1991 Infiniti Q45 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1991 Infiniti Q45 Base 4.5 Quad Cam V8 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.5 Quad Cam V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

Cheap, fun, fast, comfortable car

Faults:

We bought the car with a bad engine and replaced the engine. The replacement engine blew in less than 1,000 miles. Then replaced it a second time, this all costing more than three times the amount paid for the car. Only paid $1,000 for it.

General Comments:

The engine is a beast, definitely a best in class.

Transmission is awful with it's second gear starts, but feels good in traffic.

The front seats are a bit too firm, back seats a bit too soft.

The climate control system works wonderfully.

It's extremely quiet at low speeds however there is wind noise at higher speeds.

For being such a big car it's a blast to drive, all the drive-train feels more like it belongs to a sports car. Actually handles better and drives faster than my last car, a 300ZX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2004

12th Nov 2004, 21:38

You only paid how much? Either someone sold you a stolen car, or an insurance writeoff or some other horrible catastrophe, you would certainly have paid more than 1000 for a Q45. The motor alone is probably worth 2 or 3 grand at least.

12th Jul 2007, 14:22

I owned a 1990 Infiniti Q45. I considered a Lexus LS400 (also a great car) but preferred the sportier character and performance of the Q45. The interior was clean, contemporary and focused the driver's attention on the road. The ride was smooth, quiet with plenty of power for passing or brisk accelaration. Handling was on par with BMW. Reliability was on par with Honda, Nissan, or Toyota. At first I took the car to Infiniti for service ($$$) but soon learned Nissan could work on it for much less. Eventually, I found a mechanic I could trust and saved even more money on regular maintence. I sold the car in 2003 with 120k miles. I miss the car.

1991 Infiniti Q45 Standard standard from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission standard Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carInfiniti Q45

Summary:

Not bad, woul be better if we had a good infiniti dealership that wouldn't rip you off

Faults:

My transmission went-up at 70,000 miles.

My fuel pump at 110,000

My water pump at 112,000

Got both jobs done together for roughly

$500.00 at Mr tire.

Dealer, well at least the one in the Baltimore area are crooked.

I have a fuel problem when the Temp is below 45 deg. I smell fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th April, 2003

1991 Infiniti Q45 4.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carInfiniti Q45

Summary:

Nice nice nice

Faults:

Alternator at 119000, Thermostat at 110000, 115000 fan blower.

General Comments:

It is a great car. I love it. It does make you feel like your sitting on a time bomb (Transmission, Time belt). I do not have any problems with the transmission and that is all you ever hear about. I bought the car for a good price $3450.00 and have spent about $650.00 for the things that went wrong. Try to do all the repairs yourself, the dealer will take your last dollar!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2002

13th May 2003, 17:09

Try buying a Mercedees for this price, and not spending $5,000 to $10,000 for maintenance.

28th Nov 2005, 13:48

I think the Mercedes compliment was simply saying that the Q45 was great because it rivals Mercedes and BMW's, but is far cheaper to maintain. It was made to compete with them you know, i.e.; its autobahn capabilities and German labeling on underhood items. ;)

18th Apr 2006, 14:48

I just bought 1 for 3500 and its rips it drifts anything and everything.. I had a problem with the ecu at 99991.

1991 Infiniti Q45 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carFord Truck

Summary:

Fantastic performance and style for the money

Faults:

Master brake cylinder, 60k.

Sun roof (electrical), 45k.

A/C, 90k.

Driver's side (leather) seat starting to show wear, 100k.

Fiberglass/plastic body parts started chipping (paint), 100k.

General Comments:

This is a fantastic car! Best car bar-none I've owned. When we bought it (pre-owned) we had no plans to keep it longer than a few years. We've now had it since 1994 with *no* plans for the near future to sell. Upsides; performance, performance, performance, Bose Sound System, smooth lines, timeless style. Downside; repair costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2001

1991 Infiniti Q45 Touring 4.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 4.5
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Faults:

The only problem I have had with mine is I had to get a new master cylinder for the brakes, which cost $150 to have installed at a local shop. The shop guys told me that parts for the earlier 91s are much cheaper than parts for the later models.

Also, if you want to replace your radio head unit, you have to replace all speakers as well.

General Comments:

The engine is truly remarkable and smooth, even after 120,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 1999

1991 Infiniti Q45 4.5L V8 32V from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 4.5L V8 32V
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10

Faults:

O2 sensors and fuel pressure regulator needed replacing after 100K miles, no other problems. Fast, reliable, and comfortable, average MPG 20.

General Comments:

Outstanding car, no need to rely on dealership for service, easy to order parts, minor repairs can be done by owner (a very detailed service manual was included), good sound system and CD changer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

12th Feb 2004, 06:04

You mentioned that the car manual was good, I have a 1991 Q45 and I no longer have the manual, any Idea where I could get one?

Thanks

Laura.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews