1997 Jaguar XK8 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1997 Jaguar XK8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

1997 models have engine engineering flaws

Faults:

Engine had to be replaced at 67,000 miles.

General Comments:

This automobile was meticulously maintained by Jaguar dealers and no formal explanation for the failure. $11,000 bill of which Jaguar NA contributed $4,000. Terrible experience. $72,000 car with dime store service attitude.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2003

16th Nov 2003, 16:16

Should have never left BMW! What were you thinking man?

7th Apr 2004, 14:19

They replaced my engine free of charge!

21st Jan 2005, 08:47

Probably left BMW because the Jag is a beautiful car, and the Germans engineer very good machines, but have never built anything pretty in their history?

28th Sep 2006, 20:10

I was hoping that Ford had got Jaguar quality right when I bought my 1997 XK8 with FJSH at 53K, unfortunately I have been proved wrong. I replaced the tensioners straightaway and they were cracked. Since then the traction control is coming on intermittently for no reason shutting down the engine revs usually when I most need them. The final drive clutch pack is rasping/vibrating so it will be a new auto box because this is not repairable. In addition the CATS suspension has failed somewhere and so I am in default mode. After only 9000 miles I am less than impressed. Beautiful car and a good drive, but that's my 7th and last Jaguar they are all way too much trouble, I'm buying Japanese next. From some of the reviews posted elsewhere I can see I am not alone.

1997 Jaguar XK8 4.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance248200 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo Milano

Summary:

A reliable car, my Jaguar!

Faults:

Nothing!

I never had problem with this car!

The reliability is excellent!

The quality of the finishing is good!

General Comments:

It's a good car.

The rear places are small.

The quality and the reliability are excellent.

The engine is powerful, but less than an Alfa Romeo.

I like this car and I did a lot of kilometers (almost in Canada).

The car is comfortable.

I am surprised, but the car is good for the winter in Boston.

So, of course, the car is easy and fun to drive.

The suspensions are soft and good!

The radio has a bad sound!!!

So, that's all!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

1st Dec 2003, 16:45

You will be well advised to keep a check on the engine. Problems with early model engines and their Nic-o-sil cylinder lining. These engines cannot handle any above normal heat, even brief thermostat failure.

6th Jan 2004, 06:07

The Nikasil problem has nothing to do with excess heat, excess heat will damage any engine.

Nikasil is a cylinder wall coating that was used by Jaguar and BMW which meant they could do away with heavy iron cylinder liners. They didn't realise at the time that poor quality petrol with a high sulphur content would eat away at the lining, causing premature engine wear. This problem is compounded by using the car for short journeys where the engine never reaches operating temperature which leaves unburnt acidic compounds to further attack the lining.

Jaguar and BWM replaced engines under warranty where required, however, many cars did not and will not need replacement engines because they have been run on low sulphur quality petrol and used on longer journeys. It is also vital to service the car on the dot and only use recommended engine fluids.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews