1997 Isuzu Rodeo Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1997 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.2 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance83563 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

I would recommend this model year, but not any past this

Faults:

The main issue I have had with my vehicle is a squealing belt after the replacement of a alternator. I should clarify, about 10 months ago my alternator went out and was replaced. The belt started to squeal so I took it to a mechanic and found that the pulley bearings went out of the new alternator. I found that if the alternator is not perfectly aligned with will make the belts go squeal and wear out earlier.

I check my oil regularly and find that I put a full quart of high mileage 10W-30 Valvoline Max-life I have always used this weight of oil in all my vehicle of 6 cylinders or more.

General Comments:

I have had my Isuzu for just over two years and love it.

I have no real complaints about my vehicle other than the one mentioned above.

I have noted the reviews after the 97 model year have just went down hill. The issue the 3.2 liter engines had in 96 to 98 was a ticking due to hydraulic lash adjuster failure caused by varnish deposits. They say to use the Mobil synthetic w-30.

While I agree synthetic oil is a good product I get the same results with a high mile oil. As the additives in the mixture are designed to help with varnish and carbon buildup. Even using a regular motor oil then adding sea-foam (it's a oil additive not actual sea-foam) or any other additive designed for varnish/carbon buildup will due the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2007

1997 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.1 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1506495 miles
Most recent distance1509967 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Great SUV would buy one again

Faults:

I have had nothing go wrong with the Rodeo, other than routine care.

The motor is starting to have a tapping noise.

General Comments:

Plenty of room inside, steers great, handles the road well.

Seats could be a little more comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2007

1997 Isuzu Rodeo 3.2 V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired159000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carToyota Van

Summary:

AWESOME

Faults:

Cracked windshield when purchased (Replaced for 300)

Rear end damage when purchased can't open tailgate, or glass (previous owner was rear-ended by drunk driver)

Passenger side front window regulator broken at 166000 miles.

A/c compressor locked up when purchased.

Car may be leaking oil from rear may seal 169000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is my first drivable car, I previously owned a Toyota van, but never got it on the road.

My rodeo is a great car, it has plenty of power on the interstate and around town. The 4x4 in low gear can't be stopped. I learned to drive a manual car in this car, and have decided that I will never drive another automatic. it has a lot of room, and comfortable seat. My girlfriend can sleep comfortably in the front seat for at long as possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2006

1997 Isuzu Rodeo S 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance130330 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

So far the only thing to have gone wrong with the truck is the power steering pump, but it does have 130,000 miles on it.

General Comments:

The Rodeo is a superb handler, and the 5 speed manual lets me get up and go when needed.

I like the fact that my spare tire is mounted in the cargo space, and not on the rear door.

There is no wear or tear in the vehicle's interior.

I was looking for a vehicle that would save me money on gas, and this does it amazingly.

It has enough room for my family, and is comfortable. I had a 1994 full size Ford Bronco, and wanted to stay with the SUV line, and I think the Isuzu Rodeo is the perfect truck for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2006

1997 Isuzu Rodeo S 3.2L V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles

Summary:

Very Fun truck, minus the price in gas

Faults:

Dashboard Lights went out when I bought it.

Belts Squeal all the time.

Alternator Blew Snapping the Drive Belt.

Suspension Creaks...Bad.

Brakes SUCK. Definitely not as strong as they should be for a 4300 lb vehicle.

General Comments:

Overall I love this car, It is amazing off road even completely stock. The skid plates have definitely come in handy. I've been using WD-40 to quiet the belts, but I'm not sure if that's good or not to do. Very Versatile truck. My biggest complaint is gas mileage tho. Even with oil changes every 3000 miles I average 14 miles per gallon. Not fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2006

3rd Oct 2006, 10:57

Using oil on the belts is not a good idea because the oil will attack the belt material and cause slippage and premature wear.

Cleaning up all the pulleys, replacing the belts and then setting the belt tension correctly is the correct solution.

2nd Aug 2009, 22:55

I have a 1996 Rodeo and it's the best truck that I've had.

The problems that I've had are I just put a water pump on it. If you don't know what you're doing, don't do it, take it to the shop.

The gas mileage isn't that bad for me; I get 20 miles on the highway.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 23 reviews