1997 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1997 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4WD 4.0 I-6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.0 I-6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Wish I could get another new one

Faults:

2001: O2 Sensor - $110 part - easy to install myself.

2006-7: wouldn't build fuel pressure to start, had to turn key 3 times to prime. Ran great once started. Drove it like that for a very long time and eventually replaced fuel pump assembly in 2007.

Power windows quirky.

Rear washer failed early in life.

General Comments:

This car has been a dream. Reliable as can be. Goes anywhere. Still looks good for its age. Purrs like a kitten.

Minor electrical problems can be a headache.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th September, 2009

1997 Jeep Cherokee Country 4.0L Inline six from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0L Inline six Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Priced right - fast and full of torque - don't buy it if you can't handle minor maintenance.

Faults:

A whole slew of minor things have made themselves obvious now that I've owned the car for a while. I noticed that there's lots of rust in the coolant bottle... meaning I'm going to have to replace my water pump, thermostat, radiator, and have the whole system flushed clean.

Another thing that failed on this car is the NSS (Neutral Safety Switch) and prevents the vehicle from turning on if it fails. Costs $150.00 - $350.00 + labor to replace.

In 4WD turning the car barely wants to move and creaks noisily.

Oil pressure sensor failed and oil gauge doesn't work anymore, even after replacement.

The A/C compressor whines and ticks when running, and in winter is a complete annoyance. Sound increases with acceleration.

General Comments:

After I threw some new stuff in it worked a lot better. New spark plugs, wires, oil and filter, fresh coolant.. It's definitely reliable and the engine is strong.

The seats are miserable, and I'm a bigger guy, so the drive selector hits my leg and its pretty painful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2008

1997 Jeep Cherokee Country 4.0L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance226000 miles

Summary:

A perfect SUV about ten years ago, but not so great for 2008

Faults:

Seats have started to wear badly.

All rust on rocker panel.

Transmission slips.

Ball joints need to be replaced all the time.

Constant cupping of tires.

Coolant hose had pin hole and therefore leaked terribly.

Brakes always a problem.

Steering has a mind of its own.

Shocks, struts, joints, mufflers need to be replaced all the time.

The terrible gas mileage is killing me.

The door handles stick and now both my back doors will not open, and the passenger side door has started to give me problems.

General Comments:

It is a perfect height above the ground.

Even with the problems, it has never left me stranded.

It has a pretty smooth ride. Yet, the seats are uncomfortable, cheap, and there is literally no room in the backseat with tiny leg space and tiny doors.

This Jeep will go on forever, I cannot kill the thing even if I tried.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2008

1997 Jeep Cherokee Country 4.0L I6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0L I6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

It's a Jeep thing... you wouldn't understand

Faults:

Water Pump replaced under warranty

O2 Sensor

Transfer case leaks, main seals replaced twice.

Have had annoyances with brake bads and rotors at a pretty steep expense.

Currently have a small oil leak near front of engine block.

General Comments:

My 1997 Jeep Cherokee Country has overall been a solid performer. While it's approaching its 10th birthday (mine was manufactured in April 1997) I still love it. It still looks great for its age, and it often gets mistaken for a newer model year. Despite its minor problems, it has never left me stranded, and has always been fun to drive. The 4.0L In line 6 engine is pretty peppy and gets this SUV moving quickly. The interior is a bit cramped with 5 passengers, but that's kind of fun I guess--I always said the Cherokee was a Wrangler with a permanent hardtop in terms of space. Sure it was innovative back in 1984--it was the first SUV designed around 4 doors--but even with the 1997 redesign it does feel a bit dated. That said, I still think my Cherokee looks great compared to some of the current SUV trends, and Jeep should be ashamed of the new Compass. The new Jeep Patriot is what the Liberty (the Cherokee's successor) should have been in terms of appearance. I still love my Cherokee Country, and I hope to drive it far into the 100,000 mile range. If other Jeeps are any indication, I should see 150k and 200k without any other major problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2007

7th Jul 2007, 16:00

The engine will make it well past the 200K mark no problem, but as for the rest LOOK OUT!

Chrysler basically ruined Jeep, I had an ‘86 Cherokee (the last of AMC) and wow, what a GREAT vehicle that was, in fact it gave me less trouble (cost me WAY less money) in three years and 40,000, then the ’97 has in nine months and less than 2,000 miles. The vary reason I sold my ’86 was, Chrysler’s P.O.S. transmission was ready for it’s second overhaul.

If yours is still clean enough (rust free) then in the name of all things sacred GET IT UNDERCOATED!!!

They rust REALY bad, REALY fast.

I connect the first one being the best vehicle ever made, and the “new” one being an unsalvageable money pit with, A: Chrysler’s “planned obsolesces” and B: a make it cheaper Cheaper CHEAPER attitude.

A prime example of this was/is the ’86 had full steel/chrome wheel lugs, the ’97 has the (oh 3 cents apiece) cheaper steel/tin-cap lugs, so basically if they skimped there what else did they do (or not do).

Don’t think by all of this, I’m saying don’t buy a jeep, I’m just saying be VARY weary of the “half-Jeep” Chrysler examples.

Right now I’m looking at a “Colorado-clean” 1981 AMC-JEEP Cherokee, if I get this “Rig” I’ll probably have less trouble with it if I keep it THE REST OF MY LIFE, then I’ve had with this W.C.R.J in only nine short months.

W.C.R.J = worthless Chrysler rip-off Jeep.

15th Mar 2008, 18:17

My 97 Cherokee has 305k miles. I have had only minor problems with it. Currently I need a new gas tank which has a hole in the top of it, which is acceptable at this mileage I'd say.

26th Mar 2008, 05:00

I have a 1999 Cherokee sport with 243,000 miles. I got mid 20s (mpg). It is bullet-proof and so far nothing went wrong. It was unstop-able in the mud, snow, rocks and fields. That is, until I rolled it on a patch of ice. I searched around for a new vehicle and there is nothing out there that excites me. So, I am likely going to spend the $700 to patch together my jeep.. and drive on until someone makes a better car...

6th Jan 2010, 21:45

I drive a 97 Cherokee Country. It's going on 200,000 miles and still runs very well.

I have been very hard on my Jeep over the years, and I have only had minor problems. One problem that I have is a broken fuel meter. I have a few friends who also drive 90's model Jeeps with the same problem. I have several scratches and large paint chips, but unlike the second commenter, I have not had any problems with rust.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 17 reviews