1990 Isuzu Impulse Reviews

1990 Isuzu Impulse XS 1.6 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 litre Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 kilometres
Most recent distance276000 kilometres
Previous carDatsun 310

Summary:

Best buy I ever made

Faults:

Read driver side wheel bearing

Struts need replacing

Small rust holes after 13 years.

General Comments:

Everything works and so little has gone wrong it's hardly worth mentioning. It still handles well and runs great with no sign of letting up.

The back seat is a joke (cramped) but this car is built like a tank and if you can find a low mileage one, get it.

(This car is outdoors all year)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

7th Apr 2004, 06:34

I just bought a 1990 XS. Love it. Needs paint. Has only 94K. Hope it will last a while. Some college chic owned it, makes me nervous. Hear a small knock in the front end, but at 80MPH the car drove smoothly. Paid 1000 for it.

17th May 2005, 09:01

I bought a 1990 Isuzu Impulse for $500. It has 195,000+ miles and still runs strong. One of the previous owners raced it; many of the miles are hard driven at high rpm's. This is definitely a great car.

1990 Isuzu Impulse from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired208000 kilometres
Most recent distance208900 kilometres
Previous carMercury Capri

Summary:

Worth spending money for...

Faults:

Needs a tune up.

General Comments:

This car is so sweet. Lots of compliments, girls love it and holy crap this car is fast! Definitely buy one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2001

1990 Isuzu Impulse XS 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

High reving gear grabbing fun... Girls love it

Faults:

Timing belt broke at 144,000km.

Rear wiper motor at 80,000.

General Comments:

The car was given to me from my father and if maintained is very reliable.

Fast, handles excellently, cheap to run and one of a kind.

It is a real head turner.

Honda's, Berreta's, Sunfire GT's are left behind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2000

2nd Oct 2001, 20:39

I also have a 1990 Isuzu Impulse XS with a manual tranny. I acquired this car about 5 years ago and I tell everyone that I will NEVER sell the car (even though I have had serious offers for it from several people). All in all, the car is very reliable, has great performance and still looks as good as the newer cars. I highly recommend it.

25th Sep 2002, 22:35

I have a 91' impulse "wagonback". I only had this car for 4 weeks, I'm trying to get in touch with people who owns the same car. my e-mail is miyoyo1@excite.com I live in new york.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 3 reviews