1993 Isuzu Rodeo Reviews

1993 Isuzu Rodeo S 3.2 liter V6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.2 liter V6 Manual
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance166000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Amigo

Summary:

Glad I bought it... sorry to give it up

Faults:

Purchased the car new. Have only had the normal maintenance - brakes, tires, O2 sensor, tune ups, etc.

Vehicle was involved in 3 accidents and has held up very well. Unfortunately, the frame is rusting out on the underside, but everything else is still going strong. Am going to purchase another one. I have had no major complaints.

General Comments:

Has great pickup and tows smoothly.

Great handling and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2009

1993 Isuzu Rodeo from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

This is a great SUV!

General Comments:

I've owned a 1993 Rodeo for 8 years (bought it used), and it has run great! Very few mechanical repairs since owning it. Drives well. Nice size. Would definitely consider buying another car from this manufacturer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2006

1993 Isuzu Rodeo S 3.6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance125200 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Nothing special, just a reliable workhorse

Faults:

At around 60,000 miles, the Oxygen sensor light came on. I brought it back to the dealer for a new sensor, but came back again later. I left it on ever since. I later read on-line that it is fairly common among the 1993 models.

The head-gasket blew at around 100,000+ miles. Oil leaks and sluggish running. Fixed it recently. No leaks.

Around 110,000 miles, shocks needed to changed and brakes were shot. Problem fixed at around 120,000 miles.

Currently, valve timing needs adjustment, engine seems like its working harder than it should, which will cost me around 400 dollars.

The rear hatch door won't close - so I sprayed it with some Gunk de-greaser, then applied some silicone lubricant. Problem solved.

General Comments:

The 1993 Isuzu Rodeo 4WD was within my budget. I liked it a lot when it first came out of the showroom. It was reliable although comfort level was decent. The winter and snow days proved to be a test. This truck did such a great job that it tackled a 6 foot snow during a blizzard condition with an inch thick ice underneath. Maintain it and it will serve you well. The O2 sensor light was another story. It just stayed there and I left it alone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th December, 2004

1993 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105500 miles
Most recent distance115500 miles
Previous carIsuzu Pickup

Summary:

A problematic smooth ride

Faults:

Lifters, lifters, lifters. I owned the vehicle for one month, took it on the freeway for about 300 miles, and the lifters started ticking about 60 miles into the trip. Continued off and on for about four or five months, and I then had the lifters replaced at 110,000 miles. It ran great for about two months, and the ticking started back up. Have tried running full synthetic to clean out the system, but still hasn't helped much. It only takes about five miles of going over 60 miles an hour before the ticking starts again. As long as I don't take it on the freeway, or drive over 60 for extended periods of time, they stay quiet.

General Comments:

I love this vehicle for the car itself. It handles great, it rides very nicely, has plenty of power, it looks great (besides the early 90's "splash" decals) and it is comfortable.

Other than the lifters, I love it. It is just costing me too much to try to keep fixing it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st October, 2003

9th Oct 2009, 13:50

I think you should change your oil graduation. Perhaps a SAE 30 not multigrade so you can maintain thicker oil at different engine temperatures and avoid the oil escapes by the lifter guides.

1993 Isuzu Rodeo 5 spd std from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5 spd std Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance1200000 miles

Summary:

Rodeo has exceeded all my expectations for reliabiltiy, utility, and enjoyment

Faults:

Right front strut replaced at 75000 miles.

Began minimal consumption of oil (1 qt every 2500 miles) at 95000 miles.

General Comments:

Excellent reliability. Tires replaced at 75000 miles. No major problems (I performed all recommended maintenance on schedule). Running perfectly at 120,000 miles.

Best rear seat leg room in the class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2003

1993 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.2V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired91248 miles
Most recent distance134568 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

This a is a first class SUV in my opinion

Faults:

Clutch went out at 100,000.

Water pump went out at 120,000,at same time replaced timming belt and desludged engine.

Replaced brakes at 130,000.

General Comments:

This truck is almost the best truck I've ever owned. It runs well and is wonderful on and off-road.

The 3.2V6 definitely has enough power when combined with the limited slip rear end.

The Rodeo has plenty of room to haul people or up to 7 bails of hay with the back seat folded up.

So far I've added a good, but not over powering stereo with both cassette and CD changer. It runs on 31.50 by 9.50 by 15 Wildcat High Terrain Lt tires, mounted on 15 by 8 Centerline aluminum rims. It also has a Smittybuilt Thunder bumper. As well as Smittybuilt side bars.

I'm a very proud and happy owner of my 19931/2 Isuzu Rodeo LS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2002

1st Jan 2005, 15:32

I agree... This SUV is built like a tank... its old, but I love it. Mine is over 123,300 miles and it still runs great - of course you have to maintain it, but that's routine. I am happy with my 93 Rodeo V6.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews