1993 Hyundai Excel Reviews

1993 Hyundai Excel Base 1.5 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Chick repellant!

Faults:

4 speed 4th gear went out, then 3rd, from heavy hauling. Replaced with a 5 speed out of a 92 GL. Totally great trans. I use redline MT-90 and don't use the clutch to shift. So what if various things have minor problems. The car gets me around for almost nothing.

General Comments:

It's probably a better car for a good driver. Crash tested average to above, but not the best. No air bags. So probably it's a death trap, but so cheap to get there with, it's a steal.

Even with the bouncing front struts; an easy way to help there is to change the rear shocks, and that helps a lot to get rid of the bounce cheaply.

Burns oil and does not hold much, so letting it get a quart low is stupid. Add oil and gas, and drive it. If you are a complainer, stay away from this car, you will just complain.

I love it, and even though I have many other vehicles that are better, I choose the piece of @%*!@ Excel as my daily driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2011

1993 Hyundai Excel LS (4-door sedan) 1.4 gas from Brazil

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 gas Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance55350 miles
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

If you drive this car, you love it!

Faults:

- Oil changes every 3.500 miles (this is something normal)

- Changed Spark Plugs with 15.000 miles.

- Changed Oil filter every 10.000 miles.

- Cockpit lamp (roof lamp) changed with 30.000 miles.

- Rear suspension terminals replaced with new original ones (due to the bad roads in my country)

- Only the usual maintenance services.

General Comments:

- This car is the best one I've ever had until today.

- Even being a 1993 car, it is very comfy and very reliable today (I bought it 10 years ago).

- Low-cost services and parts.

- Very comfortable and spacious cockpit for a medium-size sedan.

- In 10 years with this car, it never left me "on my own" in any road.

- This is the best. It's not a quick one (like a BMW or something), but It's like a sweet puppy when downtown and like a hungry tiger when on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2003

7th Dec 2003, 16:33

55.350 Miles??? I don't think so!

I Also live in Brazil and I must to say that, the odometer of your car is on Kilometres instead of Miles.

Also, I find very strange, the fact that you don't know the transmission of your car.

1993 Hyundai Excel SE 1.5 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance156000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Colt

Summary:

A great economy car

Faults:

Absolutely nothing!!!

General Comments:

The SE models have very comfortable front seats, large bolsters and adjustable lumbar support makes it comfy on longer trips.

Automatic transmission lock up torque converter cuts RPM to only 2500 at 100 KPH making it quiet on the highway.

Fuel economy is great.

Maybe not as refined as some Honda's I've owned, but just as reliable for a whole lot less.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2003

1993 Hyundai Excel GLSi 1.5 gas from Chile

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 gas Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 kilometres
Most recent distance127000 kilometres

Summary:

It's always ready

Faults:

The engine did loose oil, through the end of camshaft.

The valve stem seals need to be replaced.

Has many rattles.

The engine lacks of power.

General Comments:

It's far a very good car.

Parts are less than a half of other makes.

Very good reliability.

Has a better turn ratio than many small cars.

It's the right choice for those who are looking more for less.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2002

1993 Hyundai Excel CX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

The best used car for the price

Faults:

Nothing major. Only wear and tear, and general maintenance.

General Comments:

I always beaten my cars. This is my 7th Hyundai. They are cheap to buy, very dependable and easy to fix.

Automatic transmissions are known to fail. If you drive it like me, the manual transmission might fail too. Otherwise, don't worry.

Maintain them well and believe me, they will last. Mine is modified. I street race with it, and I know, I can trust it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2001

1993 Hyundai Excel CX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired380000 kilometres
Most recent distance420000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Excellent bargain

Faults:

Brake pads, shoes, battery, just regular maintenance.

General Comments:

These cars are very cheap to buy, very easy and simple to repair. The cost of after market parts is very reasonable.

I previously owned 1990, 1991 and 1994 Excels. It's no hot rod, but very cheap to run and reliable. By the way I always beat the hell of these cars and they all lasted and lasted. Just be aware of the transmission, both standard and automatic, I was lucky, but they are known to fail prematurely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2000

12th May 2005, 19:34

I own a 93 hyundai excel hatchback, I bought it two years ago with 124K mileage. Since then I have:

1.Serviced the Transmission

2.replaced all the tires

3.Catalytic Converter

4.battery terminals replaced

5.rotors

6.Tie-rods

A number of things have gone wrong and I hate my car. Thanks.

14th Jun 2006, 10:16

I had one of these cars. it was a 2 door hatchback. every time I turned around, I had to fix something. in the end, it wouldn't start, so I changed the fuel filter, and the fuel pump, and it still wouldn't start. it got great gas mileage, but I think the junkyard is the perfect place for it now.

27th Nov 2010, 07:00

Whats an Excel? Is it a Skyline?

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews