2009 Hyundai Sonata Reviews - Page 2 of 6

2009 Hyundai Sonata from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance6155 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Nothing but problems

Faults:

There is rust on the hood of my car. I took it back to the dealer because it is only 6 months old, and they said it was from a rock chip. I took it to a local body shop, and they said it wasn't a rock chip. I called the dealer back, and they said (this is funny, the local body shop guy even laughed) a rock chipped the paint, causing moisture to get underneath it, and bubble then rust.

Glove box doesn't close properly. Took it in four times until they finally replaced it, and then told me to slam it shut really hard, and it would stay closed.

General Comments:

I will never recommend a Hyundai car to anyone.

The service departments for these cars are horrible to deal with in the two states that I have taken it to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th February, 2010

19th Feb 2010, 16:48

"I called the dealer back, and they said (this is funny, the local body shop guy even laughed) a rock chipped the paint, causing moisture to get underneath it, and bubble then rust."

That's an entirely possible scenario...

19th Feb 2010, 17:03

From the sound of it, it's not the car that has the problems, it's the service.

14th Mar 2010, 23:36

Can you mention something about the engine, reliability, and typical car purchase questions?

You are not recommending it because it has rust on the hood from rock chips?

11th May 2010, 15:19

Rock chips and a bad glove box door... do you have any real problems with the car?

20th Sep 2010, 15:42

May I interest you in my 2010 Malibu?

Water pours into the car when it rains, "Service airbag" and "check engine" lights come on intermittently, the car shakes an rattles on the freeway, tires wear unevenly and it needs new rotors after 8K miles, but the quality and finish of the glove box is second to none, and it closes without effort with a reassuring thud.

I also have not noticed any rust, which might be due to the fact that I have driven the loaners more than the car I've purchased, but if you want to swap, I will throw in a rust proofing treatment for free.

2nd Sep 2012, 22:46

The paint chip scenario is highly possible. As for the glove box, well, that is annoying and it's disappointing the dealership is giving you the runaround, but I would not call it a particularly serious issue.

Good service is hard to come by in general, I think.

You are being overly picky in regards to reliability to dismiss the car over such a small issue.

2009 Hyundai Sonata GL Sport 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95 kilometres
Most recent distance5900 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Great value, but beware of the 46 mpg claim!

Faults:

Fuel consumption is about 30% above advertised rating.

General Comments:

I did 600 km on my first tank of gas, but it has slowly gotten worse. It now averages about 12.7l/100km in the city. Only did one long trip with it, and it did close to 800km on a tank, but I have a feeling it might not get close to that again. Not sure what the problem is. Taking the car in for a check-up this week.

Seems to accelerate erratically at times.

Sport suspension combined with low-profile wheels make for a less than smooth ride.

On the plus side, lots of features for the money. Cabin and trunk are both roomy. Nice interior finish. Good quality feel to controls. Good acceleration once at cruising speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2009

2009 Hyundai Sonata GLS 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carVolvo S90

Summary:

It's a keeper. Solid, good looking car with lots of room, plenty of power and excellent MPG

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

Original poster of the 2009 model Sonata.

This is a follow-up to earlier post.

I now have 22,000 miles on my Sonata and without any problems. Only oil changes and regular dealer service. Absolutely no issues with the car. I recently drove it on a 1,300 mile road trip and the car performed beautifully.

Highway mileage when checked twice on the trip was 37 MPG and 36.4 MPG with regular gas. This was expressway driving at 65 to 70 MPH. Plenty of power even with the four cylinder engine. This is a solid and comfortable vehicle. I love the suspension as it gives a super smooth ride. I'm running full synthetic Mobil 1 and am meticulous about proper service. I hope to keep this car a long time. I would urge anyone looking for a Camry or Accord size car to at least drive the Sonata before making a similar purchase.

Update 20th August 2010:

My 2009 Sonata has approx. 35,000 miles, and has been perfect. I'm totally impressed. I just purchased another one. My wife loves it much more than her Mother's Camry. My opinion... Camry quality is not what it was a few years ago. Camry rubber molding just falling off doors and trunk. Back to the dealer get it repaired.

Another relative just purchased a 2011 Sonata, and also loves it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2009

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 18 reviews