2004 Jeep Wrangler X from North America


Car maintenance money pit


Brakes went completely out in less than 2 years.

Part of the engine had shifted, rubbing on the belt and wearing it down to half the size.

General Comments:

Wranglers are supposed to be made to go off-roading. However the brakes and the engine are not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd March, 2006

4th Mar 2006, 09:25

Reading this review, I have to state my opinion that you don't seem to know a lot about vehicles. That isn't meant as an insult, only an observation, and you're certainly not alone in that aspect. I also get the strong impression that you have never taken this offroad, and probably never had the intention to.

You put over 40,000 miles on this vehicle in about 2 years? 20,000 miles per year is a lot of use! That's about double the average usage. Your brakes needing replacement after 40,000 miles is not unreasonable -- it isn't how many years, it's how many miles. Because you drive so much, it takes less time to wear things out. Somebody who put only 10,000 miles per year on their car wouldn't have had to service the brakes for 4 years, get it?

Part of the engine shifted, wearing down a belt to half size? I am extremely skeptical of that statement, unless you beat on this vehicle so hard that it broke a motor mount, which would be your fault. Perhaps a pulley became misaligned, but things like that don't happen by themselves. Part of car ownership responsibility is to lift the hood once in a while and see if anything is wrong. I just don't see anything in your review that adds up to "car maintenance money pit."

4th Mar 2006, 10:43

Modern brakes don't have asbestos in them and only last 30K anyway so your complaint about the Jeep is merit-less. In 43k of use you needed brakes and a serpentine belt- YOUR the problem, not Chrysler and not anyone else- just you BABY!

15th Jun 2007, 13:34

I just bought a 2003 wrangler x with 17,000 miles one owner miles, very clean. but, my fan clutch for the ac comes on when it wants too, and the jeep service dept doesn't know what the problem is. I'm in south Ga., and after a day of sitting in parking lot in the hot sun it is horrible. It usually kicks on about 2 miles down the road. The fan always works, but NO cold air. You can feel it ingage when your driving, I just can't pin point exactly what causes it to turn on 2 miles down the road. What could be the problem if the freon is good and jeep only has 17,000 miles. Is it just a bad fan clutch or what.

19th Jan 2010, 11:17

15th of June 2007.

It sounds like a bad connection/relay problem to me.

2004 Jeep Wrangler X 4.0L inline 6 from North America


It's a darn good piece of machinery


Nothing thus far.

General Comments:

I've been the victim of 2 substantial wrecks and its still as good as the day I bought it. I drive the car like I'm bleeding to death everywhere I go, and for 22,000 miles I haven't had a problem. you can use and abuse a jeep wrangler all you want. I've gone mudding several times in it, gone on rough trails several times, and its withstood all of the torment I've given it. everything is factory except the stereo and the tires (I put some mud tired on the factory rim) no lift or anything else. like I said, if you want a reliable car through thick and thin, a car you can drive like a maniac in, or a car to have fun in and go anywhere and do anything in, this is the car to get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2005

2004 Jeep Wrangler X 6 cylinder from North America


Jeep Wrangler, it's not for everyone..


No problems found to date.

General Comments:

I like the Jeep.

It happens to be my ninth jeep, starting with a 1948 Willy's wagon.

It was a bit on the underpowered side when new, but has seemed to adapt to my driving style after break in.

It has good throttle response and handles well.

I added a two inch lift right away and traded in the factory tires for 32" mud terrains.

This didn't seem to effect center of gravity to a noticeable point and the jeep corners quite well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2005

19th Mar 2007, 17:15

When you added the lift and larger tires, didn't that void your warranty???