key hole, a manual memory feature on the driver's seat that returns to prefered recline after access to the back seat, adjustable front-to-back headrests, and the cloth seats that are as soft as a towel.

An excellent commuter car, the Prelude has been extremely reliable.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 24 reviews