2009 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2009 Hyundai Elantra GL from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance31000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I love my Elantra!

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with the car so far since I've owned it, in 18 months, is the radio aux port was faulty; it was not getting a good connection. After 3 visits to the dealership (the first 2, they told me that it was the cord I was using), the third time they replaced the entire radio.

General Comments:

I love my Elantra. It's not a fancy car, but for me and my budget, it suited me very well at the time.

I love the amount of space there is in the front and back seats, even with the front seats all the way back. It can comfortably sit 4 adults. The truck space is fairly generous as well.

I haven't had any complaints at all about my car. The gas mileage was the expected rate. It has good pick up and does well on the highway.

For those that are complaining about road noise; with the less expensive cars, of course they are cheaper and have their downfalls, you get what you pay for, but for a car in this price range (under 20k including taxes and all fees etc), it's an awesome car.

I love it so much that my sister has bought the exact same car, just a 2010 model!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2011

2009 Hyundai Elantra GL 2.0 from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Avoid this model

Faults:

Alignment problems since new.

General Comments:

I don't know who rates these cars, but this one is bad. I would rate this car Poor or even Very Poor. Bad ride, bad gas mileage, not a family friendly car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 2010

10th May 2010, 11:17

You have an alignment problem...that's it? The whole car is bad because of one problem? What do you do to fix the problem?

11th May 2010, 16:13

IF YOU DON'T LIKE IT, WHY DID YOU BUY IT? I've never gotten a good answer to that question. Do people still test drive the car they are considering buying these days? A test drive would've done you wonders. Complaining about a rough ride? You would've noticed that on a test drive.

10th Aug 2010, 12:13

I've owned this car over a year and so far I have no problems at all.

I get 29 MPG with NYC traffic and a lead foot. Other than road noise (not too bad), this car is flawless.

I did test drive it for 45 minutes before I bought it. Why wouldn't you?

29th Nov 2010, 08:50

My 2 cents:

Knowing that suspensions on the poster last owned car (Ford Winstar), are as soft as a Lincoln, the poster compares the Elantra suspension to a previous car, so the perception is that it has hard suspension. Of course he could have seen it as soon as first ride and decide then.

But we know the dealer are hypnotizers too, when you step in the dealership.

2009 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

I will never buy another Hyundai in my lifetime

Faults:

I had to get the whole electrical system replaced in the car, and it's still not fixed.

Problems with the shifter not wanting to shift correctly and killing the car, and then it won't start again after a while.

All this happened 4 weeks after I bought the darn car.

General Comments:

The car handles good on the interstate.

Great gas mileage.

The cabin is great for comfort, but everything in car feels cheaply made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2010

26th Feb 2010, 08:30

Your state may have a lemon law. I believe most lemon laws require your bringing in the car a set number of times before it can be declared a lemon. Judging by the other responses here, it could mean you have a bad car rather than Hyundai produces all bad cars.

2009 Hyundai Elantra GL 3.3 from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Zippy with fun handling!

Faults:

The trunk opener sticks a little and doesn't always open completely.

Rocks tend to get stuck in tire area and make quite a bit of noise.

Other than those small problems, it has been a great car so far!

General Comments:

I love the handling of the car - even in snow and rain!

Gas mileage is a little less than I thought it would be.

XM is fun to have.

Cruise control works great - very zippy car.

Having the back seats fold down to allow for longer items has been a big plus!

Leg room is adequate for a smaller car.

I would not get tan as the interior color if I could choose again - it shows everything!

So far, overall, I love my new car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2009

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 10 reviews