1999 Infiniti I30 Reviews

1999 Infiniti I30 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance133333 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

I would buy another Infiniti

Faults:

The trouble I'm having is with the blinking air bag light. I used the reset fixed from February 17 2006 and it worked. Other than that, the car has been pretty reliable.

General Comments:

The 1999 Infiniti I30 that I own is not the most exciting car on the market, but it has all the bells and whistles, and gets decent gas mileage and is very dependable.

Good owners manual, which helps with basic maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2009

1999 Infiniti I30 Touring (I30t) 3.0 liter from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Classy

Faults:

Mass air flow sensor at approximately 105,000 miles.

One oxygen sensor (can't remember when it was replaced).

Other than oil and tires, it's been a great car!

General Comments:

It's been a great car. Exactly what I hoped for when I decided to purchase an Infiniti.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2009

1999 Infiniti I30 t Nissan 6 cylinder 3.2L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Nissan 6 cylinder 3.2L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance177000 miles
Previous carInfiniti I30

Summary:

No major problems yet that have required work

Faults:

When my 1999 I30t had about 70K miles, the service engine soon light came on -- and is still on at 177K. No performance issues were experienced, so I figured it was probably a sensor. Occasionally, the light would go off but come on again within a day. I ignore it. Now the air bag light flashes. I do not plan to replace the air bag due to cost because it is 10 years old and still runs great -- other than normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

Car handles well.

Gets good gas mileage.

Normal wear and tear only.

Interior looks great after 177K miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2009

1999 Infiniti I30 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

The car is expensive to own, but it pays off in the long run

Faults:

Coils have gone bad on three different occasions.

Transmission had a slight leak.

General Comments:

Car is ten years old and still runs strong.

Car parts are very expensive and I have fixed a lot, but nothing has ever led me to break down or make a major repair.

Car is very reliable.

Handles very well on open road, but not in the snow.

The older Infinities are much better built than the new ones.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2009

1999 Infiniti I30 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Faults:

Airbag Sensor Light

Thank you. I was able to follow the quick-fix to reset the air-bag blinking light problem. I got out of paying for only the diagnostics charge $100, at the dealership. The cost was $675. After reading and following the procedure, I saved $575.

While the car is off, open the door, and turn the key to the on position and press the door side switch at LEAST 7 times.

- After doing that, wait one second.

- Close the door, move the key back to the LOCK position and then start the engine.

If this doesn't work for you, scroll down to another testimony, and perhaps that procedure will work for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2007

1999 Infiniti I30 I30t 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Appearance isn't everything

Faults:

1. Ignition coils have repeatedly failed.

2. EGR valves fail excessively.

3. Now all the dash LEDS (radio, OAT gauge) are going out.

General Comments:

1. Car looks stylish even at 8 years old

2. Handles very well.

3. Rides well.

4. Looks and feels like a luxury car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2007

1999 Infiniti I30 3.8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

It is well worth the money

Faults:

It's been basically carefree driving up until the 100k mark - just oil changes, battery & brakes & tires. We've replaced the oxygen sensor and radiator recently.

General Comments:

There has not been one day that the car has not been driven since we've owned it. I wish we could buy a new Infiniti (too expensive right now). It has been a great car considering the miles we have put on it. It is comfortable and handles like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2005

1999 Infiniti I30 I30T 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carInfiniti G20

Summary:

Reliable, fairly fun to drive and solid

Faults:

At around 68,000 miles, engine light indicated faulty ignition coils.

I appealed to Infiniti since the car was out of warranty and they paid for the entire $800 repair.

The leather center arm rest wore out; same as customer care as above.

Dealer charged me (in my opinion) too much for complete brake job and 75K service.

At 90,000 miles, I decided to seek other service alternatives rather than dealer.

So far, it appears to me a good decision.

Some minor electrical problems; all resolved quickly.

General Comments:

This is my second new Infiniti with a 5 speed.

First was a '92 G20 which I maintained purely with the dealer and sold @ 120,000 miles with all records. The buyer I heard loved the car, as I did.

I plan on keeping this one at least until 125,000 miles if not longer. I keep my cars well maintained, but the 5-speed in an I30 is VERY rare, so resale will be slim.

Still though, I like the "cache" more than it's twin Maxima and you can't bet the brand for customer service and reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2005

26th Sep 2005, 00:57

I have a 2000 Infiniti I30t with 61,500 miles on it. At 59,000 miles the "service engine soon" light came on. The remedy was to have the 60,000 mile servicing performed.

At 61,000 miles, the "service engine soon" light came on again. The dealer's service department advised that I needed a heated oxygen sensor, an oxygen sensor and 6 new ignition coil assemblies - total of $1157 using a 15% discount coupon.

I complained to Infiniti Corporation that this was too soon in the life of the car for these parts to fail. Besides being a good Nissan customer (owning 5 prior Nissan cars), I have never had a problem like this before.

Contacted back by phone from Customer Service Rep from Infiniti Corporation and was told, "sorry, your warranty has expired. We will not do anything for you".

Made me feel real good to know that I spent $32,000 on a car whose quality is worse than that of the cheapest cars on the market today.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews