2000 Hyundai Lantra from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Cheap and nasty

Faults:

Rear passenger power window cable snapped and now the window will not close.

General Comments:

Car is quiet and cheap to run, but is of poor build quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2007

28th Nov 2012, 15:43

Turns out electric window failures are a common design fault. Whether you use them or not, they will fail.

The engine will go forever and a day, but the rest of it will disintegrate around you.

A strange combination of reliability and poor quality.

Perfect if you want an awful car that just won't die.

2000 Hyundai Lantra GLS 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Excellent value for money - worth every cent

Faults:

I have had to replace the CD Player 4 times. It could be that it doesn't like CD-R's.

There is one small item which irritates me. I don't smoke and use the ashtray for coins, when I reach in to get it there is a sharp spring which keeps jabbing me in the hand. That's the worst thing I could come up with.

General Comments:

This is a great value for money car. I have had no mechanical problems with it at all and the fuel economy is excellent. I have 3 tall children and it's a bit tight in the back, but bare-able.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

2000 Hyundai Lantra Wagon 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Reasonably priced, many extras, but many disappointments

Faults:

The remote central locking failed an hour after taking delivery of the vehicle and again two months later. The CD player has been replaced twice. The most recent problem has been a faulty oxygen sensor that caused the "check engine" light to come on. The dealer was apologetic and helpful when dealing with these problems.

General Comments:

It is a generally reliable vehicle, but seems to amplify road noise and lacks power when loaded with people and using the air conditioner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

2nd Mar 2006, 15:19

Hi.

I have a 2000 Lantra and have has the same issues. Central locking failed on me after 6 weeks and has failed twice since then. 3 of the 4 electric windows have had to be replaced after they failed and I am having issues with the check engine light coming on at regular intervals.

2000 Hyundai Lantra 1.8 unleaded petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Good looking cheap reliable

Faults:

Remote locking locked me out 3 times within about 6 months of owning it. The first time the dealer reprogrammed it. Finally the 3rd time they replaced the system, all under warranty.

A few rattles with the rear vision mirror.

Hard wearing on front tyres, often need pumping up.

General Comments:

Nothing else has gone wrong (touch wood). My model has a spoiler and mag wheels. I've added a sports exhaust and it sounds a bit more impressive. I quite like how it almost looks like a pulsar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2003

2000 Hyundai Lantra GL Wagon 1.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Budget station wagon with plenty of style

Faults:

Loose bolts on rear suspension arm (assembly fault - repaired by apologetic dealer). Otherwise no faults in two years running.

General Comments:

This is a lease vehicle, being used as a round-town service van. It is a very attractive station wagon, with plenty of space inside.

Although it is available in a 2.0 litre version, my 1.6 litre model has ample power on the hills and highway, even when laden with tools and equipment.

Handling is very good - this wagon has a wide wheel-track, and a fairly low centre of gravity.

The 5-speed manual gearbox is smooth with good ratios.

Interior fit and finish is excellent for a budget vehicle, with good comfort and an excellent driving position.

As mentioned in a similar review, the front wheel trims always seem to be black with brake dust, which can be irritating.

Fuel consumption seems a little high for a 1.6 litre (12.5 litres / 100km), but this could be more an indication of my driving style!

Overall, I am very impressed with this station wagon. I would happily buy one as a family wagon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2002

2000 Hyundai Lantra GLS Wagon 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

I rate this as an affordable practical wagon that is also very stylish

Faults:

Nothing, other than there is constantly brake dust on the front wheels and whilst it looks good after you have cleaned it, after a short while it looks really dirty.

General Comments:

When my manager told me he had bought me a new car and I found out that it was a Lantra, I was disappointed. After having driven the car after a few weeks I couldn't believe how well it performed compared to my Camry. It may lack a few refinements, but it sure has a lot of extra features like power windows, alloy wheels, electric aerial (saves having to get out in the car wash) and reasonable comfort on a journey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2002

2000 Hyundai Lantra 2.0 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Good value for money

Faults:

Where do we start?

The head gasket blew on us on one of the hottest days in the area, also it was in the middle of nowhere.

Steering was all over the place.

The brakes were really bad.

Windows and doors didn't seal very well.

General Comments:

We think it is a well put together car. It handles really well, and hasn't broke out on us yet!

The performance is great for the type of car, we have a wagon. We love the look of it as well. We added some minor optional extras that make it sound and look that little bit different to any other.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2001

9th Feb 2003, 23:48

This is the most inconsistent review I've ever read.

I'm not even sure if the problem section is for the same car as the comments section.

This person needs to make up his/her mind what he/she want to say.

3rd Dec 2009, 17:16

I agree... The cars brakes and steering are extremely bad, yet she handles like a roller. Two faces have I???

2000 Hyundai Lantra GLD Wagon 1.9 diesel from Lithuania

Summary:

Avoid this car

Faults:

Oil leak at 5000 km.

Horn failed at 10000 km.

Many minor faults that wee replaced by the dealer under warranty.

General Comments:

Previously I was driving Lantra Wagon GLS 1.8i manual '97. It had the same steering problems and braking problems. Suspension was replaced 3 times in 3 years. The only thing that was good for me was the engine. All rest is total crap.

The car is unpredictable at high speeds.

Steering wheel is uninformative. When coming out of a turn the steering wheel is centering way too fast.

The ABS is getting into the job too late for the rear wheels. It feels like you are driving with your handbrake on.

This engine needs some turbo or something.

This car is dangerous on gravel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2001