2000 Isuzu Trooper Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2000 Isuzu Trooper V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Car ran good until it hit 60k miles then problems started happening

Faults:

Elecectronics in the car has broken down, hard to find the parts for the electrical system in the car, I am still waiting for the electronic part it has been over a 2 months now, the part has contorolled all the electrical in the car. Also another problem was that the driver seat has ripped. At 68k miles the transmission needs replacement, which a garage was asking about $3,400 for it. Not sure if I can even get the car fixed in the next couple of months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th December, 2005

29th Dec 2005, 22:12

I own a 1999 Trooper Limited and just replaced the transmission at 78K miles for $3.5 so $3,400 doesn't sound off at all. It's been a good truck. I even installed a third row seat that's worked out great for all the kids. Problem now is all the options that make it "limited" are starting to fail: power mirrors, 6 change CD, Alarm, etc.

2000 Isuzu Trooper LS 3.5L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

Decent vehicle if it would just not break down so much

Faults:

Engine has blown up 1 time at 40K miles

Transmission has needed replacement 4 times beginning at 45K miles, 70K miles, 90K miles and 95K miles.

Torque Converter replaced 1 time at 44K miles.

Drive shaft replaced 2 times at 47K miles and 95K miles.

General Comments:

All of the replacements have been covered under warranty, however, I have spent several thousands of dollars in rental cars because Isuzu never seems to have any parts available. The single longest I waited was for a transmission and that was 2months.

The warranty is absolutely useless if they don't bother carrying the parts.

I'm in the market for another vehicle and I spoke to some Isuzu sales reps about the possibility of buying another Isuzu. Unfortunately, they were living in denial about the parts availability situation which means that I cannot even begin to negotiate with them about a future purchase. I cannot afford another Isuzu and I guess I'll have to buy a chevrolet or something.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th May, 2005

3rd Apr 2006, 16:41

Your review greatly concerns me. I own a 2002 Trooper and have had to make many repairs this year. However, I was quite dismayed when my transmission blew last month at 56,600+. The car still does not run right and makes the same odd vibration noise it made before the trans blew. I can't even begin to consider this may not be the last time I have to replace the transmission. I no longer have any confidence in this vehicle - and it's my 3rd Trooper & the last Isuzu I will buy! My 1997 Trooper was great, but my 2000 and then 2002 have been riddled with problems. You are correct, corporate does not seem to care about customer dissatisfaction & not one dealership I dealt with was willing to provide a rental car for extended repair work.

4th Apr 2006, 20:03

My daughter has a 2004 Trooper with less than 33000 miles when the engine blew. The dealer would not fix it because she did not have receipts for oil changes. Couldn't produce any since her boy friend (ex) changed the oil and filter himself for her. Total cost to get back up and running was $3900 out of pocket.

4th Mar 2008, 10:53

Read a sale notice for a 2000 Isuzu Trooper 3.5L for sale at Hong Kong $50000 (US$6500) and so I checked on the reviews. Just wonder how Trooper owners live with the trouble of major repairs. Difficult to believe living in 2008 and yet a car which seems so un-reliable.

I have a 1998 Prado 3.4L. 240k km when I was given the vehicle. Now it clocks 340k km (yes, 340,000 km) after 4 years. So far, I spent less than HK$30,000 for fixing. Toyota dealer called last year to replace the rear shaft for nothing, for a 10 years vehicle.

Big difference. Sweet to some. Probably sour to others.

I know my decision for the next vehicle.

15th Apr 2008, 17:13

I have a 2000 trooper LS and have not had ANY problems with it. I bought it used in November 2002. I have yet to have any work done on it - not even a brake job!. I guess I got lucky! still driving it now with 90k+ miles on it. I get regular oil changes - synthetic oil. the only issue I have is that it starts slow in the mornings or after work after not being started for hours. but it always starts. other than that - I'm happy.

2000 Isuzu Trooper S V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

A poor handling dependable SUV that is a great bargain for the money. 22,000 4x4

Faults:

The battery died at fifteen months.

General Comments:

It's a big SUV that handles very poorly.

Very noisy on the highway. Excessive air noise.

Leans excessively in turns and leans when stopping.

Acceleration is decent.

Drives great in snow with the 4 x 4.

Gas mileage awful. Less than 18 highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews