2005 Jaguar X-Type Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2005 Jaguar X-Type SE 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Faults:

The Jaguar X-type, the BMW 3-Series, the Mercedes-Benz C-Class and the Audi A4. These 4 cars comprise the category, and each one of the cars has its own charm. A lot of the reviewers criticise the X-type in comparison with the other 3 cars in terms of price and performance. However, I think they're being a bit unfair when they're comparing against those models for one reason. They're often comparing the X-Type AWD (all wheel drive) with 2-wheel drive versions of the other cars. The thing is, if you compare the Jaguar X-Type with the BMW 3-Series, lets say the Jaguar X-Type 2.5 and the BMW 325xi, the Beemer is much more expensive here; the same with the Mercedes AWD and the Audi Quattro.

For that reason, I think the X-Type is the best value of them all in terms of what you get for your money, plus it's the most luxurious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th October, 2005

2nd Aug 2006, 16:27

I went from the E90 320 SE to a Jaguar X Type 2.2D Sport. The jag was by far the superior. It's scarily quick and light - leaves the 320D behind every time. Mind you I have a Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.0 CRD -- big mistake, 22 mpg.

2005 Jaguar X-Type Sedan 3.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired182 miles
Most recent distance795 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Beautiful British Jag scores highly!

Faults:

None. I have only had it two weeks, but everything has been perfect.

General Comments:

This beautiful car is a real head-turner.

It wants to GO and is a wonderful blend of performance and luxury.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd September, 2005

29th Dec 2005, 04:01

Pleased to read that you are enjoying one of the UK's finer products! I also own an X Type and very good it is indeed. Good luck to you fella!

4th Feb 2006, 12:50

Two weeks is hardly long enough to judge reliability. Yes, mine is a "head turner," especially when the transmission went out at 60,000 miles & I waited on the side of the highway 3 1/2 hours for a tow truck. Many drivers looked over at me as they sped by- chuckling no doubt. Later, as I looked around the lot at the service center I began to count all the X types there for repairs. I got a little freaked. I was told that my problem is a common one. I was also told that the new transmission will last about 50,000 miles. My only hope is to have the transmission fluid changed every 30,000 miles. The fluid is $79 per bottle & will take 7 bottles, plus the filter, plus labor- $90 per hour. I would caution anyone to check into this before you face the same nightmare.

26th Jun 2006, 20:51

Note that the transmission went out at 60,000 miles and subsequent high maintenance costs must be considered. This comment is attached to a 2005 model, but with that mileage the writer must own an earlier model. Are the transmissions all alike or have they been modified over the last few model years? The writer recommends "checking into this" could I please have a little more info so that I can be on my guard?

2005 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance4800 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Love the car, hate the costs.

Faults:

Plastic chrome trim around window started to peel away from car. Replaced under warranty.

Right side head light went out.

The exterior temp. gauge keeps reading the wrong temperature. During Jan. and Feb. in southern Germany it consistently read 98 to 108 degrees.

General Comments:

I have owned this car for 3 months and have had it in the shop 3 times.

I'm stationed in Germany, but purchased an American Specs. car. The German dealer won't perform the first four scheduled maintenance services for free. I called the 1-800 #, only to be told there wasn't anything they could do because the policy didn't apply outside of North America. A co-worker, who also owns an X-Type, had his oil changed today for the first time. The dealership charged him over $12 per quart of oil and over 150 dollars total. For an oil change!

The car drives excellent. It cruises at 125 MPH and still wants more. Although it doesn't do very well on gas mileage at those speeds.

The touch screen navigation system is far superior to the circle knob controlled BMW system.

The styling, inside and out, is awesome.

I listened to my heart instead of my head when purchasing this Jag. I really like this car, but have a feeling it will turn into a money trap. If 3 trips to the shop in 3 months is any indication, I'm right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th March, 2005

2nd Jan 2006, 23:33

If you still own that beauty, don't worry. She won't fail you. We've owned a 2002 X-type 2.5 Sport since April 02 (can't get one of those anymore). The press raked it. We love it. It's simply a gorgeous machine. It did have a couple of initial issues; the sub woofer went out and the tranny acted funny once. I say once because Jaguar replaced both without question. We haven't had a single problem with it since. It's been supremely reliable, well built, and as you know it kicks a** on the road! I still love to get behind the wheel and work it when she ain't looking. We were stationed in Mannheim for 5 1/2 years back in the 80's. I sure wish we had one back then. But maintenance is gonna kill ya. Hey, it's a Jag:-)

23rd Sep 2010, 16:59

The oil spec for the Americas car calls for Castrol 1030, which isn't by the way $16 per quart. I have the Jiffy Lube do mine, and they put Mobil 1 synthetic oil change in $60. If you crawl under it.. the oil filter is easy to get to.. for 35 bucks you can do it yourself again.. with synthetic Mobil 1. There are easy ways around things... remember, it's basically a Ford automobile. Lots of cross over.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 13 reviews