2004 Kia Optima Reviews

2004 Kia Optima LX 2.4L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired194000 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

Awesome!

Faults:

Needed front and rear brakes/calipers rebuilt. $322.00. Knew this was needed when purchased.

General Comments:

Vehicle has 195000 miles on it, looks and drives awesomely! Just shows the care done by the previous owner that these cars really hold up.

Nice power when using the manual shift mode. Fun!

Vehicle should last until 300,000 miles, no problem.

Would drive it anywhere!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2010

2004 Kia Optima LX 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carKia Spectra

Summary:

Not a very good car with so many problems in such a short time

Faults:

To start the car made pinging noises, and I was told afterwards that I had to use a higher grade gas than indicated.

Then came the breaking of the powersteering hoses.

Then after only a year and a half approx, I was told all belts needed replacing.

Then the battery went.

Then the powersteering pump.

Then into approx. 3 in half yrs. breakpads.

Then both front axles and a strut.

Then the power steering tension pulley.

This is all within four years.

The car also needs a paint job because the paint job didn't hold up.

Okay out of room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2009

3rd May 2010, 09:02

I bought my 2004 Kia LX manual trans in April 2004.

Only initial issue was a bad wire with the passenger side airbag.

After 3 years it needed belts replacing (they were somewhat noisy, but after 3 cold winters it happens).

The car has tight steering/handling feel, but does have noticeable body roll (odd combo, which is corrected somewhat after buying new tires).

It is a nice car to drive (seat is very comfortable), but after 3 hours you do feel a need to stretch...

I have 54 k on the car now, and finally bought new tires and back brakes (front brakes are still good... but I downshift a lot.. but what's the point of driving a stick unless you drive the car like it's a stick?).

Probably going to get the timing and water pump done this year.

Overall... I paid 15,700 for a car that has never failed to start (and with sticks, you don't even need a starter to start them), and has never stranded me (unlike the 2 Fords I owned), and can do 100 mph with no prob (ummm.. hypothetically I guess officer??) and would have no problem doing 130.

Great looking car also.. fit and finish is spectacular... still waiting to blow the factory head unit and 6 speaker sound system to no avail.

Lines of sight are clear in all directions.

The car is heavy (3400lbs), so you really have to gun the motor to get it going in low gears... but once you hit 4500 rpm, it gets fun.

Reliability is up there with Toyota now.. for 5000 less.. what more would you want?

AWESOME VALUE CAR.. if you can't afford a Bentley, then buy a Kia.

3rd May 2010, 10:55

"AWESOME VALUE CAR.. if you can't afford a Bentley, then buy a Kia."

And go from one end of the scale to the other...

4th May 2010, 17:41

"And go from one end of the scale to the other..."

For reliability, I'd choose the Kia. Handbuilt cars are actually some of the least reliable. Not that Kia is reliable either, but more so than Bentley.

11th Sep 2013, 15:06

I think you should take your car to a different mechanic. One who hasn't recently bought a Maserati.

2004 Kia Optima LX 2.7L V6 DOHC from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

The Power to Surprise indeed!

Faults:

Nothing, only routine maintenance (spark plugs, oil changes, etc.)

General Comments:

(This is an update on a previous review I did shortly after I purchased the car). I have had the car for a year now and I love it! It has been VERY reliable and it has gone very well in the small amount of snow we've had this winter. Since my last car was a 1994 Buick Century (which I also loved) my KIA seems to handle very well and is quick. I will definitely look at another KIA when I think about buying a new car several years from now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2009

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 17 reviews