2002 Hyundai XG350 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2002 Hyundai XG350 L 3.5 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance40900 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

It's been a very reliable vehicle.

Faults:

We've had good service and performance with our XG350L. My only complaint relates to the alignment. We brought ours home with an alignment issue, brought it up with the dealer who said they didn't find a problem. At 21,000 we were told by the service department that our tires were needing to be replaced - this just after the warranty ran out. Dealer worked with us, replaced the tires for free, and gave us a free alignment. We paid labor.

And, I agree with a previous poster that if you want maintenance work done, it's expensive to get at the dealer. Shop around.

General Comments:

We've had a lot of people comment on how good the car looks and how comfortable it is to sit in.

Both my husband and I love the memory seats. We feel we got a lot of car for not a lot of money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2008

2002 Hyundai XG350 L 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired38 miles
Most recent distance19938 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Intrigue

Summary:

Affordable luxury/sport vehicle

Faults:

I am ready for a third set of tires, with the first set being replaced at 9,000 miles (all feathered - Michelin), and now after another 10,000 miles, they are performing badly and feathered again. I had the most recent set rotated at 5,000 miles. I do not drive aggressively and believe there must be a defect in the wheels which is causing the tires to wear so quickly. They were replaced the first time by Warranty (and a lot of begging and pleading to the less than helpful dealership), we'll see how it goes this time.

The stereo system sounds good, but cannot handle a lot of bass or volume. Disappointing.

The quick acceleration from a dead stop is hard to get used to and I wonder if that is decreasing my MPG to about 23. Not very fuel efficient, but nonetheless..."she goes like crazy"...very zippy and sporty car.

General Comments:

This car is very eye appealing and extremely fun to drive. I have gotten a lot of negative comments about driving a "Hyundai", but I have had more people ask me what kind of car I'm driving, in pure admiration. I am very disappointed with the performance of the tires. Absent that little annoyance, and optimistic hope that the problem will be solved without cost to me, I would most certainly buy another XG350 when mine gets older. It's a very nice car for the $$$ and complete with a lot of bells and whistles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

3rd Sep 2004, 21:39

I agree with the tire frustrations. I had mine replaced at 27,000 miles with Goodyear Assurance Triple Tred's and it is like having a new car.

It handles much better and is a lot more quiet.

Unlike the original equipment Michelin's they have a 80,000 mile warranty.

I am back in love with the car that I saw on the lot. I purchased it because of the look and the price to value for all the options that came along.

Dump the Michelin's ASAP!

2002 Hyundai XG350 L 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

A great bargain right now. Similar to when Honda started in this country

Faults:

After 20000 miles, I have had no major problems with the car. The Back-up lamp had water in it was was quickly replaced.

General Comments:

Complaints:

Personally, I think the car is too fast (yes, really). From a complete stop, it's hard to acelerate in a smooth fashion.

Wish list:

It would be nice id the car CD player would play MP3's.

It would be nice if the alarm would chirp when activated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2003

16th Oct 2004, 23:14

Push the lock button twice on the key fob and the alarm will chirp.

2002 Hyundai XG350 L 3.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Very poor quality control - do not buy it

Faults:

Engine bogs.

Throttle has a mind of it's own - either accelerates too fast or doesn't move at all.

Transmission flares and/or slams into gear.

Left front speaker buzzes.

Wiper switch sticks.

Suspension clunk in front.

Movement (play) in driver's seat.

Paint coming off trim.

Water filled headlight module.

Sun visor broke (twice).

Noisy brakes.

Brake rotors needed machining due to run-out.

Automatic climate control changes speed so often you wonder if it is broke.

More problems than I can list here.

General Comments:

I loved this car when I saw pictures of it in the car magazines. Loved it even more sitting in it at the dealership. The price was so attractive I let it lull me into purchasing this luxury car from a company who, in the past, had quality control problems.

What a mistake. I have had nothing, but problems since purchasing it. Have had it into the dealer a total of 7 times and they still cannot fix the engine bogging problem, plus, when they "reprogram" the throttle they make it worse, the car lunges now when pressing the throttle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

30th Aug 2003, 13:16

I'm surprised to see that the writer had so many problems. I bought a new XG350 in October 2002, it has just over 10,000 miles now. I haven't had any problems whatsoever. I really enjoy this car.

25th Feb 2005, 14:57

I too have issues with my 2002 for:

1. "Throttle has a mind of it's own - either accelerates too fast or doesn't move at all."

2. Suspension clunk in front.

3. Left front speaker buzzes.

4.Paint coming off trim.

They have also never been able to truly fix the "Check engine light" it has had everything changed 3-4 times that can go wrong with that issue and still comes and goes -

I did like the ride initially, but the front suspension has been completely overhauled trying to figure out the clunking noise when going over small bumps and it seems to be an inherent design flaw - I noticed this in several Sonatas they put me in, in my many trips to the service dept.

I hope they work this things out in the 2006 model, as I was not impressed with the 2003 and later model changes in the front-end and wheels - as well the wood grain in the newer models looks really fake now!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews