1998 Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 from North America


Great looking car, but it is a money pit


A new transmission at 53,000km. Another transmission at 111,000km. A new throttle sensor. 2 ECM (computers). Interior light does not work (never did). The seats belts do do roll back up so they are always getting stuck in the car door. Not bad for owning the car for almost 16 months.

General Comments:

I do love the look and the way the car drives, but it not reliable and I am a single woman who takes the highway to work everyday.

The service I received from the dealership was terrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th February, 2004

8th Aug 2006, 11:33

The seat belt is on recall so you should be able to get that fixed.

1998 Hyundai Tiburon FX 2.0L from North America


Great looking car with much potential


Glove box latch broke.

General Comments:

Really nice car to get around town or jump on the highway with.

It has decent acceleration, and an ample power band.

You also don't see these cars on the road everyday, so it gets a lot of looks.

All around great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2002

1998 Hyundai Tiburon SE 1.6 from North America


Someone crashed into my front drivers side and destroyed my car.

General Comments:

Even though it hit me on the drivers side door at 50 km/h I came out without a scratch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2002

1998 Hyundai Tiburon FX 4 cylinder from North America


Good for looks, bad for safety


Nothing major always good with warranty.

General Comments:

Don't have a front end collision with this car. Especially with anything bigger than a small volkswagon cabrio. Very dangerous in crash. Front end damage in 10 mile rear end crash. Car was totaled, front end dipped under car in front when brakes were applied. Only 150.00 in damage to the car I hit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

23rd May 2003, 00:44

My wife and I bought a 1998 Tiburon F X in Feb. 2001.

I was immediately impressed with the handling and smooth ride. I was really impressed when I drove it on a long straightaway one evening and found that any "add on double side taped antenna" blows off at 135+ MPH. I wasn't impressed with the antenna though because I had to shell out another $35 for a replacement.

Overall, My wife and I feel safer in the Tiburon than we do in my 1980 full size Chev truck.

10th Sep 2010, 08:00

You gotta let that clutch out slower, it's got more pep than you could realize!

1998 Hyundai Tiburon FX 2.0L from North America


A big lemon


Having owned my Tiburon for almost 5 years now, I think I've had just about everything that could go wrong with it, do so. Without boring you with the details, I'll simply list the problems I've had.

Check engine light is always on.

Very rough idle and no power after fill-ups (tank pressure perhaps?)

No squeelers on factory brake pads, causing me to grind right into the rotors without warning.

Cable harness under the dash melted, causing smoke to poor into the cabin

Clear coat flaking off of rear spoiler

Windshield wiper washers strip very easily

Problem with interior light, they don't reliably come on

No headlights (just happened last night, I assume it's the emergency brake switch)

General Comments:

As everyone says, it's a good looking and sporty car, but riddled with problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2002

26th Mar 2008, 19:31

Hey, I have a 98 FX also. I have had a few minor things go wrong, but nothing too bad.

That's weird with your no performance after a fill up; never had that before.

I don't understand the wiper thing, you go through them fast? I don't get the cheapest ones, but also not the most expensive ones, and they last fine. I don't think that has anything to do with the car, it has to do with the ones you buy? I don't know.

Anyways, my OEM brakes had the 'sqeely things' on them; they also lasted me like 185 000km.

26th Mar 2008, 19:35

I also meant to tell you that with the headlights not working, it's likely the relay, mine did the same. If you can don't buy it from dealer, usually they over charge. I bought a bunch of back-up relays from a web site that is in Korea, and is OEM parts, Fourgreenauto. It's way cheaper then the dealership for the same parts, and it only takes like 3-5 days usually to get to your door. We have gotten stuff from them in 2 days before.