1997 Jeep TJ Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1997 Jeep TJ Sport 4.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Best 4x4 I have ever owned

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong, just the expected problems that would normally go wrong with any other vehicle that gets driven daily.

General Comments:

Really a great vehicle year round. Cannot compare with any others when off road, even in 2 wheel drive. Handles really well on snowy roads.

Lots of low end torque great for those hills in the mountains of Maine, and best of all it always starts, even at -35 deg F.

- Thanks Jeep -

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2009

1997 Jeep TJ Sport 4.0 straight six from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.0 straight six Manual
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance200500 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Fantastic vehicle

Faults:

Replaced radiator, exhaust manifold, wheel bearings etc, water pump, new top 2 years ago.

Paint fading on plastic fender flares is common with the 97 Jeep and easily remedied with a can of lawn furniture spray paint. Mine turned out like new.

General Comments:

Best automobile I have ever owned for trouble fee driving and easy repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2009

1997 Jeep TJ Sport 4.0 inline 6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0 inline 6 Manual
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98300 miles
Most recent distance114400 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

It's my mini tank

Faults:

Nothing major so far.

Replaced axle joints at 107k.

Seat belt receivers don't want to work sometimes.

Replaced sway bar mounts and links at 108k.

Transmission mount was bad when I bought it.

General Comments:

Handles really well for an S.U.V.

Cannot complain about the gas mileage I have been getting; around 18-20 in town with 31s, but with extras under the hood too, and no muffler.

Has plenty of power. No need to have it more than half throttle on a steep hill.

Goes anywhere I want it to... places my 4Runner could not go.

Very very reliable. Would not have a problem driving cross country with it.

Starts every time at -10 deg F.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd October, 2008

1997 Jeep TJ Sport 4.0 4.0 Inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0 Inline 6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired158520 miles
Most recent distance226453 miles
Previous carDodge W350

Summary:

Best you can buy, bulletproof! 230k and going..

Faults:

Seriously, this car is bulletproof.

- I replaced the front brakes at 205k because they weren't up to par for my 33" tires. Just part of maintenance.

- I have to replace my seat belt receiver because it doesn't always stay in.

- I believe my ball joints are going out now at almost 230k.. I can't believe they have lasted that long.. I am a bit abusive at times..

General Comments:

Well let's start: I can get 14 mpg in town with nearly 1/4 million miles. It starts and runs perfect everyday. I use it as a commuter, to hunt, fish, camp, take up in the high country.

This Jeep has had a hard life. The 4.0 inline 6 engine roars when you hit the gas, great transmission. It will go anywhere.. extremely capable, seats aren't all that comfortable.

I keep my Jeep maintained immaculately. Every 2500-5000 miles I run 10-40 Napa Gold high mileage oil. I run Royal Purple gear oil in my differentials and transmission, and Royal Purple ATF in my transfer case. Buy it with the 4.0 and 5-speed and you'll have a long long life.

Jeeps I have owned in the past:

- 1961 CJ5.. 195k miles

- 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 335k and still on the road

- 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited V8-130k

- 1995 Jeep Cherokee Sport 435k. Just replaced the trans once..

- 1988 Jeep YJ 2.5L 5-speed 155k still going strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2008

30th Sep 2008, 09:53

Nice! I have a 1997 jeep TJ sport with 31" tires and NO lift, but its got 338K on the motor... with my driving, that's great! the 4.0l goes on and on, but I'm starting to get a loss of power..

15th Oct 2009, 11:06

" I'm starting to get a loss in power"

Ya think! With upwards of 350,000k's you might be experiencing some compression loss at this point.

To the reviewer " bullet proof" I don't think so! It is however well above average because of the design. What it lacks in beef, makes up for with technology x 10.

1997 Jeep TJ SE 2.5L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78900 miles
Most recent distance104115 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Fun, strong, and without a doubt cool

Faults:

Exhaust manifold stud broke, creating a loud licking start. Sound would disappear after manifold expanded from heat.

Radiator is starting to leak and will need to be replaced.

Transfer case shifter squeaks over bumps.

Top was torn and stained (i did buy the thing used and it was 7 years old with factory soft top)

Front passenger floor floods after rain storm.

Back passenger (right side) floor also floods.

Oil pump went at 90,000.

A/C system failed and created droning hum when in drive. Replaced last fall.

Passenger seat slide forward mechanism broke, so I can't completely fold up the front seat to allow rear riders an easy entrance.

Other than that- and you'll hear this from any Jeep owner- the thing is a blast to drive and I plan on buying anew one when the funds are available.

General Comments:

I bought the Jeep used at around 80k. It has given me quite a few issues. However, I have not a single problem with the motor or trans. They both sound strong and I'd imagine it will stay like that as long as I keep up with the TLC.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2006

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews