Isuzu I-Mark Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1987 Isuzu I-Mark S 1.5L non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Cheap, reliable, and fun to drive

Faults:

The usual things that go wrong with a fifteen-year old car.

Replaced struts, alternator, other minor engine components.

Rebuilt the carburetor.

General Comments:

This is a wonderful car. The handling is excellent. It accelerates quickly and can stop just as fast. The gas mileage is exceptional.

The car has continued to perform well, despite the abuse that it receives. It has never broken down, (unlike the Honda), and anything that has broken can be fixed quite easily.

Finding parts is sometimes difficult, since it is somewhat uncommon, but it is not impossible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2002

1989 Isuzu I-Mark RS 1.6 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance264500 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A true sports\economy bargain

Faults:

I had to replace the rear shocks and rear brakes when I purchased it.

I also had to replace front brake pads and machine the rotors as they tend to warp from enthusiastic driving.

Also the ignition control module has been replaced twice.

It has been a very reliable vehicle for me.

General Comments:

This car is an absolute thrill to drive. It has abundant power and ability in the corners. Traction in mud and snow is poor and ground clearance issues limit driving over snow too deep. It is very comfortable on long trips and fun on short jaunts. I would absolutely buy one again and plan on keeping mine until it is worn out beyond repair. At 35 miles per gallon I can't compain about economy either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2002

1988 Isuzu I-Mark XS Non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Non turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired500000 miles
Most recent distance900000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

The Most Reliable car I have ever seen

Faults:

I have owned 3 1988 Isuzu I-Marks, if that tells you how much I love them. The first one's timing belt snapped and I lost it, the second one the head gasket blew, and now I have another.

General Comments:

These cars have proved reliable for many years to me and my family, I would suggest anyone who wants a nice, reliable car tat is cheap and easy to maintain to get one and I'm sure you'll love them as much as I do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2002

3rd Jun 2003, 08:22

Has this car really gone that many miles, 900,000?

1986 Isuzu I-Mark S 1.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

Very sporty yet rather fuel efficient

Faults:

So far only minor things like a tire. this car is VERY reliable. in the 15 years it has been running no major repairs have EVER been done to it!! My grandmother had it before me and she had no problems at all. I hope I don't!

General Comments:

This car is very sporty yet fuel efficient! this car belonged to my grandmother for 15 years and now it is my first car. I have loved it since I was little and my grandma had it! I remember her driving me around in it and me just loving it!

This car is a perfect first car because the speed isn't very high, the gas mileage is great, and last, but not least it is sporty! i would recommend this car to any first time buyer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2002

1989 Isuzu I-Mark RS 1.6L DOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6L DOHC turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Very high performance, low profile

Faults:

This car has been flawless since I bought it, with only basic maintenance (oil changes, lube's, new tires) it has never had a single problem!

The left indicator relay also isn't working very well, but again that is a minor problem.

I do have to say that the plastic covers on the seat belt clips aren't very good, they break all the time. I just got some from an Acura and put them on the belt, and it looks great.

General Comments:

This car has a Lotus suspension & drivetrain. It takes corners better than any car I have ever driven. It has excellent take off and more than enough power. I love the shifting in it too, it reminds me of a Honda when I shift, that clean easy shift feeling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2001

1981 Isuzu I-Mark LS Coupe (Gemini) 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Fox

Summary:

Cheap, reliable transport

Faults:

Heater core has a small leak.

Drivers side seat rail partially broke (easy to fix).

Thermostatic fan clutch failed, another expensive part.

Water pump was wrecked when the fan clutch failed, not too expensive.

Front brake caliper seized and had to be replaced.

Carburettor is worn and I had to add a spring to the throttle linkage so the car would idle at the right RPMs.

General Comments:

This car is pretty low-tech (mid-1970s technology), but it is tough, can really absorb a lot of abuse, and is amazingly reliable considering its age. During the time I've had it, I've really had to put very little money into fixing it.

Small, not very comfortable or luxurious, but great transportation.

These rear-drive I-Marks are not very common in the U.S., but they're excellent cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

17th Oct 2006, 16:51

These cars were basically the same as the earlier ('75-79) Buick Opels, and very similar to the Chevette; most Isuzus gave you this, a rare car with common GM mechanical parts.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 13 reviews