Isuzu MU Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1995 Isuzu MU 3.1 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 kilometres
Most recent distance104000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Excellent for off road if modified slightly

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

Excellent vehicle off-road

Easy to modify, we have already done a 30mm body lift and a 35mm suspension lift

Has 31" Hankook mud tyres, but is getting some 33" mud tyres soon

Custom manufactured fiber glass snorkel

Sill protectors bolted to chassis

Going to make new set of bull bars

Looking at ARB air locker in the future.

Highly recommend to anyone who is looking to get into 4WDing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2003

19th Feb 2010, 15:04

Hi everyone. I have got a 3.1 Mu on a 95, and it's fantastic for offroading. I have massive 17s on her, and she doesn't get stuck anywhere. I really like it; one of the best I've had, but could do with a decent front bumper, but can't find one anywhere, so if anyone knows where I could get one made, it would be appreciated.

Thanks, mike.

1990 Isuzu MU 2.8 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 kilometres
Most recent distance71000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

A nice compromise vehicle for two people

Faults:

Leaking main oil seal at 65000 km.

The above also caused the clutch to fail at the same time.

Handbrake seized (off) at 70000 km.

Both front Constant Velocity joints at 68000 km.

General Comments:

Very agile on and off road, although body roll at speed is disconcerting.

A bit lacking when it comes to sheer grunt on the road.

Off road it has all the torque you will need.

Deceptively large cabin - I have taken out the rear seats - plenty of room for a fortnights holiday junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

1996 Isuzu MU 3.1 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Serena

Summary:

Good on/off road compromise

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Pleasing shape, face-lifted dash is a major improvement. Seats are hard and rear headroom is for dwarfs.

Strong and reliable mechanicals, reasonable economy (approx 30mpg), effortless cruiser, but lots of roll through the corners and the brakes aren't overly powerful.

Haven't done much off-road yet, but it's certainly not short of power in low-range.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

1992 Isuzu MU hard top 2.8 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Sierra

Summary:

A good all-round performer

Faults:

Exhaust gas return valves failed and were replaced with secondhand.

Injectors are currently showing signs of wear.

Constantly tightening bolts etc due to typical diesel shaking.

Electric door switches have perished on both sides, though easily replaced.

General Comments:

Beautiful to drive on the highway.

Economical 750 k's from a full tank.

Interior is immaculate and hasn't faded or worn in the time I have had it.

Routine replacement of consumables such as battery, radiator and brakes, nothing untimely.

This model is thoroughly covered with bash-plates for radiator, sump and transfer case.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2003

15th Apr 2005, 03:48

Hi,

I have recently purchased a mu myself and I was wondering if you have put a body lift on yours, as it is an automatic transmission, and I was seeing if it is still able to be done as the ones I have seen with body lifts are all manuals.

Cheers.

24th May 2006, 16:21

Hi,

I have recently purchased a 3.1L turbo diesel automatic MU.

I am only getting 400-450klms per tank driving long distances.

I have heard that I should get a lot more and have seen the reviews and they say that I should as well. Is there something I should look into to find out why this is happening? Also I am having trouble with the air-conditioning. It works when it wants to then blows hot air at other times. Any suggestions?

16th Jun 2006, 03:28

Does anyone know where I can get a replacement hardtop for the 1994 Isuzu MU? I am talking about the hard top that curves downward.

I am quite desperate to find one of these replacement hard-tops. Thanks.

6th Sep 2006, 00:29

Try the website: www.clubisuzu.com and go to forums. There is an abundance of information on there to help any Isuzu owner.

1994 Isuzu MU 3.1 TD from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 3.1 TD Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance90800 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

Crap

Faults:

The head gasket blew, Cooking the engine - NZ$3000 not including labour.

Turbo shredded itself.

Sump punctured twice off-road.

General Comments:

Engine is reliable although it guzzles the diesel something terrible.

The engine oil sump is very exposed, and has twice been punctured by logs while off-roading.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2003

31st Aug 2003, 23:17

Put a sump gaurd on like me and you will have no problems and I've been off roading in my MU for 4 years.

The heads are expensive, but generally the 3.1 motor is bullet proof.

Mike.

27th Aug 2004, 03:15

The 3.1 aren't that great however the 2.8 are bullet proof and cheap to run.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 10 reviews