1998 Hyundai Sonata Reviews

1998 Hyundai Sonata GLS 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 kilometres
Most recent distance193000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Decent affordable car

Faults:

This car has become a nightmare; it has suddenly developed a annoying problem. This started about 2 months ago.

First the car just wouldn't start unless it was boosted. The starter was replaced, new battery charging system check, and was running perfect.

Then after the garage, it worked for a while, then it just stalled one day on the highway while driving. It was wired; it wasn't just the engine, but all electrical as well.

Then I got it checked again; all seems fine, starts without a boost all the time.

Now it will just stall randomly, and sometimes start up after, but not all the time. I don't trust driving in this car, no codes pop up on OBD2 and the fuel system is good?

General Comments:

The car itself before the problem ran great, good acceleration, comfortable. I really did like this car, minus the gas price to keep it going; I would get a bit more 400 km on a tank of gas.

Guess I got a lemon!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2008

1998 Hyundai Sonata GL 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carn/a n/a

Summary:

Disposable car

Faults:

The door handles brakes easily, the older it gets it is one problem after another.

This Hyundai was meant to go only 120,000, the newer ones are better.

General Comments:

It was good until I got 120,000 miles after that everything started to go down hill, my advice is get a Hyundai after 2002.

These car are almost impossible to fix even by mechanics.

One good thing I say about the car is that I got my moneys worth out of it, in my opinion It could have last a bit longer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2007

1998 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.o from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.o Automatic
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles

Summary:

Still runs, but a aggravating door problem

Faults:

Passenger door would not operate from inside or outside. Removed door panel and found a small spring 3/4 inch long by 1/8 thick which broke from rust. Spring cost $.50 from local hardware store and wasn't a hard fix, but had to use mirror to see up into door panel. Checked drivers door and found that spring ready to break. Hyundai could have used stainless, but must be cost prohibative ($.05 more). I have read a lot of complaints about this and see the dealers are really socking it to fellow sonata owners for repair. I filed a complaint with NTSB due to seriousness of being trapped in vehicle when spring breaks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th July, 2005

1998 Hyundai Sonata GLS 3.0 V6 from Dominican Republic

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance45600 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Mitsubishi Montero 1994

Faults:

Power windows stick. Problems with the engines computer (EC) bad workmanship.

General Comments:

I am totally happy with this car. My wife love`s to drive it, Very comfortable leather seats lots of room and a very big trunk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2005

1998 Hyundai Sonata GLS 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Good motor and transmission. Everything else is crap

Faults:

I have had the door handle break off in my hand.

Two windows have gone off track.

My windshield wipers quit in the middle of a snow storm.

It's a piece of crap.

General Comments:

When you see this car at a dealership, run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th December, 2004

27th Dec 2004, 06:20

A door handle broken, two windows of track and the wiper that's stuck after 6 years and 93000 miles... its not the car that is a crap...

16th Mar 2005, 12:42

Hi Kevin here.

I've had my Sonata now for the past two years in Ireland and will sell next year to, but the latest model. It's an 1998 1.8 petrol and I haven't had much problems only things that went wrong were as well my door handle broke, it's a common problem with this car and my Sunroof packed in which I needed to get replaced, but everything else is still running well. Current millage is nearly 100k so for just two problems that to me isn't bad. I would recommend buying this car as YES it is cheap, but the gear you get in it is well worth it. Why bother buying a Merc for three times the money and with half the luxury gear that Hyundai provide. Only thing you loose out is the Badge, but hey you can't see the badge while your driving. Well that's what I keep telling myself. YES you guessed it I do think I drive a merc.

Kevin,

Ireland.

13th Aug 2006, 07:20

Hey I've had a 1997 sonata for about a year now. I haven't had any problems with door latches.. They're all still in tact. But my rear windows don't roll down and my front passenger window likes to go out of alignment. The main reason why they're so cheap is how they use cheaper things to make the interior. (My dad works for the dealer in my area) The newer ones (IE: 04 and up) are a lot better. I haven't had any trouble aside form the windows and the shift linkage wearing out. (i have a 5 speed) Oh yeah and my AC belt snapped.

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews