2003 Infiniti FX35 Reviews

2003 Infiniti FX35 3.8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance41279 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

The best performance SUV you can buy!

Faults:

Driver Seat track was bent causing the seat to jiggle when I sat in it.

General Comments:

The FX has superior performance to any SUV that I have driven. It will run circles around most vehicles and never break a sweat.

I love the shape of my FX. It looks like a show car and seems to be moving even when it is sitting still.

I get about 16/22 cty/hwy and I wish it was better, but I am not surprised or disapointed with the mileage I am getting. After all, it is a performance SUV not a hybrid.

My only complaint is getting in and out of the truck is difficult because the seat sits a good distance away from the door, forcing the occupants to slide across the side bolster to get out. I am afraid of what will happen down the road after years of usage, but so far, no problems other than slight wrinkling of the leather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2006

31st Aug 2009, 22:38

Interesting comment about having to slide across the seat, and wondering about how well the leather will hold up over the years. It's 2009 and I'm looking at 2006 and 2007 models, and have noticed in several of them, the leather on the driver's seat side bolster is worn thin and often looks distressed and damaged. Your comment may explain what causes that damage. Wonder if Infiniti addressed this issue in recent years with better-wearing leather or by revising the position of the seat?

2003 Infiniti FX35 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Love this Car..

Faults:

Disc brakes had to be replaced at 20k miles (Dealer replaced for free because of defective calipers on recall). Rear hatch was replaced on recall. CD changer had to be replaced and the sun roof control switch had to be replaced also. All these items were serviced by the dealer with no out of pocket cost to me. The service more than made up for the inconvenience.

General Comments:

The fit and finish is first class.

The performance and handling is second to none, in it's price range.

The "WOW" factor still surprises me even after driving it for 3 years now.

The paint and interior is wearing very well, most people think it's a new car.

World class breaks.

Awesome stereo, 6 disk player in dash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2006

15th Feb 2007, 18:27

Lol. It's not a car. It's a SUV.

2003 Infiniti FX35 FX 280 hp V 6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 280 hp V 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Love the car, HATE the drivers seat

Faults:

The drivers seat is very uncomfortable. There is a metal bar that supports the seat function buttons that pushes up against my hip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th September, 2005

25th Oct 2005, 14:43

How big are you? I have the 05 and find the drivers seat to be very comfortable and with 5 adjustment buttons hard to imagine not being comfortable.

15th Mar 2006, 20:52

I'm 6', 230lbs., and it took me a while to get the right seat adjustment figured out too.

It's more of a sports car seat, and once you get it right, set the memory!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 3 reviews