1991 Isuzu Impulse Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1991 Isuzu Impulse XS 1.6 inline 4, DOHC 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 inline 4, DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired211000 kilometres
Most recent distance215700 kilometres

Summary:

If the XS is this good, imagine how amazing the RS would be!

Faults:

Clutch went at 212000km, being it was the original.

Front shocks.

CV boots.

Bushing in the shifter assembly went.

Ring gear broke when the clutch went.

Very loud, as a result of the down pipe having holes in it.

General Comments:

Very precise handling, sometimes unpredictable in the wet and snow, very.

Good in braking and acceleration. Sounds good with an aftermarket air intake.

Filter. And looks amazing with custom rims. The front seats are very comfortable as for the back seats, lets just say it shouldn't have back seats.

Everyone loves the unique styling.

Plans are to race it in SOLO racing, or Rallies.

My next car hopefully will be the Impulse RS (Turbo) that packs 30hp more than the XS, and plan to race it "hard core" in SOLO and/or Rallies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2001

14th Apr 2001, 17:16

I have an 1991 Isuzu Impulse XS also. I have owned many sporty cars (Saab, BMW, etc) and I think that my Isuzu Impulse is by far the best handling car that I have ever had. I would recommend it to anyone.

13th Aug 2004, 23:15

I agree with the main reviewer and the first comment. This car handles beautifully; I'm still on the original clutch at 160,000 miles; it's a blast to drive, it is easy on gas, and only now after 13 years I'm starting to think (with great sadness) of retiring it. The only serious problems I had with it were caused by incompetent mechanics.

I wish they still made 'em.

8th Mar 2005, 07:39

Hi.

I am having a hard time finding parts for my Impulse. The steering hose is leaking. Any suggestions?

9th Nov 2005, 10:55

Hi, I would also appreciate any information on the power steering system as I also have a bad leak. Thanks.

6th Dec 2005, 09:42

The RS has 160hp instead of 110hp to my best knowledge. It's also inter cooled and AWD.

7th May 2006, 19:50

I have a 91 "wagon-back" version and am needing to sell it. Any suggestions as to a good marketing strategy? I live on Vancouver Island.

12th May 2006, 09:52

To the 7th of May commenter, I would suggest Autotrader.ca.

1991 Isuzu Impulse RS AWD turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 kilometres
Most recent distance196000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Too bad they don't make them anymore!

Faults:

2 timing belts.

2 turbo hoses.

Struts.

Brake calipers.

2 cam sensors.

General Comments:

Good small car. Performance is good considering the size of the engine. Torture this car daily and I am surprised it can handle it. Love the all wheel drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2001

28th Jul 2001, 23:45

I had a 91 Impulse XS, It was fast and I could only imagine it with a turbo, not even counting the performance upgrades and exhaust changes you could do. My only complaint about the car would be that it is quite small with me being 6'3".

1991 Isuzu Impulse RS 1.6 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance21000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A rare pocket rocket that's for keeps

Faults:

Not much. Minor items, small oil leaks, annoying sounds when going over bumps from the rear passenger side shock area.

General Comments:

Handles very well. Garage kept since birth. Excellent off the line response and torque.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2001

2nd Mar 2006, 17:31

Hey Guys- I just got one and Love it too. Left front strut is real bad and engine has a knock due to loss of oil from hole in line w/last owner all new lines now. Color Blue and would like to see pics of yours! contact if You like

kquinn7@frontiernet.net.

16th Mar 2006, 19:02

Hey guys

I owned a '91 impulse, in Canada, and one thing to note. Any noise from the motor, knocking sounds, can be serious. The Isuzu Dealer claimed it to be a lack of oil at some time and resulted in a poor valve/stem. I replaced the motor three weeks later, after the timing Chain 'exploded' and distroyed the valves and just about everything in its' way.

Not all problems are exactly the same, but another Dealer (of course I never returned to the original dealer) claimed the Timing Chain was an issue in this model.??? hope to be of some help.

1991 Isuzu Impulse RS 1.6 turbo DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carToyota GT4 (AWD)

Summary:

Awesome AWD turbo pocket rocket with a big hatch

Faults:

This AWD car is used for rallying and therefore sees severe duty and is highly modified. However, even in its stock form the car was very reliable.

CAM angle sensor and alternator were only problems before going racing. The car has completed two seasons of competition, 10 rallies, without a single failure of ANY major component. Maintenance was diligent however with complete inspections and fluid changes monthly.

General Comments:

Awesome car for snow, gravel and general tarmac duty. Very fast and more fun to drive than my Porsche 944 Turbo (not nearly as fast of course).

Lots of aftermarket support, even though there are only 800 of them in the world. If you get one, take care of it and keep the faith.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2000

15th Nov 2004, 19:57

I have a 91 Impulse also, and I'm loving it. I've done some minor modifications to mine, but I would love to see what you have done to yours, write sometime.

bradenscreed@hotmail.com

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 10 reviews