2004 Hyundai Matrix Reviews

2004 Hyundai Matrix GSi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carCitroen Xsara

Summary:

Unbeatable, cheap, practical car

Faults:

Never goes wrong.

General Comments:

My wife needed a new car, and we weren't considering a Hyundai at all, but this one came up for sale at a local car dealer for such a good price, that it was difficult to ignore. I went into the test drive thinking I would hate it, but was very surprised by the way it drove. Very composed, quiet, and it gives you the feeling it is well put together.

Bearing in mind how much these cars cost to buy, it is difficult to fault the Matrix. It is comfortable, very practical, parts are cheap, and there is enough power on tap for overtaking when required. It never fails the MOT, and shows no sign that it likely to any time soon.

If you need a cheap, practical car that is very easy to live with, look no further.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2011

2004 Hyundai Matrix 1.6 from Malaysia

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired500 kilometres
Most recent distance27000 kilometres
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

Overall should be OK

Faults:

I am not sure any one can help me. the air condition temp dial need to be 90 percent to get cooled & chilling effect. if in the hot sun for an hour, I need to turn dial to 100 percent to achieve it while other cars I drive I only turn dial to 60 percent.

I keep getting metal clanking noise from front under carriage when ever I go over bumps & pot holes.

Mechanic done it and replace steering shaft & clipper, but still no use as the noise is still there.

Fuel consumption in town is about 18 to 20 sen / km while for highway is about 15 sen / km.

General Comments:

Overall is good buy for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2005

30th Jun 2008, 11:15

Did you ever find the source of the noise? I have the same problem.

2004 Hyundai Matrix LX 1.6 Gasoline from Egypt

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

It is a piece of art

Faults:

After 100 KM the drive steering wheel became slightly pointed to the right side and not in the normal position during straight moving.

The central lock sometimes get jammed in the right rear door.

General Comments:

The italian design is genius, it is spacious, comfortable, reliable, they were interrested in small details, especially inside the car.

The driver seat is very comfortable, there is a large space for legs for both seats in the front and rear.

Getting into the car is very smooth and easy even for the elders.

There is a space for everything.

The car is easy to drive, maneuver, and park due to its compact size.

Pick ups is slightly slow, it's better when the overload drive button is on.

The consumption of the fuel is slightly high (9 to 10 KM/1 Liter).

The car is very stable at high speeds, but it's a little bit noisy as well.

You can drive it without any tension or stress with effective and good control.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2005

1st Aug 2005, 04:45

It's nice, but at the same time very noisy engine.

24th Feb 2006, 02:22

Hi if you trey to chang the gas to a higher number it will be better I did so with many cars and you can tell after twice full tank.

10th Nov 2011, 03:47

This car is DEFINITELY NOT junk. Its looks were quirky and controversial in early 2000's, but now (2011) the look fits right in with current automotive styling. In a way, its looks have improved with age.

It has been the MOST practical, spacious, comfortable, economical and reliable car I have ever owned, and it's a pleasure to drive (a little sluggish, but excellent road-holding around the corners), especially for long distance trips.

2004 Hyundai Matrix GL 1.6 petrol from Philippines

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19 kilometres
Most recent distance1350 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

It's fantastic!!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far.

General Comments:

We were looking for a family car that is in between a sedan and an AUV with reasonable price. We came out with Matrix, and were very happy!!!

It has plenty of room and storage bins. Members of the family are more comfortable now when going on a long trip. With the roof rails/racks, space for luggages are not a problem anymore.

I also love the handling. I have no problems cruising the mountainous Region IV. Matrix accelerates well and is effortless at high speed. I have no problem overtaking on big buses.

Fuel consumption is OK, fueled 38 liters is enough for a 500 km distance.

The driving view is also great!!!

Bottomline, I love this car, good thing I did not believed on other reviews.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2005

18th Aug 2012, 02:10

Sir. Good day. I was just looking for some reviews about the 2004 Hyundai Matrix 1.6 petrol. I'm planning to buy a second hand Matrix with a 100k odometer reading. Is it worth it? Because it's been 8 years since that model came out. Hoping for some answers.

Thanks.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews