1997 Hyundai Sonata GL from North America


Baffling array of problems


Occasionally, the automatic locks would activate by themselves.

My crank pulley literally flew off for no apparent reason. After repaired, there was a high pitched squealing noise whenever the car was running.

This continued into chronic charging problems. The alternator was replaced three times. The battery twice replaced. (all ground wires checked and repaired/replaced as needed) (still no luck)

Horse power overstated by at least7%

-notified of class action settlement-

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th May, 2004

27th Apr 2009, 14:45

I had a similar problem with my Sonata in South Africa with the crank pulley falling off.

The car locks itself, even when trying to open the door with the key. The switch for the central locking system broke as did the release latch for the boot. Back brake calipers binding caused endless problems. Recently a front shock snapped. In SA, servicing is very expensive.

1997 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.0 from North America




The water pump went out after 2 months.

The engine bolts broke off. (all 4)

The car stalls when going less than 15 miles an hour and when you stop and take off again it has no power and then jolts into gear.

General Comments:

I have had nothing but problems with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2002

26th Nov 2002, 18:42

I have to agree completely with this opinion. I have owned my 2001 Sonata since Feb 02 and have had nothing but problems. It has been in the shop 5 times for the following:

1) Loss of power on acceleration

2) Rough shifting

3) Stalling at low speeds

4) Unexplained vibration on idle.

To top it off, I received a letter dated Nov. 15, 2002 from Finbarr O'Neill, CEO of Hyundai informing me they "made an error in the information they published about the horsepower of the engine... the horsepower rating was published as 149, when it is actually 138."

Would I buy another one... no way!

1997 Hyundai Sonata V6 3.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


Good value for money



General Comments:

Good all round saloon.

Comfortable and reliable.

High standard of extras.

Tends to steam up inside, but clears with air conditioning.

This can be a problem as it makes the rest of the car interior cold.

I have converted the Sonata to LPG. This works very well with this model and I have had no problems.

Worth considering as LPG is only 35.9 litre. Cost of conversion - £1500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

1997 Hyundai Sonata 4.0 from North America


Junk on wheels


The driver side door handle broke.

The windshield wipers quit.

The speedometer/odometer quit.

Transmission is slipping.

Leaking oil.

General Comments:

This is the worst car that I have ever owned. I would never recommend another person buy one of these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2001

18th Jun 2002, 21:42

I have a 1997 Hyundai Sonata that has been in the shop for 4 months now. The transmission had gone out. It was taken to the best transmission shop in my area. The first transmission they installed went bad on them, and they had to install yet, another. They said it will run okay, but, as soon as they turn the car off and then back on again, it starts trying to take off in what would be "third gear" on a clutch. I love the look of my Hyundai, but, It is a piece of junk on wheels.

10th May 2004, 09:01

I have a 1997 Hyundai Sonata and it is doing very well. I have 65,000 miles and no problems. The only problem I ever had with the vehicle was an ERG valve problem when it was new. It rides great and was also totaled in a front end collision. I plan on keeping it another five years.

1997 Hyundai Sonata Base Sedan 2.0 inline-4 from North America


Good for the price


Nothin yet. The headlights seem too dim for some, and the air filter needed replacement. The tires up front wear quickly, even with a lot of highway driving.

General Comments:

25 thousand miles and counting. Still going strong. Stereo works great for stock. Seats can be frustrating when trying to slide back on the track. They do not go back far enough, and even though I am 6'4", my knees hit the steering wheel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2000

16th Dec 2000, 16:38

I have the same car and it is a pile of junk, the motor at 57,000 is gone and the extended warranty is no good - the dealership will not replace the motor.

Even with the 100,000 mile warranty... don't buy anything from them.

3rd Jul 2001, 12:13

My Sonata has 83,000 miles and is still running strong. The only problem was a blown water pump but besides that it is a great car. (If you take care of it) I would buy another if I had a chance!

1st Nov 2001, 14:22

Keep your Hyundai, it's a great car.

24th May 2005, 15:06

I have a 1998 Sonata with 85,900 miles and it just blew up. Dropped two valves, cracked one piston and dinged a second, gouged the head beyond repair and scarred the inside of cylinder number two. I can't find a motor for under $1000. I won't own another Hyundai.

10th Sep 2007, 21:38

I have a 1997 Sonata with about 135,000 miles on it. I had a few major transmission problems right after buying the car around 2001. Thankfully it was still under warranty, therefore no problem, just inconvenience. Since then, my only major problem has been the a/c dying. Besides for that, the car runs strong even with the high mileage.

1st Jul 2009, 13:28

I own a 1997 Sonata 4 cyl. It has been nothing but trouble since the day we bought. Every 6 months we have to replace the Ignition Control Module and the Ignition Coil. It happens like clock work. I would never buy one again. Ever!

1997 Hyundai Sonata GL from North America


The clutch and it can run rough in the AM. I took it into the shop and they said it was my imagination!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 1998