2004 Hyundai XG350 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2004 Hyundai XG350 L 3.5 Liter V6 DOHC from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Liter V6 DOHC Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Why spend more money on anything else?

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car, it is my second Hyundai, I had a 2003 Sonata before.

General Comments:

Acceleration of the start is quick, would like more horsepower just for bragging rights, but it has plenty. Great styling inside and out. All the bells and whistles of a much more expensive car. Smooth ride and handles well for a sedan. I went from a Honda accord to the Sonata and was very impressed with it so I decided to go all the way with the GX350 and I am riding on cloud 9!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

9th Nov 2005, 17:45

I agree with the person who wrote this accounting.

I bought a 1998 Sonata and put 135,000 miles and then bought a 2005 SG350. I believe that this is the car to go with.

6th Dec 2009, 00:49

I did the same. Went from an Accord to a Sonata GLX and now to the XG350. Next stop is a Hyundai Azeera.

2004 Hyundai XG350 L 3.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance1400 miles
Previous carToyota Avalon

Summary:

A real bargain in the near-luxury market

Faults:

I've had the car about five weeks, and all is well.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable and acceleration is quick for its weight. Gas mileage is lower than I'd like, averaging about 21 miles per gallon so far. I replaced the stereo speakers to improve the sound. My only two gripes are that the auto-sensing headlights need a delay factor built in, and the memory seats and mirrors only work if you set the emergency brake upon exiting the car (dumb). We're coming from a Toyota Avalon, a very comfortable and reliable car. We did it because the XG350 was over $8,000 cheaper. So far, so good. We are pleased with our choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2004

2nd Apr 2004, 12:38

Don't worry about the gas mileage, it's usually a little poor after any car is brand new. You just need to break the engine in. :)

-Kirk.

16th May 2004, 22:13

Resale is always a consideration with a car purchase. So is the quality of materials.

27th Dec 2005, 21:48

I have the L model. Watch the tire's.My tires went bold at 29000 miles.

26th Apr 2006, 14:29

Resale may not be as good as the Honda, but I don't care for Honda, and I don't plan on selling the XG350. Resale is probably not very good due to the "Brand Label" or perception.

I am willing to give this care a chance, I love mine.

29th Dec 2008, 15:05

I bought my 2004 XG350L 2 years ago as I drive a great deal. So far I've replaced 4 tires, had to get a new seal for the power steering, new brakes, and head lights. the mileage is poor, about 450 kilometres for a tank, it shudders a bit above 120kms but I really like the car, the bells and whistles, the heated seats and the price I paid for it. I'm over 200,000 kms and all seems well. A good car, great value and yes, the ladies like it.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 10 reviews