2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo from North America - Comments

14th Jul 2008, 20:14

The part number (4856471AB) mentioned in the first post is incorrect. That gets you the entire front seat frame. What you want is the "track assembly" Driver seat Right ($82.17) and Driver seat Left ($75.61) (for the manual parts) (this from wholesalemopar dot com). No way am I going to spend an entire weekend trolling among salvage yards for an entire $200 seat when I can order the parts on-line and save the hassle. Since the left side is the only one broken on my Jeep (so far), I've just ordered the left track assembly. Will post back on my experiences.

21st Jul 2008, 23:31

I have a 99 Grand Cherokee and my seat has broken twice. At first I thought it was my kids pulling on the chair, but the second time I know it was poorly made seats.

I to called the company and they said I was the only person to ever complain about the seat snapping. Well, the National Highway Traffic and Safety Adm. 1-800-424-9393 has had a hell of a lot of complaints, but not enough to issue a recall. So please call them and complain.

Not only so I can get my money back, but because this is a safety issue. I am blessed that my seat snapped when I was getting out of my car, and that my children were not on the back.

I don't know what I going to do because the junk yard here (Pittsburgh, PA) said this is a common problem, and they don't have the part that I want.

22nd Jul 2008, 08:08

How did it work to replace the track assembly? Was it difficult? I am having the same problem with my '99 Grand, unfortunately it's electric so the part alone is $415!

24th Jul 2008, 17:11

>> How did it work to replace the track assembly? <<

I cannot answer because I sold the Grand Cherokee yesterday. I explained the problem to the new owner and gave him the part I ordered. My seat was power as well. My intention was to remove all the electrical components and convert the seat to manual operation. The new owner intends to follow that plan as well.

19th Sep 2008, 01:53

I also had a broken drivers side seat in my 1999 Jeep Cherokee. I found it to be an easy fix. If you are not good at fixing things easily, then get your nephew or cousin or somebody to do this for you.

Mine was broken right where everybody else's was. Here's how I fixed it:

First I removed the seat. This was very easy. There are just 4 bolts holding the seat to the floor. There is one wiring harness that must be disconnected. It leads to the seatbelt. Some kind of sensor I think.

After my seat was removed, I turned it upside down so I could clearly see where it was broken. I then drilled two holes. One in each piece of metal that broke apart from each other. With a little muscle I pressed the two metal plates together until the holes that I drilled matched up. Then I inserted a bolt with a nut. After I tightened it up, I then drilled another hole and repeated the same steps to assure more strength.

This completely solved my problem. The seat is solid now. I weigh 250 and have had no further problems out of my seat. I hope this will save some of you some money. It didn't cost me a thing. I found the bolts laying in a hutch drawer. If you had to buy the bolts, it would only be a couple bucks. This could also be welded, but I don't own welding equipment. I fixed it the easiest way and the cheapest way. And it's as strong as ever.

26th Sep 2008, 17:37

This is really important.

Everyone PLEASE CALL the National Highway Traffic and Safety Adm.

1-800-424-9393.

They need to see me of these complaints in order to do something about it and issue a recall. Keep the records of your repairs so you can get your money back. The person I spoke to noticed that there seemed to be a trend developing, but they NEED MORE people to come forward.

They'll take a quick statement and send you something to sign... that's it.

I could have gotten killed because of this. The next person might not be able to get control over the car like I did, and end up not only dying, but also their kids getting killed as well.

PLEASE CALL.

3rd Oct 2008, 11:46

Yup same here... the seat has now broken on my 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I'm very disappointed that Jeep has not recalled these vehicles yet. I will be buying the track assembly to try to fix it myself.

16th Oct 2008, 13:01

I have a Jeep Grand Cherokee 2000, and the seat has just started jerking around when I accelerate, stop or go around corners. It is driving me nuts. I think I will call the number and report it as well. Where can I find a seat track kit that would work?

4th Nov 2008, 15:34

To whoever posted on 19 Sep...

So your seat was the power seat, not the manual one?

20th Dec 2008, 10:42

I own a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee, when the seat frame broke the first time along the bar which runs under the seat, I had a friend weld it. Now, the bracket broke just above the hole before it bends and runs under the seat on the bracket closet to the drivers door. After reading these posts I had to demand an apology from my wife as she accused me of breaking the seat due to too many trips to Taco Bell (guilty). I am trying to find an affordable replacement part as I am not trusting the original at this point. I have also had the passengers side Blend door motor fail which I hear is typical and have been told the entire dash must be removed to fix my heater. I wish I would have bought another Land Rover...

23rd Dec 2008, 14:26

UGH this just happened to me. I was driving along in the snow and changed lanes I weight about 200lbs and I am the only 1st and only owner of my 2004 Grand Cherokee Laredo. I almost killed my self after being essentially launched into my back seat.

27th Jan 2009, 13:37

Wow, seems more common than I thought. just happened to me this morning. Has noticed the seat wobbling before. Got in my 2000 Grand Cherokee today and leaned back on the seat to get something out of my pocket and *bam* the seat fall back like it's a recliner. The metal completely broke free of the bolt. I'm noticing a trend. This car has been in my family since new, but all drivers have been bigger men, me being around 200. Apparently Chrysler has a problem manufacturing seats properly for bigger people.

28th Jan 2009, 15:41

My 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee just failed inspection because of this. The seat does not feel like it is rocking at all. They said it is cracked and they would try to weld it for $200, but if that didn't work, it would cost more to order a new frame.

Since the seat shows no sign of wobbling, they knew to look for it and happily charge $200 for guy to take it out and a welder to do a 30 second tack weld job on it. Why order a recall when you can have your maintenance crew make a killing on it? What a rip off. Needless to say I am fixing this on my own.