1994 Isuzu Rodeo V6 from North America

Summary:

Overall, I am happy with the car

Faults:

The turning stick was not working at 68,000 miles.

The power windows won't open on at least 1 of the 4 windows nearly half of the time.

It burns engine oil like many have pointed it out.

General Comments:

The car has had a few maintenance expenses.

I had the spark plugs replaced at 62,000 miles and at 131,000 miles.

Changed the rear brakes at 112,000 miles, since I bought it used at 48,000 miles, and front brakes every 20,000 miles.

Replaced the 3 belts at 61,000 miles and at 132,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2007

1994 Isuzu Rodeo S 3.2 Liter V6 from North America

Summary:

Good SUV for cheap

Faults:

A few weeks after I bought it, the Heater Core exploded and leaked engine fluids all over the passenger side interior. It cost $400 to fix because the heater core is not easily accessed through the glove box like some cars. Labor was $300, parts $100.

Gave the car an alignment because it constantly pulled to the right. The alignment fixed nothing so it's just something I've gotten used to.

Burns A LOT of oil and needs an oil change about every 2500 miles.

"Check Engine" light comes on when I use the cruise control sometimes, but goes away when I turn the car off and start it again.

Absolutely horrible gas mileage (12-13 MPG) but that's what I get for buying an SUV, right?

Takes a while for the engine to catch when started, but I was told the starter was fine...

General Comments:

Even though it's had it's fair share of problems, it is a fun car to drive and has lots of leg room in the back seat.

It keeps up on the freeway and has never broken down.

I put premium gasoline in about every 4 fill-ups just to keep it running smoothly.

Good paint, stays shiny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd April, 2007

4th Apr 2007, 17:49

12 to 13 mpg is not what I would expect in an SUV. I had a 1994 isuzu rodeo sold it with 150k on it. It did not burn oil. It got 18 to 20 mpg. Something is wrong with your engine. I did find that everything that went wrong was expensive to have fixed. Everything in the vehicle was hard to access. On a side note, watch out when wheels are taken off and tightened. The Studs and Aluminum and the wheel blts are steel. If over tightened, the stud will strip and have to be replaced. Use a tire shop that knows what torque to apply.

1994 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2 V6 from North America

Summary:

I would buy another one only with a manual transmission.

Faults:

The steering wheel has worn out. Burning about a quart of oil every 1,000 miles. Minor clicking of valves. My sunroof leaks when it rains at about 80 MPH.

General Comments:

I have the 1994 Isuzu Rodeo 4x4 but it is the fully loaded power windows door locks and the automatic transmission. My car has around 211000 miles on it and all I have is just a few minor problems which have been stated above. It has the auto locking hubs, which is aw-some, they work perfectly. I have had other people have the same car year and all and the engines have been lasting to some 500,000 miles. with just your basic work. It handles very well and has fairly good acceleration. It is reliable, but the seals at the bottom of the door come loose so you have to glue them back on. Other wise this car is all around a great vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2006

1994 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2L from North America

Summary:

This is a strong running truck for its age

Faults:

Black smoke comes out of the tailpipe until it hits third gear from a cold start. What could that be? Please email me with any opinions? seekingpi@bellsouth.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2006

1994 Isuzu Rodeo LX 2.8 gas from North America

Summary:

A real winner! Can tak a lickin and keep ticking

Faults:

In 1994 there was a recall to repair overhead cam seal.

Valve cover gaskets, warranty - low mileage.

Starter motor. when the valve cover gaskets were replaced oil dripped into the starter which eventually caused starter to short. This was not under warranty.

Last year I had the automatic trans. fluid changed for the 2nd time and ever since the vehicle has has trouble going into reverse. when this happens I remain patient until it begins to work, in a minute or two.

There is now a problem with the A/C 9/24/2006.

I all most forgot that the odometer. It has broken twice. The first time was about one week after the warranty expired, dealer price $ 500. bucks. then about a year later it broke again, this time I didn't have it repaired.

The power windows have broken the operating cable two times. Dealer price to fix over $500.00.

The sunroof began to leak, price $280.00.

General Comments:

I love my Isuzu it is in excellent condition. I always keep the vehicle in good condition. With frequent oil changes using a quality oil these changes I do myself. sometimes I change the oil and filter, then drive the car for a week. After I change the oil filter again and replace any lost oil, approx. 1 qt. due to changing the oil filter.

The car has never in 12 years left me at the side of the road. Last year I replaced the radiator. and coolant using only distilled water. I change batteries well before the warranty runs out. I change my own fuel filter. The timing belt was done i8 months ago. This car has been kept in full maintence and then some. Although the transmission and the a/c have me in a corner, since maintence is so expensive. I still would not sell my low mileage would not sell my Rodeo at any offer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2006