2008 Hyundai Getz Reviews

2008 Hyundai Getz GVS 1.1 from India

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance15450 kilometres

Summary:

VERY GOOD. Until now :-)

Faults:

Well.. I brought the Getz 1.1 GVS on 24th December 2008... But now after two years, I have the cooling warning light (blue) that comes on when I start my car, and then goes off after around 2 minutes when the car is heated up.

No problems with the engine.

Everything in the car is very good till now.

General Comments:

I'm a bit disappointed in the Hyundai dealers... They do not provide you with the comfort you actually expect... Well that's all, but I still love my Getz.

And one of the worst things I have faced, is that I bought the car in 2008, and Hyundai stopped the production of the car the next year.

Well Hyundai did a big mistake by stopping this model... The best Hyundai Getz.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2010

2008 Hyundai Getz S petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission petrol Automatic
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Commodore

Summary:

Great but for this very weak link - the vibration

Faults:

Every now and then the Getz vibrates violently. It seems the gears don't change appropriately when driving too slowly, but then it happened at 70kph. It is very intermittent with no regular pattern, but when it happens it is frightening and we have to pull over and stop before it goes away. It only happens when my learner-driver daughter (23) is driving, but she is about to get her licence and has been driving for years. I've had it checked by a mechanic who drove it for 4 days, and who tried but couldn't replicate the vibration. It is a big mystery, but very scary. No one seems to know why it is happening - even Hyundai.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2010

12th Feb 2011, 05:26

I used to own one of these. It was a 2009 S 1.4 litre, and for the first 15,000kms it didn't vibrate. Then after that, it would vibrate terribly on cold morning starts and when stopped at traffic lights. The automatic transmission was appalling, to the point where it would not shift down when I fanged it. Almost got swiped on about 5 occasions. Sold it and bought a Toyota Kluger V6... the Hyundai seems like a toy car compared to my Kluger.

2008 Hyundai Getz Top style 1.4 from Slovenia

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carKia Pride

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Nothing was really wrong with the car, besides the squeaking in the back compartment, when on the original Hankook tires, new tires fixed it. Bad quality I guess.

Also the rear brakes required cleaning, as they were making horrible sounds. Not on warranty...

Seat was making noises, lubricant fixed this.

General Comments:

In general I'm very satisfied with the car, with every kilometer I drive, I'm happier that I bought it.

The engine is strong (100KM) and accelerates pretty good. It consumes 8,6 l/km with fast driving, but that's not a problem, Hyundai engines are not very cost efficient when it comes to gasoline consumption.

Anyhow, it drives a whole lot better than it's competition, like: Corsa, Clio, Yaris, at least for my taste.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2009

17th Dec 2009, 07:33

I do not think that Getz can really compare to its rivals as you mentioned. I happen to drive Corsa and Polo, and my experience is that both are much better on the road handling and suspension.

Moreover, my Getz also squeaks on the back side. One reason was bad shock absorber (replaced under warranty). Consumption is much higher than Corsa and Polo (8-10 l/100km), but engine is stronger and pulls much easier. Chassis seems worse than rivals, often hearing rattles from all over the car. Hyundai has to improve drivetrain, noise insulation in the cabin and the rest is OK.

15th Jun 2010, 06:21

I upgraded with new wheels. Now I drive on 195/50R15 and I must say that car handles much batter. Although I believe that 185/55R15 (as on Sport model) handles even better and is the perfect match for the Getz.

I wish I have the money for the Eibach suspension set, that should make even more performance in the curves and overall handling.

Just to put some notes on my 1.4 litre car: after 25000 km I cannot say anything bad, beside what usually is a problem with this model: sometimes squeaky bodywork, rough suspension, rattles from the rear shock absorber, bad fuel efficiency, even worse sound proofing.

On the other hand, it is good performer, up to now problem-free.

12th Sep 2011, 06:31

I upgraded my Getz with Eibach springs (I already put 195/50 tires on 15 inch alloys), and I must say that it should have been installed already in the factory. It is much better in terms of road holding. But my original shock absorbers, which are not of much quality, seem to give up 15 000km after installation of Eibach. I assume that the real solution is to go to complete new sport suspension. And yes again, the car is very stiff on the road, so the comfort for passengers is next to nothing. This adds to the feeling of “sporty” driving, but takes in the area of comfort in the cabin.

2008 Hyundai Getz CRDI 1.5 turbo diesel from Denmark

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance17000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Carina

Summary:

A cheap, reliable, honest car

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

The car was bought as new as my only car. It goes from A to B with little fuss and in reasonable comfort.

The Getz is practical and has a roomy interior for a car that small.

The diesel engine is refined, has good power (88 bhp) and returns good real world fuel economy of up to 19 km/l depending on driving style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2009

17th Jul 2009, 06:03

At 22.000 kms the tailgate had to be adjusted. It chewed on the C-pillar when the car had been in the sun for a long time. Must have been poorly aligned from the factory. Otherwise no faults so far.

18th Dec 2009, 04:15

All Getz models have problems with rattles and squeaking from rear part of the car. And many have other poor quality parts problems. But when this is fixed (preferably within the warranty period cause Hyundai is obviously aware of these quality issues), then the car should be trouble free.

Engines (the larger ones) are good, but thirsty. For example, my Getz 1.4 sips between 8-10 l/100 km, when my neighbour's Astra GTC 1,6 (115 HP) manages with 8.2 average. And the difference in ride and speed is HUGE.

2008 Hyundai Getz CRDI 1.5 turbo diesel from Philippines

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carIsuzu Pickup

Summary:

Economical and fast

Faults:

Hankook tires seem to be made of paper, came with the car from the dealership. Had to replace 2 tires in 5k kms.

Broke my oil pan after running through big pointy rocks.

Light duty suspension is very weak.

General Comments:

This car flies. For a diesel hatch, the turbo really does make a big difference, but at the same time, it's very economical to use. Pure city driving runs 13-14kms/liter, and provincial driving runs 18-22kms/liter.

Brought this car to Baguio (winding roads going up), and it showed no hesitation and was able to climb the mountain with no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2008

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 5 reviews