1996 Honda Prelude Reviews

1996 Honda Prelude Si from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

After 12 years it's still very dependable and I love it!

Faults:

ABS entire system shot after extended (5yr) warranty ran out. A $2500+ repair that I never did. I highly recommend the extended warranty due to what I've typed below.

Sorry but don't remember exact dates or mileage. Antenna motor failed, driver side window motor failed, O2 sensor failed, but thankfully still covered under ext. warranty at the time.

Other: 3 cracked radiators, 2 new alternators, 2 new clutches, 2 or 3 CV boots replacements, and all oil seals leaking after 10 years.

Everything else is probably normal wear and tear, and the oil seals is probably included with that. i.e. breaks, timing belt, 4 sets of tires, new sunroof (due to rust).

General Comments:

Overall, I'm happy with my Prelude Si and will run it to it's grave.

I've owned it for almost 12 years and still get compliments on it. Other people can't believe how old it is! Even the original paint looks decent other than on the trunk spoiler (its color is "heather-mist metallic").

Some negatives: road noise, feel every bump (no matter how small), tiny back seats (no foot or head room), curve-handling not as stable as it was in its earlier years (I feel like I'm going to fly off the road!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2008

1996 Honda Prelude SiR 2.2 vtec from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 vtec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance148500 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

It's fast, powerful and Mine!

Faults:

The automatic transmission needed to be overhauled at 138000 kms, revs were flaring before banging into gear, very costly repair.

The 4 wheel steering had electrical problems which was repaired at low cost.

Also i replaced engine mounts and rear wheel bearings.

General Comments:

The Honda Prelude is a seriously quick car, it responds to anything I expect from it.

My car is fitted with a sports flywheel, gear cams, V2 induction kit, sports fuel injected intake manifold, ceramic 4-2-1 exhaust manifold with a strait trough exhaust system, vtec controller and the ECU is chipped to give out 400 bhp.

The interior is full black leather seats, steering wheel and gearshift knob.

Included is wood trim, digital climate control, 3 TV's, DVD MP3 CD player.

The performance on this car is second to none. Honda knew what they were doing when they built this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2006

19th Apr 2006, 09:14

400 bhp, I don't think so, I have spend 6500 pounds on my 2.2 vtec engine and it's only running at 280 bhp.

19th Oct 2006, 09:33

I think what he's saying that the ECU is chipped and capable of 400bhp which doesn't mean its the exact figure.

23rd Jun 2007, 12:23

Yeah I also have a sir prelude, I've put €2600 into it and it's running at 393bhp. Sorry to that other lad who spent €6500 but you want someone who knows Honda's to do the work on it!!!

So 400 bhp is very possible my friends...

6th Sep 2007, 06:27

I have a Prelude and the 4ws light is on; I can tell that the rear wheels are not turning. Is this going to be costly to fix? Is it just a sensor?

1996 Honda Prelude VTEC 2.0? from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0? Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

A performance bargain

Faults:

Warped front disks at about 130,000.

Dragging rear caliper (driver side)

A/C condensation leak into pass side floor at 187,000 miles.

Radiator leak started at about 180,000 miles.

Leather seats have torn on both front seats. Perforated leather.

Automatic antenna retract/extend had to be replaced at about 130,000 (about 4 years old)

General Comments:

This has been a wonderful car for me. It's sporty, efficient (comparitively), and has been extremely reliable. Still going strong and getting lots of lookers - even at 8 years old.

The dash took a little getting used to, and sometimes the sun causes glare on the windshield from the odd shaped dash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

1996 Honda Prelude SR-V 2.2 Vtec from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Vtec Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

A unique little sports car

Faults:

It needed a right rear wheel bearing.

I replaced the timing belt, balance shaft belt, and water pump.

The stock speakers were blown when I got the car, it has 7 in total.

General Comments:

This car is very fast and has great power all the way through the rpm range.

It is a riot to drive everyday.

It is a very expensive car, but it is well worth every penny of it.

The whole car itself is ahead of it's time.

It came with a factory 6 disc CD changer in the trunk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2004

1996 Honda Prelude SR-V 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

You won't believe its non-turbo charged

Faults:

Front brakes needed servicing (expected)

Rear bearing hub (I spun out)

Excellent reliability!

General Comments:

This car's engine is amazing considering its normally aspirated. It is both torque (for a Honda) and has amazing high-end horsepower at almost any rpm. The engine does not want to quit revving and is very versatile.

Silky smooth and pleasant sounding.

The styling is very sporty and aggressive. It is timeless and rare.

Fuel economy is rated 22/27 mpg which is decent for a sport car.

Front comfort is excellent due to the supportive heated seats, but the rear is cramped (so what!).

Handling is good although due to its weight its not nimble like a Civic. Ride is never harsh and brakes are average. A bit too much road noise.

Best FWD sports coupe of all time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

16th Mar 2006, 00:01

I cannot believe that the word torque, and the word Prelude, were just mentioned in the same article. Any engine that has to rely on VTEC for its power, is not torquey. By any stretch of the imagination.

7th Sep 2007, 04:52

You may or may not be a V8 lover, but my brother's prelude is still able to beat cars (1994 model) a lot younger than it. Let me say that VTEC is very useful and addictive. It may be no drag machine, but if it's not torque moving the car then what is? Anyway my brother loves it and that's that. A interested passerby offered to take it off his hands for just a bit under twice the price he bought it for, not bad hey.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews