2003 Hummer H2 Reviews

2003 Hummer H2 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles

Summary:

Garbage

Faults:

I bought this a 2003 Hummer H2 new in 2003 for $62,000, and have had no problems until now.

At 64,000 miles it has all gone bad. In the last month I have had to replace:

1. The left wheel bearing.

2. All four arms.

3. A/C compressor.

4. Transmission.

General Comments:

No wonder no one wants to buy an American made car if it fails at 64,000 miles. Additionally, the paint or coating on the interior plastic on the doors is chipping...

What a bunch of garbage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2011

3rd May 2011, 10:51

So much more money than the Tahoe it's based on and I hear the H2 is much less reliable. Doesn't make sense.

Check where it was really made. Is it like the Avalanche and made in Mexico?

3rd May 2011, 19:00

Yep, it cost you about a dollar a mile, and it is still junk!

2003 Hummer H2 6 Liter from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance47700 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

A very impracticable toy

Faults:

I have had three batteries installed.

Replaced tires at 40000.

My entire dash cluster has gone completely out when I changed the battery the last time at 47700 miles.

Driver seat has bad wear.

Wires hang down from top of windshield on driver side.

Right rear view mirror will not adjust properly.

Average 10.5 MPG, ouch!

Get a "clunk" noise in drive-train when start up.

General Comments:

Low gas mile per gallon.

Drives great. Handles and turns on a dime.

Too much noise on super-slab driving.

Spare tire is in the way both in back and on back bumper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th July, 2007

23rd Sep 2010, 21:01

Your tires lasted 40,000 miles, that's really good for a huge truck. Also, who buys a Hummer for mpg, it flatout states on the window sticker that you're getting 12 on the highway at best.

2003 Hummer H2 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Do not recommend

Faults:

Car is rusting away- All underneath parts are rusted. Brakes were replaced, including discs twice in eight months. There were signs of rust when I first bought the car, but the answer has always been "that is normal". One dealer has said it is unsafe to drive.

General Comments:

Car is made cheaply with plastic handles and parts that fall off.

The metal is all rusted.

Car has never been off the road, or in water or acid, as has been suggested.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2007

2003 Hummer H2 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carHummer H2

Summary:

Over priced and over rated!!

Faults:

The transmission just went and cost me $6800cdn.

The rear door handle came off shortly after purchasing it.

The driver's door mirror moves around and the dealer says you cannot fix it.

The door rubbers fall off every time you open the passengers doors in the winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th August, 2006

2003 Hummer H2 6.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles

Summary:

Don't buy or lease an h2

Faults:

I have gone through 3 sets of running boards due to rusting.

I have replaced the starter at 16,000 miles.

My cluster board went bonkers at 16,500.

The entire trucks electrical system went defunct and hummer blamed it on a bad battery. my vehicle had road side assistance 6 times in 3 weeks and had to be towed.

Hummer likes to cover up the mistakes it has with the h2's.they tell me know that most of the batteries are being replaced and that the cluster boards are an ongoing problem.

I have placed a complaint with hummer and am awaiting their decision on if they will take this bomb off my hands.

General Comments:

The car riders over anything if you can get it to start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2005

4th Jan 2006, 04:53

2003 H2 Hummer owner here.

This message is for Hummer owners and not the Hummer bashers.

Okay, here is my vehicle's history:

12,000 miles: Windshield wiper module killed the electrical system. Reno Hummer dealership replaced the ignition switch, fuses, and finally the module, and battery. Battery went dead because key stuck in the ignition and car never went off completely.

23,000 miles: Cerritos Hummer (great service) replaced the transmission.

Around 28,000 miles: Molding on the sunroof went bad, caused leaking during rainstorms. Replaced by Reno Hummer, who complained about having to clean under the molding.

35,000 miles: Pitman arm and other steering components gave way, because vehicle was actually being used off-road. Weak parts replaced by Reno Hummer, who made me pay for an alignment which should have been part of the work. Also got all 4 shocks replaced, as they ALL broke.

49,700 miles: Is sitting in the shop, awaiting a new engine. Hard to believe, but it lost oil pressure. Hummer's solution is a new engine. Coolant in the oil.

With over 22 hours of labor estimation, and $4k plus in parts, don't know how much more I can afford. Billed me $500 just for the diagnosis.

Down days: Way, way, way too many. Reno Hummer takes forever to do repairs and keeps the bill as high as possible.

I love my Hummer, it's handles great when it runs. I just don't know how many more times I can keep putting it in the shop and waiting a month to get it back. The down time is killing me.

I am a female, by the way. Hummer's aren't just for guys. (ha)

26th Jan 2007, 19:40

Last year I bought an '03 H2, and it has been very good to me. The only time it has been in the shop for something that was actualy wrong, was a while ago, and that was for the electric windows. It's in the shop right now for front end damage caused by a near head-on collision with a Tundra. I am almost convinced that I hit the truck I have been reading about in a 2002 Tundra SR5 review, that got munched by a Hummer.

Sorry mate, didn't mean to worry your day, if you read this.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews