1997 Infiniti J30 Reviews

1997 Infiniti J30 J30t from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carInfiniti J30

Summary:

Very comfortable, sexy and smooth

Faults:

Transmission went bad 107,000 miles after I got it, but after that it's been a great vehicle.

It's a keeper; I really enjoy having it and driving it. I'm pleased with its performance, I plan to keep this car as long as it allows me to, and or the wheels fall off! A J30 is the safest way to go.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, sexy and smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2010

1997 Infiniti J30 I4 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission I4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles

Summary:

It'll get up and go in style!

Faults:

One of the clamps holding the muffler in place was rusted and rattling, but that's not a big deal. Got it removed for free by a local mechanic and was all better.

It stalled often in reverse if I didn't use the pedal, and idled very low, sometimes almost stalling in park.

General Comments:

This car was super reliable and will get you anywhere you need to go. Be wary if you wreck it though (like I did) because fixing it will cost you a pretty penny.

It is very comfortable though, with its leather seats and cold blowing A/C. It's very quick for its age and not TOO much of a gas guzzler. I'm guessing about 20 mpg city.

Being my first car, I enjoyed it very much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2010

1997 Infiniti J30 t from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

I will stick with Infiniti when this car wears out someday!

Faults:

Had the check engine light come on and the car would not shift into Overdrive. Code error PO705. Discovered that the Park position on shifter has a switch that is normally closed until placed in Park (get at the switch by removing the shift stick from the console - 4 bolts). Contact evidently weakened on the switch, reading 20 ohms in closed Drive position. Cleaned contacts and Overdrive began working again. Then reset the Check Engine light at the local auto parts store. All is well since. Only other problem I have had is the power steering boots wore out early ($300 to replace at dealership).

General Comments:

My 1997 J30t is a very reliable car. I have done most maintenance myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2007

1997 Infiniti J30 t from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Shift=styling, built quality, reliable, safe... etc

General Comments:

Wow I've never seen a more praised car on car-survey, and my comment won't make any difference because like others, I think the J30 is a great car.

I am privileged to own a 1997 J30t; the final year they were made, and of course the top of the line touring edition.

What's good about the J30 is that it is solidly built. If you get in an accident, there's a huge likely-hood that the other car will suffer greater damage. The interior has a cabin-like feel to it... you just feel safe.

Another thing is that they are very reliable cars. Personally for me I think they could be a little more refine as far as engine smoothness, off the line acceleration, and quietness. You will notice a significant driving performance difference between any model/year Maximas 1990 or later and the J30, with the Maxima having a competitive edge, but that's apart from the point.

The J30s are great sedans with a unique styling that never seem to age. However, I would agree with all comments indicating that they are extremely expensive to maintain, especially when it comes to buying parts and performing the services, because they are very technical and specially made.

I would recommend this car to anyone buying a car, and I'm not associated with Nissan in anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2007

1997 Infiniti J30 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired14000 miles

Summary:

I love my J 30

Faults:

I purchased a 1997 J 30 last year and I love this car. Recently I have had some problems with the both the headlights and tail lights blinking once or twice and then it stops. Sometimes the lights don't blink at all. I had asked a mechanic that was changing my oil to take a look at it and he said it was called a flasher. I went to and auto parts store and asked for the flasher and they gave me the part. I brought the piece to a local mechanic and he said that he couldn't find the where that flasher went because he did not have a manual for my vehicle. The other mechanic said he didn't think the piece I had was the right piece anyway. Does anyone have any idea what the problem may be and how I can go about fixing it. Any sugesstions would be greatly appreciated. Please send suggestions to b_reel37@hotmail.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2006

22nd Apr 2007, 21:00

Did you ever find out how to fix your flasher problem? I'am having the same problem with my J30.How did you fix it? Email me at mikenice60@yahoo.com.

1997 Infiniti J30 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

A comfortable and quick mid-size car with a different look

Faults:

The sunroof wouldn't open/close without manual assistance at 40K miles.

There was a problem with the fuel injectors at 50K miles.

General Comments:

The build quality is very good: it still feels solid.

The road handling is excellent, but the steering is a bit light for my taste. The engine/transmission yields plenty of power, but can be a bit loud.

The seats are outstanding, both front and rear, although the rear space is a bit tight for large adults. The interior is nice and simple.

The trunk size is small, but deep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2004

1997 Infiniti J30 Standard 3.x liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Standard 3.x liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired43500 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carPontiac 1997 Pontiac Grand A

Summary:

A good entry level, used luxury car

Faults:

There was a plastic liner around the windshield that started to pop off on one corner. This was a very minor defect.

General Comments:

The car gets about 18 - 22 miles per gallon. For the performance that it has, I feel like this is very low. This is no performance machine though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2003

1997 Infiniti J30 3.0 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired37850 miles
Most recent distance38660 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

We got a lot of car for a very good price

Faults:

We have had the car for only one month and so far we have not experienced any problems.

General Comments:

The car gets much better gas mileage on the highway than in town. Although the same could be said for virtually every car, there was a big difference with this vehicle.

The car's handling is exceptional. It is a real pleasure to drive.

The interior is very comfortable and in immaculate condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2002

28th Jan 2007, 14:12

Recommended for a first car? I'm looking for a 1997 J30 in black with black leather for under $7k.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews