HSV Senator Signature Reviews

2002 HSV Senator Signature VY 5.7L V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Engine and transmission 5.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 kilometres
Most recent distance132000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Liberty

Summary:

Beautiful car

Faults:

Very little. The premium brake package is very very powerful, but prone to warped discs, which is annoying.

Headlight performance wasn't impressive until I upgraded to xenon globes.

Front sway bar links failed - normal problem. Cheap to fix.

General Comments:

I have now replaced this car with a VE Senator after the truly decent run I had out of the VY.

The VY was comfortable, very well equipped, and totally reliable in the time I had it. It required normal servicing and a battery in 3 years and 60 odd thousand kms.

Coulson seats were superb. The VE seats don't come close.

The transmission could have been smarter, but did the job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2011

2002 HSV Senator Signature VX2 5.7L from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.7L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired131050 kilometres
Most recent distance146800 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Mine

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This piece of glory on wheels is the fastest leather lounge suite I have ever driven.

I bought this sight unseen off Trade-Me for 16000, and flew to Auckland to pick it up. What a drive home to Christchurch!

It is deceiving to boy racers, as the Senator is very quick, not lethal, but power all the way to whatever you risk.

I have put a set of 19" 06 r8 Maloo wheels and tyres on, and it looks great. This car I will keep. Only 98 were made and I have no.70, so feel lucky.

Cheers, happy driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2010

2003 HSV Senator Signature 5.7 Gen3 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.7 Gen3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 kilometres
Most recent distance116000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Liberty

Summary:

I see why people love HSVs

Faults:

Very little - The gearshifter release knob broke - $15 to replace.

Brakes have needed machining twice due to pulsation - this would be the most annoying trait.

Cupholders needed superglue as they started to crack.

General Comments:

Has been an excellent car - superb coulson seats, very comfortable.

Self leveling rear is great when towing or loaded up. Easily enough performance.

I simply can't really fault the car. It has started first time every time, everything works, it is actually very economical on highway runs - regularly dipping into the 8's per 100km, which for a thumping V8 is commendable.

Aircon works great, power windows go up and down quickly, always unlocks and locks when I tell it to, everything simply works as it is meant to.

I guess my only complaint would surround the auto gearbox - it is simply dumb at times - but then again it is an old design, is not adaptive, and only 4spd. Simply dithers occasionally, thumps downshifts every now and then etc. 90% of the time is is acceptable.

I would recommend a HSV to anyone. Every time I walk out to it, I love the way it looks!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2009

6th Sep 2012, 02:04

Dudes, I just bought the Senator because it had the one of the best Vette engines made, but after going through Lewis Pass and just driving around, it's going to be very hard to go to ANYTHING ELSE LMAO. But once I get mods done, watch out woohoo, and plus I know for a fact 300000 miles is easy before fixing anything, as it's the same base engine they use in Chevy pickups, and mine lasted 320000 before I needed to put in a fuel pump LOL.

2001 HSV Senator Signature Series 1 5.7 Gen 3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 Gen 3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carHSV Senator Signature

Faults:

Boot leak LHS in tail light area - entire rear light panel replaced.

Brake shudder at 5000 km's - brakes ground.

Piston slap at 30000 km's - just about to find out what they are going to do about this.

General Comments:

This car is the understated HSV with plenty of luxury features and performance to boot.

Very comfortable car to cruise in over long distances and not to heavy on petrol consumption if you keep away from 4000 rev's plus.

On a long cruise (200km's) can achieve 9.9 litres per 100 km's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2003

2002 HSV Senator Signature VY 5.7L V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance200 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero

Summary:

An excellent car for anyone who likes power and comfort

Faults:

Nothing (as yet)

I will post a comment to this review if anything goes wrong.

General Comments:

The car is seriously quick both off the mark and on a freeway, I think I left my balls back at the HSV dealer :-)

I looked around at quite a few different cars in my price range, but none of them had anywhere near the performance or the comfort of the Senator.

I really underestimated how nice the car really is, I got the car as a Christmas present this year and I love it.

Features include leather bucket seats, GPS (it actually talks), and a beefy 5.7L V8 that roars like a tiger! And many other extras including a sun roof.

I highly recommend this car to anyone who has a bit of money to spend and is looking for power and comfort. Great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2002

17th Mar 2008, 21:08

It will be good to see a new model of the Senator; like the saying goes.. you can park next to a Clubby or SS etc.. but the Senator is the KING of all Clubbys :)

4th Jul 2009, 03:29

I had the 2007 E Series with the MRC and all the other fruit... my gawd what a car. 0 to 100 in 5 seconds and to out do that; the brakes! The only problem is the poor bugger behind you! In the wet you can't lose it; it is that forgiving.

My only issue with this great car was the after sales servicing. It was crap. Metal to metal on my brakes some 4000kms past a service. Didn't check they reckon coz it's only an oil service at 22000ks... The skirt on the sides is a bit nasty too. For $80K you would expect the skirt to fit nicely.

Had to unload to pay a tax bill... but I'll definitely be back for another! I'll choose my dealer a lot better though and may even go private to ensure a good job is done.

I'll give you a tip; stay with the Potenzas for its extra mileage. The Adrenalins at $600 are great.

The front dam could be lifted 25mm to minimise scraping those kerbs. And yes the front dam can be fixed... so don't get sucked into paying $2800 to have it replaced! $800 max should fix a nasty hole or scrape.

Cheers, Steve.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews