2005 Jeep Wrangler Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2005 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 4.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1800 miles
Most recent distance3600 miles
Previous carSAAB 9-5

Summary:

Get a Jeep to go off road! Enjoy the outdoors!

Faults:

No issues this far! Vehicle still has very low miles.

General Comments:

Great looks, people like to tell you their phone stories, and ask you about your jeep stories.

Awesome off road ability. This really is the #1 reason to own one. It really is a shame to own one if it will never see the dirt and mud. In particular, the Rubicon has an incredible low gear ratio 4 to 1 transfer case. 4:11 gear ratio with factory air lockers front and rear!!! Can you say mountain goat! Go anywhere ability!

If you want to have fun in the sun, do take the top off. If it is a hard top, get some help and don't be in a big hurry. For the summer or warmer climate, a soft top would be preferred in my opinion.

If you get troubled about gas mileage, this may not be the best choice, at least in the 4.0 6cy configuration (the most popular choice for torque and reliability HP.) You may see the mid to upper teens, but as low as 10mpg when crawling around on the trails!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2006

2005 Jeep Wrangler X 4.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Most recent distance700000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Unreliable and a hazard

Faults:

We purchased a 2005 Wrangler X From John Elway on Broadway. Within 2 weeks we were having problems with the vehicle. It would grind on shifting from 1st to 2nd and from 2nd to 3rd. The clutch was in all of the way. At times it would pop out of gear after shifting at lower speeds. If it got cold below 32 degrees, the shift would feel spongy and very unresponsive on start up. If one shifted into 4 wheel high, one could hear a clicking sound until the vehicle warmed up.

All of this was considered “normal” at the dealer. The transmission was changed out, even though we were told that “there was nothing wrong for that type of model”. Later the clutch was changed out. Again, “there was nothing wrong for that type of model.” The top did not fit right, so a new top was put on. It still did not fit right. Later it was found that a bow was bent. All along I was told that all of these things were “normal for that model year.” We finally invoked the Lemon Law and the dealer kept our vehicle for 4 days. They had given us a loaner. Today I was told that a Daimler Chrysler representative had come by and found that the vehicle is within specifications and that there was nothing wrong with it, “for that model year”. The loaner was a 2006 Wrangler Sport, which, by the way does not suffer from any of the “normal” things that the 2005 Wrangler X suffers from. What a pity that a manufacturer can get away with things like this.

General Comments:

I have owned new 2004 Wrangler X, a 2005 Wrangler Sport, no probems at all. I have driven a 2006 Wrangler Sport, no problems at all. The 2005 is a lemon. The manufacterer won't remedy and doesn't care.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2006

16th May 2006, 14:51

I think all your problems were with the dealer you can go to any dealer you like.

2005 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance9400 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Solid off road performer. Not too street friendly with stock Rubicon tires

Faults:

The front end rattles when going over hard bumps in the road.For example, railroad tracks, pot holes,etc.

General Comments:

Poor gas mileage. Worse than my 2002 Wrangler Sport.

6 speed is nice, but a little "clunky" when cold.

Seats are a general improvement over models made prior to 2004.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2006

2005 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 4.0 straight 6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 straight 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Avalanche

Summary:

I love it!

Faults:

Factory recall on the oil drive gear.

Soft top is a bugger to install the first couple of times.

It is absolutely necessary to have a hoist and another person for removal and installation of the hard top unlike what the salesman might tell you.

You go crazy wanting to lift it and install gears and tires but the warranty is for 7 years or 70,000 miles so no mods without voiding it! Come on D/C, it's a JEEP! You know people want to do this stuff!!

General Comments:

I have had Cherokee's up until this year when I decided to jump off into the new 2005 Unlimited. For a vehicle straight from the factory, you can't go wrong! Between off-road and on road capabilities, I am in awe of this vehicle and it is so much fun to drive. Even my wife thinks it's great almost buying one for herself if it had better fuel mileage. Right now I'm averaging about 15 mpg's but to me it's worth it to be driving this vehicle. Of course she drives 100+ miles a day so a more economical vehicle was a better choice for her. I go soft top in the summer (if any top -or doors- at all) and hard top in the winter. The hard top is really nice. There is still some wind noise naturally but you can live with it. It's simple, not too many bells and whistles and as far as I'm concerned it's the best of all worlds. I have yet to meet someone who does not like the Unlimited! It's not a Camry and if that's what your used to, it may take some getting used to but I plan on having this Jeep either until I cant drive anymore or the wheels fall off from use!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2005

23rd Jan 2006, 16:23

I really like the idea of the Wrangler with the extended bed, since buying a regular Wrangler is like admitting that you will never haul anything again. I haven't seen one with a hard top, but like the idea better than the soft just for security. I also wish that someone would post a review of the 2005/2006 Rubicon.

2005 Jeep Wrangler X 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance1759 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

No comment, hope the dealer gets it right!

Faults:

4-18-05 I was driving home from work when I stopped at a red light and the oil pressure-check gauge light came on and the pressure dropped to zero. When I began driving the pressure increased to normal. I stopped again and the pressure dropped to zero. I drove to the dealership where they felt the sensor was defective. Today, 4-19-05 the dealer called and said the oil pump gears were worn. They said the part has to be ordered and it would take 3-4 days before my Jeep is repaired. This is a brand new Jeep Wrangler with only 1,759 miles. Two months old. Maybe I should have bought a Honda CRV.

General Comments:

My next vehicle will be a "Honda"

I have purchased Chrysler vehicles since 1979. In 1998 I purchased a Dodge Neon. After 27,000 miles the engine seized up. Lack of oil pressure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th April, 2005

8th Jun 2005, 14:09

I am the owner of this Jeep Wrangler. On 6-7-05 I once again was driving home from work when I stopped at the store. The vehicle had the A/C on and the oil pressure gauge began to drop to zero pounds of pressure. Seconds later the pressure went back to normal. I drove the car to the dealership. My Jeep Wrangler now has 3100 miles. The service manager came out and observed the same problem. They have the Jeep and have called me back as they are confused. They plan on contacting Jeep. The first time this happened Jeep replace the entire cam sensor drive that connects to the oilo pump.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 8 reviews