2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo from North America - Comments

25th Aug 2003, 08:18

I have had similar problems with the growling sound from the locks. I have had the locks on all four doors become inactive while they were still under warranty (one at a time, not all at once). The lift gate lock is now doing the same thing. I have pulled the trim panel off the lift gate to locate the problem. There is a small black box (motor) which is where the growling noise is coming from. I went to the dealership here in Cary, North Carolina to buy this part, but they would not sell it to me separately. They would only sell me the entire lock mechanism for almost $200. Instead I decided to wait to see if I can buy it from a scrap yard. I am currently unlocking my trunk manually under the trim panel from within the vehicle.

Everyone I know who has a 1999 or 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee has had multiple problems with locks and power windows.

28th Aug 2003, 12:49

I have had the same problems you described with my 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The door locks making the growling noise scared the living daylights out of me - $285 to fix those. They said it was the motor in the door causing the problem.

The rear right tail light began to malfunction when I stepped on the brakes. Turned out (allegedly) to be a defective computer panel in the tail light. Another $165 to fix that.

21st Feb 2004, 21:15

I began to have problems with the window on the front passenger side. It wouldn't close all the way. My car was about 3 years old at that point, and had about 25K mileage. It was covered under my extended warranty (which is a necessity if one buys a Jeep!) I think the motor was replaced on that side, and it cost me the $100 deductible. Still, it was a pain to have this happen on a car with such low mileage. This and a host of other annoying problems would cause me not to recommend this model.

16th May 2004, 13:39

I had the same problem with my 2000 Grand Cherokee; the left tail light went out when stepping on the brakes.

The fix was to replace the tail light lens assembly (the printed board inside was defective) and the defective part is non replaceable, except as a whole unit. $145.00 @ Tellico4x4.com.

8th Jul 2004, 20:13

I have had similar problems with both my locks and my lights. The left brake light works during the day, but when all of the lights are on the brake light does not work. Also, my driver's side door will not unlock with the remote. It emits a "growling" sound, but then needs to be unlocked with a key. It cannot be unlocked with a key until the remote has already been used. Except for these two relatively minor problems, I'm extremely happy with my vehicle. Even my mechanic is amazed that with 86,000 miles on it (it's a '99) it doesn't leak a drop of anything and it runs great!

16th Jul 2004, 09:36

I have a 2000 Grand Cherokee and have had the exact same problems with the taillights and locks. My front driver side door will unlock, but not lock with the keyless entry and my front passenger locks will lock, but not unlock with the keyless entry. It also makes the grinding noise. I also had the problems with my taillights. My friend also has a 2000 Cherokee and has the same problems with the taillights.

20th Jul 2004, 15:54

I have a 2000 Grand Cherokee as well. I came on this message board to see if I could find out what is going on with my tail light. Same thing, light goes out when you step on the brake. I am ordering my part on Ebay for about $56, instead of the quoted price from the dealership of $144 + tax. I have replaced one door lock (actuator) for the noise (what we call the "aflac"). And I have to do two more. I'm holding off, b/c the parts alone from the dealership are $62 a piece (not including installation). I have also been lucky enough to have to replace the fuel check valve. The car won't start on the first crank, but crank again and it starts. The gas wasn't staying primed. That cost almost $300. (And was recalled on the 2001 model, but not the 2000). I have also had little weird things: an ac leak we fixed while looking for the leak, a new serpentine belt, new battery, 4 new tires etc. I've only had the Jeep for about a year and a half, and it only had 28k miles on it when I got it. A money pit in my opinion. I'm wishing I had my 2000 Honda back right now.

26th Jul 2004, 11:34

I also have a 2000 Jeep Cherokee Laredo and came here looking for assistance with the "growling" noise my rear passenger door lock is making. I seem to have the opposite problem regarding the brake lights, mine seem to stay on even when the car is off. I too purchased an extended warranty however I was told that if it is the motor causing the problem then its not covered, but if it is the actuator then they will fix it. Although I haven't had any major problems (let me not speak too soon) the little ones are just annoying and aggravating, like the last post stated I miss my Honda...

1st Aug 2004, 05:42

I Have had a problem with my 200 grand cherokee when using my left signal. At times nothing will happen. After driving for several miles the directional will start to work. The dealer cannot find the problem.

20th Aug 2004, 12:43

I also own a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee in which the LEFT tail light malfunctioned!! The diagnosis I received is that BOTH of the tail light assemblies must be replaced because the circuits were shorted (cost $500 installed).

I reported this problem to Jeep using their website. They replied that there are no recalls or bulletins regarding the tail light problem; however, with the number of individuals reporting similar problems I can't help, but feel like they should.

If you have not done so, consider submitting the details of your lock and/or tail light problems to the manufacturer directly using their website. Maybe we can make a difference.

18th Sep 2004, 05:36

My 2000 jeep has same problem, my head light on, brake light go off, I think we all should sue jeep, for making bad car,

22nd Sep 2004, 17:01

Like many of the people listing their problems, I too have a 2000 J.G.C. with the same same problem.

I say WE all make contact with each other and anybody else WE know or see with one (J.G.C.) and flood the makers email box with complaints.

Signed, MrBlakeSTEELE@yahoo.com.

6th Oct 2004, 19:58

I am currently experiencing the tail light issues that I see many others have observed. I have a 2000 Grand Cherokee and I just tried to install the new bulbs, guess what? They don't work. It looks like this is a reoccurring issue with this vehicle and I agree with the previous comments, we should all flood the manufacturer with complaints. It is hard enough to keep a vehicle properly maintained (financially) much less spend this amount of money for what appears to be a design issue.

turtlelover50@hotmail.com.