2009 Honda Ridgeline RTL 3.5 V6 gasoline from North America

Summary:

Outstanding in every way!

Faults:

Within the first month the cruise control switch cracked. It was replaced while I waited at the dealer. Other than that switch, absolutely nothing has gone wrong. I get in, turn the key and go.

General Comments:

I love it. It is comfortable, quiet, reliable and a real workhorse when I want it to be. I have towed a boat and several trailers with it. The heaviest was 4800 lb and I hauled it 1200 miles from California to Washington. I didn't know I was towing anything, was able to go through the Oregon mountains with no problems at all.

It gets between 17 and 22 MPG depending on the type of driving I am doing.

The two way tailgate is awesome and so is the under bed locking trunk.

The 4WD works extremely well. I have driven on ice and snow and have been very pleased with the performance. I cannot fault this vehicle in any way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2017

2007 Honda Ridgeline RTX 3.5 V6 from North America

Faults:

The rear wheel assembly (IE, differential, axles, wheels etc.) broke off the unibody due to rust eating through that part of the body/frame that attaches to this wheel assembly! Since there is no real frame, it is not possible to weld the assembly to the unibody. It appears as though the car cannot be repaired and is now useless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2017

19th Mar 2017, 20:39

This review explains how this vehicle is not a typical pickup.

18th Oct 2018, 03:27

Well my 2006 Ridgeline did the exact same thing - rusted through! Now it is unusable.

18th Oct 2018, 11:52

I used to say the same thing with the El Camino and the Ranchero in the past. A real compromise. Buy a full size pickup and you have it all well covered the very first time. And a car for other times.

20th Oct 2018, 05:24

Gotta be careful off roading these trucks. Something like a Wrangler can handle driving through puddles and shallow streams, but this Honda has exposed metal that will rust out when it gets wet. Most old trucks I see have some rust on them, so the rust in itself isn’t necessarily a big deal.

20th Oct 2018, 10:14

Don’t you love waxing the top frequently, and the cars rust inside out. You would think you could wash the underside once in a while. What’s amazing with a heated garage is it actually is a detriment with snow and ice. The thaw and unthaw daily is worse than a cold garage. It accelerates rust.

20th Oct 2018, 12:49

The Ridgeline has "exposed metal that will rust out when it gets wet"(?)

Just like EVERY other vehicle ever made... except the Wrangler, apparently.

23rd Oct 2018, 06:13

Have you driven a Wrangler? If you do so, you’ll understand what I mean.

2009 Honda Ridgeline RTL 3.5 liter gas from North America

Summary:

Outstanding vehicle

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with my Ridgeline.

General Comments:

It is comfortable, powerful and solid. I have towed up to 5,000 lbs with no problems and have driven it in all types of weather. The 4 wheel drive has worked very well for me on my icy, steep road in the winter. The original tires are still like new and the paint looks like it just came off the showroom floor. What is not to like?

If there was one thing I would change, I would have seat memory for two drivers. I have to fiddle with the seat control after my wife has driven it, that is a very minor quibble.

The two way tailgate is a neat engineering trick; should be on everything with a tailgate!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2016

2009 Honda Ridgeline RTL 3.5L V6 from North America

Summary:

Comfortable truck with great performance

Faults:

The battery lasted four years. Absolutely nothing else has needed repair or replacement.

General Comments:

I bought this vehicle because I needed to tow a boat (about 4,200 lbs) and have a place to put gear from the boat. It has exceeded my expectations. I don't know the boat is back there when towing.

The truck is quiet, very comfortable, and has plenty of room in the bed and the trunk beneath the bed. Just drove it on a 2,600 mile trip, and stepped out every day feeling rested.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2014