Isuzu Stylus Reviews

1991 Isuzu Stylus XS 1.6 DOHC from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired144800 miles
Most recent distance169000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Best car you can own for getting around

Faults:

Thermostat went out.

General Comments:

I bought the car in April 2003 from a buddy who delivered pizza with it for a year, beat it all to hell, but properly maintained it.

Besides a thermostat and brake pads, I spent nothing to maintain this car during the 25k I put on it in 9 months. I also delivered pizza with it.

It was driven all over the country. His mom went on road trips as part of her job and he drove it back and forth from Iowa to Idaho a couple times. I took it to Wisconsin and back to Iowa, and drove it to Florida. For a small dinky ass engine, it was really fast. I kept up with a supercharged 2003 Honda Accord V6 with it and it got 4th gear scratch.

I only sold it cuz I lost my license, HUGE disappointment they would stop making this good of a car...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2006

1991 Isuzu Stylus XS 1.6L DOHC from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance157400 miles

Summary:

This car has been superb, would buy another if they were still in production

Faults:

Front struts wore out and had to be replaced at around 70,000 miles (expensive).

EGR valve will stick on occasion, but still meets emissions standards.

Ignition module malfunctioned and needed replacement at 157,000 miles (inexpensive).

General Comments:

Not quite enough leg room or head room for a tall person.

The Lotus handling is great.

Surprisingly quick.

Poor traction in the snow.

Engine purrs like a kitten at 5000 RPMs.

Fantastically reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2006

1991 Isuzu Stylus Sedan 1.6L SOHC from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L SOHC Automatic
Distance when acquired33700 miles
Most recent distance34100 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Only time will tell..

Faults:

I had to replace the timing belt when I bought the car. It cost about $300.

Currently, I need a new head gasket. The #1 cylinder is leaking into #2 cylinder causing a bad studder on acceleration and severe loss of power. My head needs to be re-machined as well. Quoted $900. I'm going to attempt it myself for just under $300.

General Comments:

I bought the car as a back up for my Nissan 240sx which has been taking a serious beating for a long time. Got it for $1400 with just under 34,000 miles on it. It was in perfect shape inside with a little hail damage outside, but I knew it needed a timing belt. No problem. I bought it, fixed the belt, and put it in the garage. Then in Sept. 04, my clutch went out in my nissan, so I sold it and pulled out the Stylus. Immediately I noticed a studder. It needs a new head gasket and some head work. (see above). Stylus to the rescue!? Will I end up regretting this purchase? Only time will tell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th October, 2004

1991 Isuzu Stylus 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres

Summary:

Definitely a great beginner's car and reliable

Faults:

Fan motor quit working.

Engine mount came loose.

Manifold pipe needed replacement.

Minor rust.

General Comments:

This car has never caused a real problem, I have never broken down even though I drive on the highway every weekend 300 kilometers.

Very reliable and runs smooth.

One of a kind! There aren't many out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2004

1991 Isuzu Stylus XS 1.8 DOHC 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired106954 kilometres
Most recent distance107000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I paid what it's worth

Faults:

My front Shocks needed replacement.

My Alternator was gone.

My body had big holes in it because it was sitting in snow for too long.

I Needed an Emergency brake cable which is really hard to find.

General Comments:

This car is really quick and it took me a while to find a stylus with Dohcmotor in it. I really love the handling because it come with lotus tunned handling and it's really hard to find the lotus tunned shocks. Car is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2004

1991 Isuzu Stylus 1.6 Liter 12 Valve from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Liter 12 Valve Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired196000 miles
Most recent distance203000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A very dependable, high mileage car!

Faults:

Not really anything has gone wrong with it except that the fan went out and it has begun to rust.

General Comments:

Very nice, smooth ride.

Lots of room inside.

30+ miles per gallon.

Smooth running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2003

1991 Isuzu Stylus Base 1.6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A great first car with an individual style

Faults:

After having the car for about 6 months, I had to replace the front axle.

The water pump went out at 140,000 miles. I found out during this time that the water pump was an internal one (the first that I've ever seen). Turned out to be a two day job.

Front driver side tire begins to wear unevenly at 145,000 miles. I was just recently told by my brother that he bumped a curb, which ended up bending the rim.

Driver side seat cushion just now beginning to wear badly.

General Comments:

As my second vehicle, this was definitely a good bargain. I paid $2500 cash for it, and it has been a great car. I expected to have some problems with it, but they have not been that big of a strain on my pocketbook. (I mean, the Stylus was almost a decade old when I bought it.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd February, 2003

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews