2004 Kia Amanti from North America


Bad paint


I bought the car used and started to notice the paint on the roof going bad. Several months later, I went to the dealer and they told me to get an estimate from a paint and body shop. I did that. They didn't like the estimate, so they asked me to come back to the dealership and they would have their guy look at it. I did that. They called me later to say it is out of warranty by 4 months. Irritated by the run around, and more irritated that I have a car with 35K and a crappy paint job. Looks like a piece of junk. DON'T BUY A KIA!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2007

23rd Sep 2009, 00:28

That's crazy. Look at the age and mileage of the car. I thought they had a 10 year/100,000 mile warranty! Obviously that is a crock of ***t just as I suspected all along.

27th Oct 2011, 22:03

The complaint about the bad paint is just like a recording of my problems.

Paint chipping off the roof, hood and trunk area.

Paint falling off the inside door jam.

Had to replace driver & passenger side decorator molding on the roof, because they were defective, and had a spider web effect in paint.

The car has 30,000 miles on a 2006 model (out of warranty).

Front windshield molding came off while driving down the road. Found out that the windshield was changed out before I purchased the car, because the car was damaged. Windshield was replaced with the wrong size windshield. I purchased the car off the showroom floor with 19 miles on it, and am unable to prove damage before purchase.

CD player has an electrical short. I was told $1500 for a new one, or $200 for a rebuilt (complete radio system has to be changed out).

Another electrical short keeps draining the battery.

I want to buy magnetic signs that say "Don't buy KIA".

2004 Kia Amanti from North America


In one word, excellent



General Comments:

I purchased this car for its value, style, warranty, and safety features. What I didn't expect was to be involved in a frontal collision that destroyed the car. The front was crushed approximately 18" on the left and 12" on the right. There was no damage to the car in the passenger compartment and the doors after the accident still worked perfectly. I suffered only a small bruise to my hand and another small bruise from the seat belt. The front air bags deployed and saved me from any further injury.

I am returning to the dealer to purchase another. Who wouldn't?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2006

13th Mar 2007, 18:10

I'm sorry to hear that about your car. We own a 2004 optima and I hope that never happens, because we love it! But it's good to know Kia's crash well. I would do the same thing in your case, if it was in fact totaled. But I can't see you sending that car to the junkyard if it would cost you less to fix it, and it's still a nice car.

2004 Kia Amanti 3.5 litre twin cam V6 from North America


I have a very high opinion of the Amanti and would recommend it highly


There have been no problems with the Amanti.

General Comments:

Because of my experience with previous KIA cars I've owned, ie. Ford Aspire, 1997 Kia Sephia and 2002 Kia Rio, I decided to move up to a bigger motor car.

The Amanti has pleased me very much. There are only a very few areas where I feel there could be improvements and these are actually very minor. I believe the overhead control panel which houses the map lights and the sunshine roof controls could be lighted in the same fashion the controls on the arm rests are lighted. The overhead controls are difficult to find in the dark.

On a very long trip... upwards of 500 miles.. the seats are slightly uncomfortable, but that is true with almost every car I've owned.

Local fuel economy isn't spectacular, averaging in the upper teens per gallon. On a recent trip of just on 900 miles, my Amanti averaged exactly 25.0 miles per gallon.

I would like to have had more choice of interior colour. My car is dark blue with grey leather interior; I would like to have had a tan or beige leather interior which isn't available.

The car is remarkably quiet. I have had cars that "handle" better, but the Amanti is not, nor does it claim to be, a "sports car" or even "sports sedan."

The variable-ratio power assist steering is an excellent feature.

I'm very happy with my Amanti and seriously wonder why more aren't seen on the road. In my opinion it is a real "value" in the "entry level" luxury car market and the wararanty is excellent, though in the nearly quarter-million miles I've driven my various Kia-built cars I have never had to use the warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2006

19th Jan 2006, 21:39

Tan/Beige leather is available for 05 and 06'. Looked great on mine.

8th Apr 2006, 15:45

25mpg ain't that good my 97 Lincoln town car gets 25mpg that's because it's a land yacht with a 4.6 v8.

4th Apr 2007, 13:26

Ironically your Town Car produces less horsepower. Go figure.

28th Jul 2007, 17:23

Considering the weight of these cars (4,000+) 25 mpg is not that bad. I drive a Buick that is quite a bit larger on the outside, but weighs about 200 pounds less, but I average about 25 mpg. too.

25th Sep 2007, 20:28

The AM radio sounds like a World War I radio. Most of the time the squelches and static make this very difficult to hear. I took it back for service and the KIA Rep. said they tested it against other Kia AM radios and that it meets Kia standards. It may meet Kia's standards, but it is certainly not up to the standard of any other automobile manufacturer. In less than 15000 miles, I have needed warranty work on the rear window (severe leak), steering column, and the car required new struts. I think thier quality is lacking. I will never buy another Kia product.

2004 Kia Amanti 3.5 from North America


A real value especially in comfort


Bad front strut and ball joint. Gas mileage is not so hot.

General Comments:

The car is quiet, smooth and a joy to drive. The interior is luxurious, very roomy and surrounds you with quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2004

2004 Kia Amanti 3.5 V6 DOHC from North America


Fancy KIA


Nothing, I just got it.

General Comments:

Smooth, nice Leather, greatest interior of a KIA. I love the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2004

25th Feb 2004, 20:44

I think it would have been helpful if you could have included the price you paid. Yes, the car is new, and you love it so far, but in order for your review to be useful at this point you could have explained why you picked Amanti over some other cars in its class.