2001 Kia Carnival Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2001 Kia Carnival LS V6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 505

Summary:

Cheap and effective, not a long term prospect for early models

Faults:

Since new engine has been replaced twice and repaired once owing to the known engine head gasket/liner issue.

Small trim problems. Rear speaker failing.

General Comments:

This is a good budget people mover, comfortable, easy to drive and with excellent air conditioning.

I bought the car knowing it's history and aware of the defect in the engine of this model.

When the engine failed, the dealer replaced the defective engine with only some delay in seeking approval from KIA. While I was picking the now repaired Carnival from the dealer, another Carnival was also having it's engine replaced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2006

2001 Kia Carnival LS 2.5 V6 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carToyota RAV4

Summary:

Most Unreliable Car I had Ever Experience

Faults:

The worst MPV I ever experience after driving for almost 25 years.

Believe me - The problems faced by those submit their review were the same I am facing with this MPV.

- The radiator turn rusty even with anti-rust and cooler placed. I had mine change after 2 years and now the same problem surface.

- Engine change because of Gasket blew at about 75,000km.

- Every time when I passed the car to KIA Service centerer in Malaysia for servicing, they will change everything and anything for you. That is their way of correcting any problems you complaint.

- To make worst, the outside mechanics avoid doing anything with this car. (KIA meaning Afraid in Chinese. That is the joke we had for this MP in Malaysia.)

Very unreliable. You can try it if you don't believe in me. You will have a shocking driving experience of your life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th April, 2005

2nd Sep 2005, 03:27

My 2001 KIA Carnival had run 92,000 kilometers. Now, I experience the engine stops when I shift to reverse and when applying brake on D gear, what could be the problem?

9th Apr 2010, 09:06

The Kia LS DOHC 2.9 diesel turbo intercooler is a good van for power and speed; it's just a highly tuned diesel car. You need to be carefull with its revs; that's probably why you blew your gasket up. Sure it has some silly things in the car or chassis itself, but the engine is great.

2001 Kia Carnival SL petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission petrol Automatic
Previous carford falcon

Summary:

It is a good all round people mover

Faults:

The engine is apparently damaged due to a common fault in the pre 2002 model. Either the head gasket blows or there is a fault with sleeves in the alloy bore. This results in a lot of oil in the coolant overflow. We have been told the engine needs replacing.

General Comments:

The car handle's very well and is very comfortable.

The CD/Radio player is permanently faulty. best to just leave it off.

A lot of the trim buttons and covers fall off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th September, 2004

2001 Kia Carnival LS 2.9 from Philippines

Year of manufacture2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired36500 kilometres
Most recent distance38500 kilometres

Faults:

I had alternator problem!

Most of the time, ABS light is on.

Sometimes, airbag light also on.

CD player not reliable.

General Comments:

This minivan is a good choice at its current price. However, I had a bad day with this van 3 weeks ago, alternator problem!

Interior is pretty good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2004

2nd Sep 2005, 03:05

I experienced and feel a slight vibration in my KIA Carnival 2001 model whenever I shift the gear to D or R, is there a problem with the transmission or any other related trouble?

27th May 2006, 07:09

I also got several problem with my Kia Carnival 2001,2.9L turbo diesel.

1. High diesel consumption. 4.8kms to 5.2kms per liter. City driving

2. Rattle sound on my left sliding door.

3. Temperature up whenever I'm on uphill driving like going to tagaytay. Temperature gauge went to 3/4 but not overheating. Or when I drove the engine to 3000rpm the temp will go up.

4. Vibration on rear or drive position. (automatic transmission)

5. power steering assembly keeps on dripping oil.

6. Oil coming out from the turbo.

Wish somebody can help me solve the problem.

2001 Kia Carnival LS 2.5 V6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 kilometres
Most recent distance23000 kilometres
Previous carToyota TownAce

Summary:

Good people mover that meets the needs of the family

Faults:

The engine fuel O2 sensor and faulty wire connecting required to be replaced after three attempts to stop the warning light coming on.

Poor fitting door lining, replacement required.

Door speaker had sound fading in and out.

CD player replaced.

Automatic gear selector very clunky to use.

General Comments:

Compared to the Toyota Spacia 1996.

Comfort - excellent.

Handling - very good overall, especially in curves.

Power - very good acceleration.

Noise - overall very quiet, normal road noises for the size of the vehicle.

Turning circle - poor.

Internal Fixtures -

Poor design of front cup holders.

CD compartment incorrect size for CD's.

Plastic rear window clips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2003

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 10 reviews