1989 Jeep Wagoneer Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1989 Jeep Wagoneer Limited 4.0L 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.0L 6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Forsa

Faults:

No problems at all, just replaced the crank sensor and that was all within the 8 years I've owned it.

General Comments:

Great truck. Gives me no trouble and I trust it more than my 97' Caravan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2000

8th May 2001, 18:33

What sort of gas mileage do you get? I have an 86 Wagoner and it just sucks up the gas..

Thanks,

Michael.

10th Jul 2001, 12:03

Hi. I purchased a 1990 Jeep Wagoneer Limited (the smaller one) with 120k miles in May 2001. So far so good.

Shortly after I purchased it, I replaced the brakes (front pads & and rear shoes), shocks all around and I had an additional leaf spring installed in the rear packs.

I was pleasantly surprised at how inexpensive the parts were at the local parts store. I replaced the brakes, shocks, etc.. because I use it to pull a horse trailer around Vermont. I have a small 2 horse trailer with electric brakes that weighs about 2200 lbs and I usually load only 1 horse ~1000 lbs and hay ~200 lbs. The car has done a great job so far.

I won't win any races, but I've had no problems and the 4 wheel drive has allowed me to get out of some wet, muddy places. But... it does eat gas. I average about 16 mpg or so around town and 11 or 12 when I'm towing the trailer. I had a SAAB 900s before purchasing the Jeep and I was averaging about 26 mpg with the SAAB, so I did experience gas shock with the Jeep... But, I like my Jeep.

Dave.

28th May 2002, 16:23

Have 1985 wagoneer it needs a carburetor, but I can't locate one.

2nd Jul 2002, 08:31

I just bought a 1986 Grand Wagoneer, 360, 4 wheel drive, sunroof etc. Runs great, changes to 3rd gear a little weird, but..only paid $800 for it.

Needs new woodgrain, I want to go with the 578 Cherry Oak. Can I get some advice on where to buy and how difficult it is to put on.

9th Sep 2005, 13:34

I had a 86, grand cherokee here in germany, And had slipping problems with my trans. Found out I had to service "new filter and oil" about every six months, Hated to sell it, but with gas at around 6$ a gallon had to adjust, I really miss it.

21st Jun 2008, 10:48

I just bought an 89 Wagoneer Limited with the 4.0 motor. Paid 500 bucks for it runs great, looks great. Sucks gas!

23rd Mar 2010, 08:07

Have 1989 Limited 4 x 4 with 186,000 miles. Just got air working on R-134, new water pump and EGR problem fixed. Now runs and looks like new. Woodgrain gets lots of looks and comments. Getting 15 mpg in city. Loads of fun to drive. Tows 19" i/o boat without effort. Would not part with this Jeep for less than $5000.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 3 reviews