1997 Hyundai Elantra 1.8 Liter DOHC 16v from North America


I wouldn't buy another Hyundai based off this car


The transmission lost overdrive and reverse.

The engine has some knocking noise.

There is a restricted exhaust pipe.

A coilover broke on me.

The radiator needed to be replaced after 106000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is only recommended, if you want a good looking car. The car has little to no power. The transmission will go out 110,000 miles of owning the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th November, 2005

1997 Hyundai Elantra from North America


Fun to drive, but will Shanghai you with unexpected big repair bills which Hyundai will not help pay


Transmission failed at 142,000 km.

Exhaust manifold cracked at 200,000 kms without the engine EVER having overheated.

General Comments:

I have owned many cars over the last 40 years and have NEVER ever had a problem with a cracked exhaust manifold.

Anyone else with these kinds of problems should call Hyundai Customer Service and let them know 1-800-461-8242.

When I called them they told me no one has ever complained about these kinds of problems before, but I see there are many posted here on the net in this and other forums.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

17th Nov 2004, 20:15

They also told me I had a "cracked manifold" in my '93 Excel.. car was VERY loud. I took a look myself and realized what it was, replaced the little "donut" gasket (which was all it really needed) and car's been fine since. Don't let em rip you off..

26th Mar 2005, 12:24

I have a '97 Elantra and it is currently in the shop getting a new exhaust manifold at only 80,000 miles.

12th Dec 2005, 13:44

I also have a 97 Elantra, in the shop right now with a cracked exhaust manifold. This car has never been abused and never overheated!

31st Dec 2005, 00:02

I owned a 1997 Elantra that had 90,000 miles when I traded it in, the vehicle never gave me any problems.. Was a great car.

1st Feb 2006, 04:13

I have a 1997 GLS with 103,000 miles and it also has a cracked exhaust manifold without ever having overheated. Besides from that, this car has been VERY reliable.

9th Feb 2006, 15:27

I have a 96 Hyundai Elantra and I had to repair the transmission now the manifold is cracked. What else can possible go wrong? Now you know why they sell so cheap.

1997 Hyundai Elantra Base 1.8 Litre 16v DOHC from North America


Definitely the best bang for your buck, by far


The previous owner replaced the clutch at around 100,000 miles.

Replaced the alternator at about 130,000 miles and again at 210000 miles.

Replaced wheel bearings and tie rod end at 200,000.

Put in a new Speedometer cable around at 200,000 after getting a speeding ticket.

My head gasket started to go around 235,000, as did my clutch.

Ball joint blew at 240,000.

General Comments:

This car may be shunned by other car owners because it is a Hyundai, but I would definitely buy another one in a heart beat. In fact, I am purchasing a 2001 Elantra GLS in the next few weeks.

This thing lasted me much longer than I would expected it too and loved it to death.

This car is seriously quick and kept up with my friends BMW 325is and Mazda MX6 without a problem.

I, being 18 years old, of course raced it a few times and have beat a 2003 Toyota Celica, 1991 Nissan Maxima, and hand fulls of Honda Civic's with out even trying.

I got rid of it at 240,000 because I did not have to money to fix the clutch, ball joint, and head gasket, but the motor was still pulling strong when I got rid of it.

I definitely recommend this car to anyone who wants a good, reliable car and awesome gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd November, 2004

1997 Hyundai Elantra SE 1.8 DOHC from North America


Nothing has gone wrong. Just the engine light will not go off.

General Comments:

Engine will not Quit. Reg. oil changes and it will last for ever. Very fast will smoke any civic that pulls up to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2004

12th Nov 2007, 14:55

Glad your engine is running fine. Mine, however, has developed some kind of valve tapping which, some say, is attributable to the hydraulic lash adjusters which cannot be adjusted. Any replacement requires a complete valve train inspection.

28th Oct 2008, 09:59

I also had the problem with the engine light not going off..

So I tryed turning Over Drive off.. then after driving it like that for a couple hours it turned off.