2010 Hyundai Santa Fe from North America

Faults:

It was great until this week. It sounded a little different but was running fine. My husband thought it was because of the cold weather. It's always had an occasional jump when shifting gears. The engine light never came on, the oil light has never come on.

Yesterday I dropped my kids off at school and shortly after my car lost all power. I pulled to the side of the road; again no light came on. I shut my car off then waited a few minutes, tried to restart it and the engine wouldn't turn. My husband came with oil; it was low but not empty. He then tried to jump my car. It wouldn't start. My car then lost all power. Flashers wouldn't even work. Had it towed to the dealership and they are saying my engine was blown. Why wouldn't any lights have come on if this was the case?? Now I still owe $19,000 and a new engine is $6,000 I can't afford. I have three kids and no car. I'm so lost right now...

General Comments:

Loved it until recently, I have never had these issues with any other car. Sad we've only had it a short time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2016

12th Jan 2016, 20:41

$19,000 for a 4 year old Hyundai SUV? Getting ripped off was unfortunately the first issue. That SUV should cost more like $8,500.

2010 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS from North America

Summary:

Terrible

Faults:

Front valve cover gasket leaking, which leaked onto the alternator, causing it to go bad. After the alternator stopped, the car was running on the battery, which then died. Took it to the dealership to fix, and they wouldn't cover the cost of the battery.

We've had several others issues with the vehicle; would recommend staying away from Hyundai.

General Comments:

Cheaply manufactured.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2013

16th Dec 2013, 15:22

I have the same problem with my Sonata 2009 V6 at 63000 miles. It cost me $1000 to get fix at the dealer. Hyundai should pay for this sort of oil leak. NO MORE HYUNDAI CARS.

2010 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport 3.5L from North America

Summary:

Overall satisfied, but won't purchase again

Faults:

For the 2nd time in 18 months, I've had to replace the oil pressure sensor.

General Comments:

Enjoyed driving this vehicle up until now, but I think it's time to get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd July, 2013

5th Jul 2013, 11:59

Isn't the truck still under warranty? That's an item they should cover.

2010 Hyundai Santa Fe AWD 3.1 from North America

Summary:

Disappointed

Faults:

Oil pressure switch leak at 83000 km.

Poor gas mileage - less than 24 MPG.

General Comments:

The oil sensor light started intermittently turning off and on, first when the brakes were applied, then it flashed off and on when on a rough road. It would go off for various lengths of time when the ignition was turned off and the vehicle was restarted. Finally it stayed on.

I checked the oil several times, and it was at the full mark. When the light came on permanently, I again checked the oil and it didn't register on the dip-stick. I added oil and then checked to see if I could see any sign of oil in the snow. The oil was running out. I assumed an oil plug leak or a improperly installed filter was leaking. When I took it to the dealer, they informed me that it was a TYPICAL Sante Fe problem; the oil pressure sensor had failed and then started leaking. I have talked to several Sante Fe owners since then, and they had already experienced the same problem. I am now concerned that damage has been done to the motor, even though I watched and never saw the temperature gauge go up. Dealers have been notified that this problem exists, but owners are not notified of this COMMON problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2013

20th Mar 2013, 16:05

The temp gauge won't show if you have done damage to your engine; you are losing coolant after all. Easiest way is to listen to the engine, did it make any strange noises or abnormally loud noises when the oil light came on and you were driving. Now that there is enough oil, does it still make these noises, such as ticking (noisy lifters), knocking (piston slap) or does it burn oil?