1991 Jeep Comanche Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1991 Jeep Comanche Pioneer 4.0 High Output from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 High Output Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A great used truck bargain

Faults:

Lost my reverse back-up lights at 132,000 miles.

Gasket was leaking from transfer case.

General Comments:

With the exception of the above two items, this truck has just had normal maintenance and has been extremely reliable.

It is exceptionally quick, and has never left me stuck in any condition.

The Commanche Long Bed 4x4 rides well for a 4 wheel drive truck.

It's engine compartment is designed so well, it's very easy to do routine maintenance.

I highly recommend it to anyone who is able to find one to consider purchasing it. They are one of the best American products made, and several Jeep owners have commented that they would purchase one again if Jeep would considering manufacturing them again.

The 4.0 liter engine is especially strong and reliable. After 12 years, this truck still gets you up to speed very quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2002

21st Dec 2004, 16:22

I'm interested in buying a truck like yours, there's one for sale in a parking lot. I have a trailer and am wondering how mush they can tow. I think it is a 91 Comanche long bed, it has an automatic and the 4.0L engine.

It also has 4x4.

22nd Jan 2005, 13:44

I have the same question, I bought mine off a friend who lost the manual and want to know how much a 1991 Comanche long bed with 4.0L and auto trans can tow. Thanks.

-wondering Comanche owner.

19th May 2006, 22:51

I have an owners manual for my '89 Comanche Long bed, 4x4, Auto trans, 4.0 Liter that lists MY truck's towing rating at 5500lb (with the proper multi-point mounted hitch), up to 25' trailer with no more than 48 sq. ft. of frontal area. I'm sure this is the MAX size and that smaller, and lighter would be better on the truck. I would guess that a newer truck would carry at least the same rating if not better.

2nd Apr 2008, 19:03

Original poster here! Still loving the truck...184K miles, had 3 offers to buy it lately, no chance!!! Within the past 3 years, just a water pump replaced and normal brakes, tires, etc. Truck lets you know when something is going wrong, I was able to drive it a couple of days and to the shop for the water pump!!! This Commanche will go at least to 250k!!! Love it!

30th Apr 2008, 22:36

I have a question, Has anyone had their truck not start after sitting for a couple of days? I have a 91 Comanche 4.0 liter /HO with auto trans. 4x4. I have had it do this in the cold and mild days. Acts like it is flooded. I have a feeling it is a throttle position sensor or fuel regulator. Any help? Thanks.

19th May 2008, 21:13

To 30 April, 2008,

Yes, mine a few years ago had difficulty starting like that. Seemed to flood itself, yet it was fuel injected.

Cleaned the fuel injectors, professionally, and it was OK.

Might not be your problem, but is solved mine. Best of luck, these are awesome trucks, 183K on mine!

1991 Jeep Comanche 4.0 L 190hp high output from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.0 L 190hp high output Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 kilometres
Most recent distance202000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Comanche

Summary:

I love the rush of its acceleration and speed

Faults:

I bought the truck in May 2000. My engine blew because of the catalytic converter was blocked. I put the new engine in myself which was a challenge because when I put the new engine in the new motor wouldn't start. I towed the truck to make it start which it did, but the manifold were glowing in the dark. So I drilled 2 holes in the catalytic converter then the truck started. I've put over 30 000kms on the new engine and it running fine.

I got my brakes fixed twice which cost me around 700$ Canadian but hey...

I changed my tires because there was no grip.

General Comments:

This truck has a lot of power. I would like to know its top speed. I have the 4 liter, manual 5 speed sports truck and it goes... fast. In the winter it started at 40 below zero celcius for 2 full days not plugged in. The stick shift was frozen, I had to use both hands to pull it out of first. It's good off road for a 2 wheel drive. I go where only a 4 wheel drive is supposed to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd March, 2001

25th Jan 2004, 10:02

In regards to you saying you'd like to know the top speed I had mine up to 190 km\h.

15th May 2005, 02:32

I also have a 91 Comanche which I bought in 1998.. Have just over 200,000kms and it goes fine.. Installed a class 4 trailer hitch with a transmission cooler, and a 3 core rad.. I haul a 5500 pound Prowler camper with it and do several steep hills without problems.. It has the 4 Lt. straight 6 and is a HO model.. I have the 4 speed automatic and have had it up to 185kms and there was still guts left.. Never peaked it.. It is only a two wheel drive, but I can go to places that aren't recommended for 4 wheelers.. Pulls something extra with sooo much power..

Too bad they don't have anything like that any more, because I wouldn't hesitate to get a new one as good as that Comanche..

I live in Northern Ontario on top of Lake Huron..

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews