2002 Infiniti G20 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2002 Infiniti G20 2.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Fantastic looks at Altima prices!

Faults:

Nothing; Only regular maintenance. I replaced the original brakes at 74,000 miles! Replaced the battery at 72,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the best car I've ever owned, love it! However: Nothing is perfect, they're costly to keep up. Oil changes are more expensive than other vehicles, and so are other things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2007

8th Jul 2007, 03:44

The Infiniti dealer service prices are extremely high. You can go to Nissan and generally get better deals. Or better yet, DIY. An oil change using conventional oil (which is what Jiffy Lube and other chains use) with OEM oil filter bought online will run you about 20 dollars and take 15 minutes. Synthetic + oil filter will run you about 35.

12th Jul 2007, 18:56

No need to pay the dealer for an oil change. Find a local independent mechanic and an oil change will run you about 19-20 dollars. As much as the dealership wants you to think otherwise, there's nothing special or different about the G20's powertrain that would require more expensive services. It's actually the same engine used in some models of the Nissan Sentra!

8th Apr 2012, 10:25

This car is very easy to change the oil yourself. I buy Nissan filters and synthetic oil. I have a 170 xxx kms car that doesn't burn any oil. A lot of the repairs on this car can be done by yourself also.

2002 Infiniti G20 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carAcura MDX

Summary:

Nice well-built car, comfortable and reliable, but somewhat under-powered

Faults:

Very reliable in this mid-mileage range.

General Comments:

Purchased this car in 2004 when our daughter left for college and we no longer needed the room of our Acura MDX. Also had sold a pop-up trailer and no longer needed a vehicle capable of towing it. The Infinity was selected because it offered a similar level of creature comforts (leather, Bose stereo, climate control and power everything), but had a fuel-efficient 4 cylinder engine.

I like the styling, air dams, alloy wheels, overall lines of the car. Very comfortable and well built. Leather seats are comfortable on long trips. Generally handles very well, but the suspension does not take bumps well. Have to slow WAY down for speed bumps.

Sound system works well, but could use a subwoofer as bass is all the way up for most CDs. Road noise is minimal. Moon roof operates well, but don't drive with open over 45 mph unless you enjoy a wind tunnel. Climate control is a little uneven and does not compare favorably with that in the Acura MDX. I frequently have to make manual adjustments to mode, fan speed, etc. whereas the in Acura I just set it and drove.

Gas mileage is good; about 26 MPG in town and up to 35 on the highway. However, the car is underpowered, even compared to other 4 cylinder models I've owned (we currently also have a Subaru Forester and Nissan Sentra, both standard transmission, both better performers). May be the auto transmission gear ratios. Seems to take forever to get from 0 to 50 MPH. A standard transmission would probably be a significant improvement, as would, I suspect, the turbo model (G20T). I would consider buying another G20, if standard transmission and/or turbo model. Unfortunately, Infinity is catering to the gas-guzzling habits of us Americans and no longer even makes a car with a 4-cylinder engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2006

23rd Jul 2007, 17:07

G20t is a "touring" model not the turbo model. I don't think they made factory G20 Turbos although many folks have put turbos in them since their engines (SR20) are in many nissan vehicles... they even have their own forum.

2002 Infiniti G20 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles

Summary:

This car represents who I am

Faults:

There is a squeaking sound in one wheel that we can't figure out just yet. It's pretty loud. Brakes are fine as well as other major parts in that area.

General Comments:

I love my little G20. It comes with a few luxury items. Leather seats, power drivers seat, and I really enjoy the Bose sound system.

Gas mileage is okay. Handles well and is pretty smooth driving.

It is a classic body style that will not date itself.

The one negative is that it is hard for my husband and 6 foot 3 inch son to drive or ride in. It's a bit small for them. Great for me though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2005

8th Apr 2012, 10:27

I guarantee that sound from the wheel is your upper control arm. Changed a few on my G20's.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 5 reviews