2001 Hyundai Matrix Reviews

2001 Hyundai Matrix GLS 1.6 Automatic from Singapore

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance25666 kilometres
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Made Affordable

Faults:

The engine started choking at 20000km. Did temporary repairs by using musking tape to tape around the spark plugs.

Battery had to change by a year.

General Comments:

Fuel consumption is high, about 8km/l after 1 year.

Car picks up slow due to the low power of the engine for such a car.

Handles quite well, but always seems to want to topple while bolting pass a turn at 60km/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2004

2001 Hyundai Matrix GLS 1.6 petrol from Singapore

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Most recent distance20500 kilometres

Summary:

Excellent!

Faults:

Throttle/fuel sensor

- When idling, the RPM needle suddenly surges up to 2,500 rpm out of the blue! Replaced the sensors for free, of course!

Inferior paint work.

- Hyundai is known for its low-quality paint work! Unfortunately, they claim it's wear and tear, and it's not covered under warranty! Sigh!!

General Comments:

It's almost a year since I last posted the first review! And yes, about time for me to post another one!

It has served its purpose as a people, pets and multi-purpose carrier - and a superb handling and ride for its built and size.

Various DIY and minor mod enhancements do improve the performance slightly (as lugging a 1.3 tonne with a 1.6 power train is sluggish!!)!! Extremely recommended for those who are with this power train - a 1.8 would be just sufficient, otherwise the mods would be highly recommended!

Mods Done:

- Changed stock filters to K&N filter charger (www.knfilters.com)

- Changed stock ignition cables to race cables (ACESpeed)

- Changed stock plugs to IRIDIUM plugs (www.denso.co.jp).

- Changed stock steel rims to sports alloy rims (www.enkei.com)

- Added a fuel catalyst system (www.broquet.com)

More to come!! Stay tuned!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2002

24th Sep 2002, 11:09

What is your fuel consumption?

I had mine for about a year and its doing 8-9km per liter!

That is real bad for a 1.6 auto. Any 2L car can easily do 11km/L. Already complained during servicing, but to no avail.

4th Oct 2002, 05:20

Fuel consumption is at an average of 11km/l. Depending on your driving style, fuel consumption varies from one to another.

Best Regards.

27th May 2003, 06:27

I also get very poor fuel consumption from my 1.8 CDX. I have had a similar problem with the Rev counter and a loss of power when the car hits between 2000-2500 revs. I am still trying to get the dealership to admit there is a problem with the car.

16th Dec 2010, 08:03

What is the price of this car?

2001 Hyundai Matrix GLS 1.6 from Italy

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

A good car for a family (no kids with pushchair)

General Comments:

I think that the car is great, but it has only two problems that they could resolve when they make it and sold the car.

1) They should have sold better tyres on it because they don't make the car stay on the road.

2) who designed the boot didn't have a baby because I can only put the puschair in it if I pull out the boot cover.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2002

2001 Hyundai Matrix GLS 1.6 petrol from Indonesia

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48 kilometres
Most recent distance7000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Good car compared to its price

Faults:

RPM speed unstable (shows above 2000RPM) when idle at 6500km. It's has been fixed by the dealer within couple minutes. Thanks.

General Comments:

This car is having good exterior looking, the cabin is spacious and comfortable seat, but not enough space to put golf bag.

With this 1.6 litre engine capacity, don't expect too much when you take it along the hilly road or terrain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2002

2001 Hyundai Matrix GLS 1.6 from Singapore

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance3000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

Real value for money

Faults:

So far so good.

Stock Kumho tyres are noisy. Will get rid of them as soon as I've decided on new rims.

Car flies with some minor D.I.Y. modification.

General Comments:

Cabin is very spacious.

Lacks luggage space especially for golf bags.

Matrix (or Lavita) lovers are at HMOG@yahoogroups.com

Very appealing looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2002

6th Aug 2002, 05:30

Can you elaborate on the D. I.Y side of things?

Thanks.

17th May 2003, 08:27

Car flies with some minor D.I.Y. modification.

Can you please say what are those minor D.I.Y. modification so that even I can do that on my Hyundai Matrix.

31st Oct 2003, 20:06

How long have you been using the car?

Good spacious car with multiple purpose, but how reliable is it?

Well, it might be a low-budget car, but will we pay more instead for in the long run in term of maintenance?

26th Dec 2003, 19:54

Hi, Your comments interests me. I have a matrix for 6 months now. For my car, I added an Airmax-type intake bypass, earth grounding and a K&N filter. The engine becomes very free reving and managed to pull even upto 6000 rpm. Before, struggle to touch 3500 rpm.

My problem is at around 2500 rpm, the auto gearbox seems to rattle or vibrate. If running through the rev, it is not too noticeable, But when cruising at at rev, the engine compartment vibrates. Do anyone know a cure apart from changing auto oil?

Rodney.

2001 Hyundai Matrix GLS 1.6 petrol from Singapore

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40 kilometres
Most recent distance150 kilometres

Summary:

Extremely great value and overall built for an MPV!

Faults:

Nothing in particular.

General Comments:

Latest model (2002) from the stables of Hyundai Motor. Recently released in Europe (featured in the Motorshow in Frankfurt), the Hyundai Matrix penetrates the MPV market with a storm!

Perfect for a family of five or young and vibrant couples who are always on the go!

A great alternative to other mini-MPVs/MPVs out there where the size isn't too small or too large.

Don't expect it to be a high-performing car - however, the 1.6cc engine comes with 107 bhp. Comes in 2 other engine capacities - 1.8 (Petrol) and 1.5 (Diesel) which are available in US/Europe market in due time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2001

22nd Jan 2002, 20:37

So what is your mileage now and any more to comment at this stage on your Hyundai Matrix?

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 6 reviews