2002 Hummer H2 from North America - Comments

29th Feb 2004, 18:08

I agree,the H2 isn't a real hummer.

23rd Mar 2004, 10:33

Hummers are cardboard boxes trying to imtate H1's.

7th Aug 2004, 15:55

Yes I must agree with everyone that H2s are not real hummers... the real one's are the H1s. The H1 is a recreational vehicle and its originality is greatly praised. It's meant to be fun; off-roading, 4-wheeling, etc. The H1s and H2s are not commuter vehicles, and should not be used as such. I agree that there does come a point when an SUV is just too big...I've lost friends to the excursions, expeditions and such. The H2 just about measures up to the size of one of those, I'd hate to see another life destroyed. I would have to also agree that the H2 is a poor imitation of such an awesome recreational vehicle! America's losing it's sense of what's original--can't come up with any new ideas, so they must imitate the old ones... how sad. But really, the H2?? Ugh and boo.

1st Oct 2004, 00:33

It is unfortunate so many posts are from those not even owning a Hummer.

I am buying one. I like that it is big. I need big, safe, and able, as I am moving to a mountain community that has snow and ice and dirt roads. This is exactly the vehicle I am looking for and am certain it will outperform many other SUV's. Do not even mention the Mercedes, the Lexus, and other pretty girly SUV's out there. They are jokes.

If you want a serious, capable SUV... this fits the bill.

The only other SUV I would consider is the Jeep Liberty. However... I like the size of the Hummer. So does my family (they feel safer driving in it).

I hope that those who see me driving on the road will not think I am a rich a hole. I am not. I am just someone who needs a vehicle like this. If I could afford the H1, and if my family could sit closer (did not feel like they were being inserted into a military mission via an armored vehicle), I would go that route.

I don't care about looks. In fact I may go for a nice primer paint job once I take delivery.

21st Oct 2004, 21:03

I actually own an H2 and it is an awesome vehicle. It is very unusual and has a few drawbacks, but who cares! It is not a H1 but it is a Hummer just like the H3 and possibly the H4 will be. It gets the same mileage as other large popular SUV's and can outperform almost anything off road. It is a specialty vehicle that most people don't appreciate. If you are looking for practicality look elsewhere, but if you have to ask why I drive an H2, you will never understand. GM has made the H2 a unique vehicle that combines luxury and ruggedness at a price that an average guy can afford.

6th Nov 2004, 07:32

I'd put money on the fact it could not out perform my Jeep.

Interesting comment:

"GM has made the H2 a unique vehicle that combines luxury and ruggedness at a price that an average guy can afford."

Oh it's unique alright. Sure it has some luxury. But at a price that an average guy can afford??? Since when did the average guy have $60,000 to piss away?

8th Nov 2004, 06:12

I'm from ireland where I've only ever seen one hummer. I think it was the H1 ye are on about. it had some amazing road presence to say the least. at a roundabout, all the traffic stopped when this thing came onto it. I think it has a 6.25 litre turbo diesel engine in it??? that's a guess. I would take the fall by saying he owns it for show, most 4x4's never see a bit of mud, so why buy one? road tests show you are bomb proof in an accident. I must mention that it didn't look nice... just big.

14th Dec 2004, 16:56

A hummer is hardly refined in any sense of the word.

Oh, and just because you can afford to run one of the most wasteful vehicles there is doesn't mean you should. A normal sized car with an efficient engine would serve you just as well without the need to give mother nature a punch in the face.

17th Jan 2005, 15:42

I own a 4x4 Fiat panda 1991 model, I've driven all round europe in it and get about 50mpg. I can take 3 passengers + me and have driven through ice, snow, off road fields etc etc, I paid £800 for it 6 years ago and have no intention of selling it, it even has a 12 disc CD changer in it and can get 95 mph out of it. so for £50k for a hummer H2 I could buy uhm lets see a fiat panda 4x4 and run it for uhm lets see 50 years?

7th Feb 2005, 19:12

Its good to see that so many of you have your own personal opinions. And that is exactly what they are. I have reviewed many off road vehicles before purchasing a Hummer H2. It is by far the most rugged vehicle perfectly suited for what I need. If you want small and economy buy Japanese, if you want undependable buy British, if you want rugged, but also refined buy a hummer, drive the snot out of it all day off road, wash it down clean it up and take your lady out to the swankiest night spot around. Thats American Class just like the Hummer.

If you can't afford stick with what you can afford.

11th Feb 2005, 10:16

Hummers are passe now. They don't get 5% of the attention they got just a few years ago.

20th Jun 2005, 13:37

Aren't we here to rate vehicles? People get so carried away with ripping on other people on these sites. The H2 is simply a waste of everything from the materials to build it to the gas to move it. They are small on the inside considering their girth. Where I live in NY they are viewed solely as status symbols. There aren't even any trails for miles and miles to go off roading on. Every time I see one it is spotless like the owner is afraid to get it dirty. They should be... the amount of money lost in depreciation on one of these has got to be unbelievable. If it isn't absolutely mint when you try to sell it you'll lose your shirt! I just can't understand why people want to commute in a vehicle like this. Most of the ones I see don't even have trailer hitches on them so they are basically used as cars. Very irresponsible...

29th Jul 2005, 22:11

Two words: Land Cruiser.

28th Aug 2005, 13:27

I keep reading over and over how wasteful the Hummers are, the gas mileage is basically the same as all the other SUVs such as the Suburban, Tahoe, etc. The people that drive it like the styling of it. If the people in this country would put as much effort into helping the less fortunate as they do mouthing their judgements, this world would be a much better place. Live and let live and if you want to make a difference, quit running off you mouth and do something that actually makes a difference like volunteering at a homeless shelter.

15th Sep 2005, 22:05

I do not care!!! when my dealer calls, I know I will run down to pick it up.

17th Sep 2005, 00:32

Two more words: Lada Niva.

24th Nov 2005, 22:06

Well, I liked the Hummer when I first saw it, just because it was so very different. I also liked the new VW Beetle, the PT Cruiser and the new BMW Mini, but nowadays you see them so often and the appeal is gone.

The Hummer as well as all these other V8 5-6 l+ engines should be prohibited!!!

Even I feel guilty driving my 2000 Toyota 4Runner in the city even though it still has some reasonable mileage. Nobody really cares about the environment - certainly the "big 3" do not. All these gas waster they put on sale is a crime!

Well, enjoy riding these tanks while you can. Hopefully someone puts an end to it some day soon - otherwise it'll be too late (maybe it is already)

Further comment posting to this review is disabled because of abuse