1996 Hyundai Excel Reviews

1996 Hyundai Excel GLX 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres

Summary:

Piece of crap

Faults:

Water pump, alternator, head gasket, clutch, coil pack.

Door handles, paint fade, wheel bearings noisy.

Dash cracks right through the middle.

Gear stick is sloppy, window winder broke.

Rear shocks flogged out.

Piece of junk car.

General Comments:

Would never own one of these boxes of crap again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2014

1996 Hyundai Excel 1.6 EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 EFI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance182000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Big things come in small packages

Faults:

Driver's side interior door handle replaced (broken).

Timing chain replaced at 80,000 - Still had a few K's in it.

General Comments:

Except for a few minor repairs, I am very satisfied with my Excel.

Reliability is excellent.

I could not ask for better fuel economy.

The seats could be a little more comfortable, especially on long trips.

The 1.6 EFI makes for impressive acceleration from a standing start.

Reverse gear can be a little tricky to get, however I have been told that this is due to there being no synchro-mesh on reverse gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th September, 2007

1996 Hyundai Excel X3 1.5 litre single cam from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5 litre single cam Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance193000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good low cost alternative - but get an immobiliser!!!

Faults:

Target for vandalism/theft 3 times.

Failed mass flow sensor.

Failed water pump.

Weird problem with starter - fixed with after market relay switch.

Various rattles here and there.

Manual transmission is sloppy and loose - don't expect to engage reverse in any kind of hurry.

Indicator stalk has never been fantastic.

General Comments:

Besides a few things going wrong - this is a really nice little car with good performance /economy and pretty good reliability.

I had trouble initially because the servicing before I bought it was with Castrol Magnatec - sludging up the engine. This has been fixed with regular oil changes using Penrite HPR 15.

Let's face it - X3 sprints are a budget package. But road noise is no worse than many other cars; it cruises really well; accelerates well; brakes well; handles in corners OK. I've taken it on some long trips and it's been cool.

Steering alignment has held up really well. Clutch is fine - although I am very gentle during gear changes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th April, 2007

22nd Feb 2009, 01:37

What color was the sludge?

1996 Hyundai Excel GX 1.5 EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 EFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance133500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

A good car for the money, one that lasts

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong that wasn't easily fixed:

The thermostat went once early on yet was fixed within the day.

The fly wheel came off due to overtightening of screws by maintainers, causing total power loss to auxiliary systems (power steering, alternator, water pump etc) yet this was covered by maintenance team.

General Comments:

This car and I have travelled a lot of places together. Having spent the last ten years driving about, and thankfully doing some overseas travelling along the way to reduce the km's, the Hyundai Excel has been very reliable, reasonably cheap to run, easy to maintain and relatively comfortable for the price.

The hatchback is definitely not a family car and one with the rear doors would be needed to make things easier, however, for a single person about town, there isn't much that can beat it in terms of maintenance and running costs, manoeuvrability and power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2006

1996 Hyundai Excel GX 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres

Summary:

Trendy, Reliable and Inexpensive

Faults:

I've never had a problem with it's mechanics.

The only thing I would mention is that when I bought it, the rear vision mirrors' paint had faded pretty badly.

General Comments:

I bought my car in very good condition, when I was 17. I have serviced it regularly and maintained it well.

It is a very economical car. Perfect for youngsters and elderly, who want a cheap, but reliable option. Not a good choice for the family minded, as it's a little squashy in the back if the front seats are occupied by passengers with long legs. For city driving, I get about 7 Liters per one hundred Kilometers (of Unleaded Petrol).

Spare parts seem to be relatively cheap compared to other car makes.

It's very easy to drive. Hydraulic clutch makes it great for the not so strong. Perfect vision all-round gives the driver ease at parking and more confidence on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2004

1996 Hyundai Excel Sprint 1.5 Injected 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Injected 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Cheap, Quick, Reliable

Faults:

Drivers Inside door handle, the plastic has broken, but have not needed to replace it as yet, it still works.

Replaced Timing chain @120000KM, instead of 80000KM, heheheh.

Rear hatch is starting to leak, the car was hit in the rear some time ago.

Rear center brake light keeps blowing.

General Comments:

The little hundi in a great cheap run around car, I drove our one for a year as a tech courier, it never has any problems. The motor is only a 1.5Lt, but it is very quick off the mark. We still have the car, but only use it as a run around car. I would recommend these cars for a second car or first car. They are basic inside, but have all the normal features.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

1996 Hyundai Excel Sprint 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32 kilometres
Most recent distance156000 kilometres
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Great little beast, worth every cent

Faults:

I had to replace 2 water pumps. One at around 110,000km and the other one at 150,000. The second replacement was done due to a noisy pump.

3 times I had to replace the leads also...

Besides these problems, I have never had a problem with the car.

General Comments:

This car is superb around town. It's cheap to run, easy to park, and reliable.

This is truly a car worth every cent.

I only wish I had the twin cam engine for more power.

Overall, this is a wonderful car that I will keep for many years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2001

1996 Hyundai Excel 1.6 EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 EFI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 kilometres
Most recent distance88000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

Top reliable car with surprising performance

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A lovely little car that handled and ran well. Had quite a bit of poke as well surprising a few larger cars. Get a 5 Speed EFI if you can, they really go!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2001

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews