2008 Hyundai i30 1.6 petrol from Korea

Summary:

Excellent value, performance, and looks

Faults:

Remote entry battery already dead.

General Comments:

I purchased every option except the sunroof and the 2.0L engine back in October 2008 for about US $12,500 (when the exchange rate was about W1,550 to $1.00). Now the car in US dollars is about $17,000 (current exchange rate W1,155 to $1.00).

I absolutely love my dark blue with black leather 1.6L automatic i30. It is very economical, reliable, comfortable (climate control is awesome), looks great, and the performance is fine for Korea.

Hyundai has come a long way since the days of the "Pony", and the new Sonota YF (along with the new Kia K7) is going to take the mid to large car market segment by storm (they are both sold out for months in Korea).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2009

19th Mar 2010, 05:33

Hi Friend.

Fuel consumption is one key index for assessing the economy of a car. Any figures to prove your point that the well spoken of i30 is economical?

I am contemplating buying one in Ghana, and your kind and urgent response would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

2008 Hyundai i30 SLX 1.6 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Best value for money small diesel on the market... by a mile

Faults:

Honestly, I can't report any problems with the car to date.

General Comments:

Terrific car, very good performance and comfort.

Fantastic fuel economy. It's all good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2008

2008 Hyundai i30 SX 1.6 turbo diesel with safety pack from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

This is my 19th car, and the first one to tick all the boxes!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

First impressions after 1100kms:

I bought the i30 for the five star safety of ESP and six airbags, five year warranty and the economy - the torque was an unexpected bonus. It zooms up hills, has plenty of power to overtake safely, yet the diesel engine is very quiet.

The radio and CD are both excellent, and it has so many storage places, even one for sunglasses. The front and rear wipers work really well, I love how it sprays instead of squirts on the windscreen.

I have driven it on wet and dry dirt roads, gravel roads, in torrential rain, in the dark, on freeways and in the city, and it handles really well in all conditions.

I easily did over 1,000 kms on my first tank, despite driving in lower gears than I normally would to help the running in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2008

24th Dec 2008, 17:17

I am the original poster with an update.

I have now done 5,000 kms. It does over 1,000 kms on a tank before the warning light comes on. 5 L/100kms. Still very impressed with everything about it. The only other car I would swap it for is the i30 estate (wagon) which is not available here yet.

2008 Hyundai i30 Select 1.6 CRDi from Turkey

Summary:

It's not a Hyundai, it's an i30 - My new toy with enjoy

Faults:

Tyre pressures were extremely high (were 42-44, should be 32).

Body paint can easy peel off, beware of birds :)

A little road noise coming in.

Windscreen wipers.

General Comments:

I drove 20.000km.

Great car, enjoyable, great handling, perfect engine 1.6 CRDi, technologic and modern interior, good space in the interior, sound quality and controls on the wheel are pretty nice features.

Euro Ncap 5 stars, nice brakes, six airbags, active headset, I feel secure in this car.

Very cheap running costs, and low fuel consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2008

25th Sep 2008, 04:18

Tyre pressure of 42 psi will help reduce rolling resistance and improve fuel economy. This is why it would have been set to that.

2008 Hyundai i30 Premium Sport 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

One of motorings great secrets

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

As much as you can tell in 1500 miles, great!!

Performance is on a par with previous 2.0GX Impreza, but running costs are approximately half.

The specification is high for a "budget" car and the build quality is excellent save for the slightly orange-peely paint finish, however even that is being rectified by quality wax products.

Gearbox is stiff for first 1000 miles or so, particularly from first-second and second-first, and also into reverse. TIP- Don't force it, let the box catch up with you in it's time and it smooths out!

Would also like to have seen the six speed box in this model, first few runs at motorway speeds I was looking for an extra gear to bring the revs down, however perhaps the extra weight would bring performance down?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2008

2008 Hyundai i30 Premium 1.6 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Comfortable and stylish, and a delight to own and drive

General Comments:

Quality is excellent for the price - this is a very pleasant car to be in.

Automatic box is the old torque-converter type, so more leisurely than modern double-clutch electronic boxes, but it makes for a comfortable, stress-free drive - and is exactly what I wanted.

The box is perfectly matched to the torquey diesel.

Handling is safe and predictable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2008

2008 Hyundai i30 Premium 1.6 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A pleasure to own and drive - possibly the finest vehicle I've had in 30 years

Faults:

Nearside rear seat belt pretensioner failed; replaced immediately by dealership.

General Comments:

This is a very easy car to drive; the equipment level is very high and makes for an interesting and enjoyable experience on the road.

The torque at low revs makes city driving a breeze; at motorway speeds it makes overtaking effortless.

The audio system is awesome, delivering crisp, quality sound through the cabin. USB and iPod connectivity offer an unusual yet excellent additional variety to the usual sound sources.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2008

2008 Hyundai i30 SLX Hatch 1.6 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Still believe I made the right choice buying an i30 diesel SLX

Faults:

No faults with car in the first 6 months of ownership.

General Comments:

Has the torque of a large four cylinder or small six.

Amazingly economical.

Solid feel on the road with well weighted steering and a well appointed interior.

Excellent value for money with few weaknesses and many strengths.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2008